We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arc The. Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$328
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$293
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$479
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$351
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
$428
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$389
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$502
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,470)
Filter reviews
1,470 results
Traveler rating
692
569
138
39
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
692
569
138
39
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskennedy centerfoggy bottomwhole foodslincoln memorialgreat locationgwu campusquiet neighborhoodone bedroom suitemetro stationattached restaurantwalking distanceolder hotelblue linewhite housenational mallbit datedminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,121 - 1,126 of 1,470 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were very happy with this hotel. It is situated in a pleasant, leafy district among George Washington University buldings and historic houses which, since we visited at the end of October, were charmingly decorated with pumpkins on their steps. You exit the metro at Foggy Bottom into a small park, nestling between university buildings. Turn right, cross the road, turn left and the hotel is a few hundred yards on the right. The first thing you see is the Italian restaurant and the hotel is down a short drive. There is room for about 7 cars on the drive and in the small garage. The lobby is smart and welcoming, and check-in was efficient. Our second floor room faced the front of the hotel and the drive and the view was of the rear of the houses along New Hampshire Avenue. We felt we had truly arrived in Washington when we were told that the building we could just see to the right was part of the infamous Watergate complex!

The room was large and had 2 comfy queen beds and plenty of warm bedding - far too much as it turned out since the weather was warm. There was a welcome armchair and extremely comfy large revolving desk chair on wheels at the good-sized desk. A built-in wardrobe with sliding doors was by the entrance door and it contained an easy to use safe that would have been a challenge for a short person to reach but was no problem for my 5' 10" husband. There was a large TV concealed behind a unit, which we kept concealed since the warnings we'd been given about how awful American TV is proved correct! The kitchen area doubled up as a dressing room and contained a good size fridge, a small freezer, a microwave and coffee machine with 2 mugs that dispensed tea or coffee by filtering hot water through a tea or coffee bag. I'd never come across a coffee bag before. If you like your coffee fairly strong I recommend putting some instant coffee in the mug and allowing the water to filter onto it. Just to the left of the metro station you can see the wonderful Whole Foods Supermarket where you can buy milk, cereal, fresh fruit salad, croissants, etc for breakfast. It also has a huge salad bar and sells beautiful pastries, bread, cakes, etc along with the usual supermarket goods. Back at the hotel, the bathroom, though small, was well stocked with towels and pleasant toiletries and there were nice touches like the ribbon around the spare toilet roll. There was plenty of hot water and the pressure in the shower over the bath was good. We were unlucky in that there were roadworks outside during our stay but I would imagine that usually this is a fairly quiet road for central Washington. There were net and blackout curtains, so no problem there. The only improvements I would have made were that the pillows, while comfortable, were small and square, unlike those we are used to, and it would have been helpful to have had a small work surface in the kitchen area, and a kettle.

We didn't have much interaction with the staff since the hotel doesn't serve breakfast but Reception readily produced a bottle opener so we could enjoy a cold beer in our room one evening and a nice touch was the staff pumpkin carving competition in the lobby(see photo!)

I'm in my late 50s, overweight and no great walker but I had no problem walking to the White House, Lincoln Memorial and other wonderful monuments and museums along the Mall, from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at Arc The. Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We are very pleased that our hotel met all of your needs. it always a pleasure when a guest leaves us refreshed with such wonderful compliments. Your comfort is one of our main priorities and our location also fits that commitment as we are only blocks aware from many dining outlets, convenient stores, and transportation options. We apologize for the inconvenience with the roadwork improvemnent project. Yes this is a pretty quiet area otherwise. Our housekeeping manager is looking into some other pillow options for guest request.

Again, Thank you for your valued opinon and commments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at this hotel, in a spacious one-bedroom suite with a small kitchen, a large living room and a good-size bedroom. This area is both quiet and convenient, with Georgetown nearby and the Metro for access to the rest of DC. Nice restaurants nearby. The room decor was older but genteel and gracious. Great linens and toiletries. I liked staying in a small hotel; it felt more like an apartment building (maybe it was one once?). This is a great alternative to the large, more expensive chain hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariz0nagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at Arc The. Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We are very happy that the enjoyed our hotel. Yes the property used to operate as apartment living. The sze of the rooms are a big plus with our guests. Yes this area is both quiet and convenient. Your finding our hotel to be as accomodating as a larger hotel and enjoying the comfort is a nice compliment to our growing company.


We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Small boutique hotel in the Foggy Bottom section of D.C. It's hard to find, tucked behind historic rowhuses with a small sign. Check for the address as you drive down the road, and you'll see the driveway into the small entry courtyard.

Room was spacious and bed comfortable. I made last minute reservation day of stay, and it wasn't in the system when we arrived because, the desk clerk said, someone has to enter the reservations manually - kind of antuquated - and it hadn't been done yet. But I had the confirmation print out, so all was fine. Desk staff was young and friendly. Only parking here is valet at $35!

Hotel is located a few blocks from both George Washington University and the Kennedy Center, so very convenient for visting either. Lots of restaurants nearby too. We walked to Georgetown - about a 40 minute walk - through historic neighborhoods with interesting architecture.

Buffet was only breakfast option available at their restaurant. Cost was $15.00 including tax and gratuity. Pretty basic with eggs, potatoes, sausage, bacon, fruit and cold cereals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at Arc The. Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Although the hotel can be a little challenging to find w are pleased that you found us and found our hotel to be both spacious and comfortable. We apologize for the glitch with receiving your reservation and have since had the priveledge of having our systems interfaced allowing us to receive reservations more efficiently. The fact that you found our staff to be friendly is a great compliment . We really pride ourselves on your welcome as we well as your stay experience.

Thank you for your valued comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Managed to get 3 nights £260 (room only) vide Hotel Club. Convenient to Foggy bottom metro & straight line from Reagan Airport. Serious road/pavements being dug up during stay with early morning noise. Rooms large although tired.Bath was badly stained & was told on last day that it should not have been allocated, although no compensation offered. Had booked Italian Restaurant on premises but was turned away last minute as computer/payment machine broke down & they closed same & also bar. Not a negative review but get room for the right price?

Room Tip: Ask for upper room as they have more light & better views although limited.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pompeyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at Arc The. Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Yes we are in situated in a quite convenient location in the Foggy bottom neighborhood. We apologize for the inconvenience and discomort you had to endure do to the road pavements and noise. This was a city project that we had no control over in regards to dates and timing. We are also working on improving the look and feel of the hotel so as to better accomodate the needs of comfort and price value. The concerns in the restaurant have ben addressed and rectified.

Again please accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very large comfortablerooms, close to metro, great upscale restaurant downstairs. Kitchen in rooms. Quiet neighborhood. Reasonable parking. This is a very sound choice for sensible Washington DC accomodations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JayandGee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at Arc The. Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Wwe are very happy that our location to convienient and quiet as well as our rooms to be accomodating. rooms The Foggy Bottom metro stop seems to be a great convieniance to our guest and the parking is quite reasonable for the city. Our onsite restauant Notti Bianche has a wonderful menu and great prices.

Thank You again for you welcomed response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews