We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient, great for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quiet and convenient, great for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at this hotel, in a spacious one-bedroom suite with a small kitchen, a large living room and a good-size bedroom. This area is both quiet and convenient, with Georgetown nearby and the Metro for access to the rest of DC. Nice restaurants nearby. The room decor was older but genteel and gracious. Great linens and toiletries. I liked staying in a small hotel; it felt more like an apartment building (maybe it was one once?). This is a great alternative to the large, more expensive chain hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariz0nagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are very happy that the enjoyed our hotel. Yes the property used to operate as apartment living. The sze of the rooms are a big plus with our guests. Yes this area is both quiet and convenient. Your finding our hotel to be as accomodating as a larger hotel and enjoying the comfort is a nice compliment to our growing company.


We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    523
    129
    31
    28
See reviews for
476
340
96
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perry Hall, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Small boutique hotel in the Foggy Bottom section of D.C. It's hard to find, tucked behind historic rowhuses with a small sign. Check for the address as you drive down the road, and you'll see the driveway into the small entry courtyard.

Room was spacious and bed comfortable. I made last minute reservation day of stay, and it wasn't in the system when we arrived because, the desk clerk said, someone has to enter the reservations manually - kind of antuquated - and it hadn't been done yet. But I had the confirmation print out, so all was fine. Desk staff was young and friendly. Only parking here is valet at $35!

Hotel is located a few blocks from both George Washington University and the Kennedy Center, so very convenient for visting either. Lots of restaurants nearby too. We walked to Georgetown - about a 40 minute walk - through historic neighborhoods with interesting architecture.

Buffet was only breakfast option available at their restaurant. Cost was $15.00 including tax and gratuity. Pretty basic with eggs, potatoes, sausage, bacon, fruit and cold cereals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Although the hotel can be a little challenging to find w are pleased that you found us and found our hotel to be both spacious and comfortable. We apologize for the glitch with receiving your reservation and have since had the priveledge of having our systems interfaced allowing us to receive reservations more efficiently. The fact that you found our staff to be friendly is a great compliment . We really pride ourselves on your welcome as we well as your stay experience.

Thank you for your valued comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Managed to get 3 nights £260 (room only) vide Hotel Club. Convenient to Foggy bottom metro & straight line from Reagan Airport. Serious road/pavements being dug up during stay with early morning noise. Rooms large although tired.Bath was badly stained & was told on last day that it should not have been allocated, although no compensation offered. Had booked Italian Restaurant on premises but was turned away last minute as computer/payment machine broke down & they closed same & also bar. Not a negative review but get room for the right price?

Room Tip: Ask for upper room as they have more light & better views although limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pompeyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Yes we are in situated in a quite convenient location in the Foggy bottom neighborhood. We apologize for the inconvenience and discomort you had to endure do to the road pavements and noise. This was a city project that we had no control over in regards to dates and timing. We are also working on improving the look and feel of the hotel so as to better accomodate the needs of comfort and price value. The concerns in the restaurant have ben addressed and rectified.

Again please accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very large comfortablerooms, close to metro, great upscale restaurant downstairs. Kitchen in rooms. Quiet neighborhood. Reasonable parking. This is a very sound choice for sensible Washington DC accomodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayandGee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Wwe are very happy that our location to convienient and quiet as well as our rooms to be accomodating. rooms The Foggy Bottom metro stop seems to be a great convieniance to our guest and the parking is quite reasonable for the city. Our onsite restauant Notti Bianche has a wonderful menu and great prices.

Thank You again for you welcomed response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, within a block of the Metro (Foggy Bottom) and there is a Whole Foods 2 blocks away. The furnishings of the room are in need of a facelift, and we had little AC the first two nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbrenneman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your sharing your views with us regarding your recent stay. We apologize that the room temperture was not satisfying to your needs. We have had our engineering department check the room temperatures and thermostats to be more proactive and prepared while providing our guest with comfort. As you mentioned the furnishings look a liitle worn but, we are in the proceess of upgading our look and making our guest rooms and public areas looked refreshed.

Thank You for sharing your most valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning trip in the United States. After arriving from a 9 hour flight this hotel felt like a warm shower. The hotel entrance is hidden behind some of the rooms and from the outside it can not be separated from an average apartment building. When entering however, you know you have made a great choice coming here. Hotel personnel is friendly and the hotel lobby is cozy. The rooms have all basic amenities you need (including flat screen tv, an office, fridge). The hotel is a free printer available for boarding passes. The hotel's location is good; the Mall is accessible by foot and the subway is nearby. I liked this hotel best for its price; I payed only $100 per night and I recommend this place to everyone, as its price-quality value is simply great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdr92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We are so happy that our property was able to suit your expectations from the staff to the level of comfort and conveinance. Yes its nice to find comfort after a long travel and being satisfied with the value of our product and the cost is a nice compliment as well.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at GWU for three nights while visiting DC. It was a safe neighborhood, and about a two block walk to the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. From here we could go anywhere. It was only two stops to McPherson Square (the White House stop). Room was good....clean, simple, and met our needs. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Hotel is older, but it seems to be well kept. We walked each morning for breakfast, either to the Starbucks at the hospital, Whole Foods, or one morning we took a little longer walk to Founding Farmers (still close to the hotel and worth it). We are walkers and even walked one night down to the mall to the Lincoln Monument from the hotel. Parking was extra - $35/day, but we were okay with that. You also have in/out priviledges. The hotel restaurant looked good and locals seemed to be dining there. Why spend an hour riding on the train from further locations, or spend more money, when you can stay here? We would stay again. Watch for the restaurant front if you are driving, because the hotel is hidden back from the road a little bit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMore22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Yes we are in a prime location for accessing public transportation, local shops and dining. Our property does have some age on it but we our working hard to keep it alive and knowing that we were able to satisfy your comfort needs ensures our efforts are pointed in the right direction and that is to keep our guests happy.

Thank You for your wonderful comments and observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,627 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,466 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,793 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,696 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White HouseWebsiteDirections
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing