We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, love your lemonade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, love your lemonade”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids ages 7 & 9 ) stayed her in the second half of June 2012 for about 6 nights. The location was great. The foggy bottom metro station was very close by and across the street is a Wholefoods (about 1-2 blocks away from the hotel). We ate here everyday for breakfast, it was good to know that we are still eating healthy while we were travelling. There is a 7-11 about 0.5 blocks away. My kids love the lemonade at the front desk! The staff were friendly and helpful. The air conditioning was excellent considering we were here when the city first hit 100 degrees. We also walked back from Georgetown one night. If you are up to it, you can actually walk to the Mall. Lincoln memorial was a nice evening stroll.

Our kid's favourite museums were American History, Natural History, Newseum, Postal museum, federal reserve (where they made the money), zoo and the capital building, Lincoln memorial. We wished we had more time. Best lunch places were at the union station, a Lebanese restaurant near the zoo and the Newseum.

The only downside to our trip was the heat. But we were lucky, we were here before the black out that occurred the following weeks after we left.

Overall, the Washington DC trip was a great experience. It is so wonderful to see all the USA treasures found in one city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us during the very hot days in June. Yes it seems that the lemon water in the lobby is a big hit wth our guest. We are glad you had the opportunity to visit some area attractions as well.

Again your comments are of great value to us and we are very appreciative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    534
    133
    33
    28
See reviews for
499
345
96
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed there with my 2 kids aged 13 and 10. The place is very clean and the bed are comfortable. This is the best location for the price. Just 15 minutes walk from the Abraham Lincoln Memorial and the White House. The metro station is just near by and the lines are going directly on most station who have the attractions (Smithsonians, Arlington Cemetery,...). An advise for breakfast, go to the Hospital cafeteria just at the side of the Metro station. It's very cheaper than all the restaurant around and the choice is good. There are some restaurant around and an whole food market that has plenty of choice of meals ready-to-eat. We were very satisfyed with our choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassionforCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and the comfort of our property. Yes we are in a great location for families to enjoy the area attractions and food outlets.

Thank You for taking the time to share your experience at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a few nights for her birthday. I picked this hotel because I was hoping it would be unique. It was a very good price for the location. Very close to the foggy bottom metro station. The only staff I encountered was the front desk at check in and out. They seemed nice. The room was nice and roomy. The beds were very soft and clean. One thing that did bother me was the carpet. It was almost as if it had been waxed; very slippery but we survived. The fixtures in the bathroom were a little old and used but they were clean. Overall I was happy with the decision to stay here.
On another note: Through a website affliliated with the hotel, I requested a higher floor (>6) and continental breakfast, if available at check in. I did not receive either one (we were on the 3rd floor and was not given breakfast vouchers that I learned about later) but I was still charged for them. Fortunately, that was resolved with a quick call to the hotel after I saw it on my card statement the following week.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are pleased that you found our property to be clean, comfortable and conveinant. Thank you for your observation and feedback regarding the carpet and fixtures in the guest room. We are currently experiencing an upgrade and are working vastly to correct some of those difficiencies. As it is always our intent to pay attention to the desires of our guest please accept our sincerest apologies for overlooking your requests on the Nor 1 site.

Thank You again for taking the time to share your valued opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My teenage daughter and I enjoyed this hotel. The room was large and clean, perfectly met our needs including the small refrigerator and microwave. We rarely saw staff because we were out most of the day and didn't need much from them. The only reason that I gave this a 4 instead of 5 was that the only time we needed help from the staff the young lady at the desk was not very helpful. Just telling us that something couldn't be done instead of suggesting a better idea is not my idea of customer service. The location is excellent, in a quiet neighborhood only two blocks from the Foggy Bottom metro. It was a little hard to find the first time as the only signage was a small sign almost hidden from view and the entrance is down a short alley. If we hadn't seen the sign for the restaurant we would have walked right by! BTW the restaurant was excellent. Also shopped at Whole Foods like everyone else has mentioned. We also enjoyed several other restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Go high up because you are close to a hospital ER and get some sirens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Please accept our sincerest apologies as it is never our intention to have our guest experience any form of frustration in regards to the level of service we provide. Thankyou for your compliments to the restaurant. We are glad that you were able to join us in dining as well as experience some of the wonderful shops and eating in the our neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I highly recommend the George Washington University Inn to anyone visiting Washington, DC for the first time and any time after as well. You cannot beat the price, the accomodations, and the wonderful staff. I loved that the hotel was less than a block from the Metro Station (the only way to travel Washington in my opinion) and a Whole Foods grocery store where my family started every day with a hot, healthy breakfast for less than $7 per person! The hotel is old,of course, but is in excellent condition. You can tell the staff takes pride in the hotel and takes care to keep it looking good. It is also just a short walk from Georgetown shopping (about 7 blocks) and just across the street from George Washington Medical University where the Metro station is located. This hotel offers relatively inexpensive valet parking (about $37 a day, which you will quickly discover is a deal!) so you can park and take advante of Metro use. Add to that the FREE internet (a difficult commodity to come by in DC lodgings!) and you have a great package. The only thing we did not experience was dining in the hotel restaurant because they were doing some renovations, but with Whole Foods so close by, we never went hungry. Thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcmanus215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Yes we are in a great and conveinant location with many food and shopping outlets as well transportation options within walking distance of the property , Thankou for the wonderful comments regarding our staff. As always we were happy to have served you.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at GW Inn with our 2 grandchildren (ages 17 and 11) for 5 nights. The hotel is clean, the location is fabulous, (1.5 blks from the foggy bottom metro) customer service at the hotel is outstanding. The Italian restaurant has great food and choices for young children. Every morning we walked to WholeFoods (2blks) for breakfast. They have a breakfast bar and everything else in the world. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples, families, friends etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogababe04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are always pleased to here it when our guest are completetly satisfied. The fact that we were able to meet all of your needs is very satifying for us as well.

Thanks again for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family of 4 enjoyed our stay (2 boys, ages 12 & 10). The hotel is charming, not a lot of amenities, but when you are in Washington DC I hope the plan isn't to stay in the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and pleasant. Everyone talks about the Wholefoods up the street, but what's even closer is a 7-Eleven, remember 2 boys, ages 12 & 10. The Slurpee's were a hit after a long day of sightseeing. The Foggy Bottom metro is so close and make's getting around DC so easy. We didn't dine in the restaurant, but it looked nice. The restaurant staff was very accommodating with plates and silverware needed to heat and eat our leftovers. We ran a couple of days and the laundry room was just what we needed to clean our sweaty running clothes. It's $3.00 total to wash and dry, but well worth it. Our family would definitely stay again, it's worth the price and the proximity to all the wonderful neighborhoods in DC.

Room Tip: When booking online, it is worth the extra $ to get a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisamlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are quite pleased that your family enjoyed our facility and the convenience of the surrounding outlets as well as our onsight laundry facility. We always enjoy hearing positive feed back from our satisfied guest. Please come back and visit with us soon. Hopefully you will get the opportunty to dine in our wonderful restaraunt on your return.

Tatina Washington
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,680 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,485 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
380 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,811 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing