We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tired Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Tired Hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel is very close to the Kennedy Center and the Watergate Hotel - great location. Nestled in a residential street, it has all the makings for a great hotel. Unfortunately, it feels tired...the rooms are "ok" but not great. Worn carpet, bathrooms lacking newer upgrades. The restaurant in the hotel was very good for dinner. Good service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drumtale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    524
    129
    31
    28
See reviews for
480
340
96
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Great location close to Gwu and Georgetown
Located in a quiet area but close to metro and other sights
Very nice suite with a kitchenette
Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear IM45,

We really appreciate you review on Tripadvisor. We enjoy being near the GWU and Georgetown campuses so we can host families of future students attending college in our area.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We got a 1 Bedroom suite with kitchenette-ideal for 3 people. Comfy and roomy. Just a block from the Foggy Bottom metro...minutes to the Nat'l Mall and other sites. Friendly staff and complimentary WiFi! The nearby Trader Joe's has great groceries. We really liked walking a few blocks to the Safeway store and CVS pharmacy at the Watergate shops for needed sundries and cold remedy. Found some delicious Italian quick food at Frecoe's also at the Watergate shops.

Room Tip: Book early if going during a holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Californiatrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Californi,

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdivsor. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel. You really can't beat our location when you plan on going out to site see in our Nation's Capitol. We are within walking distance of the metro, stores, restuarants and more.

Next time you are visiting from California, we do hope you join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed here for July 4th in Washington. The hotel is in a very quiet and exclusive area of Georgetown, just a block from Foggy Bottom subway station, and the Watergate hotel (has a small shopping centre there). Surrounded by beautiful old houses - it's a really nice location. We were able to walk to the Washington Monument area in about 20 minutes, and the Potomac river is nearby for jogging and walking paths. Just keep your eyes open for where you are - we found it very confusing with the diagonal New Hampshire Ave, and the fact that our hotel doesn't have a large sign.

The hotel was formerly apartments, so the rooms are very large and spacious. They are old, but our room was clean and comfortable. Ours had a kitchen attached, complete with huge fridge, range and even a dishwasher! However, for hand washing there were no dishcloths, detergent, hand towels or the like - we had to ask for them. Bed was very comfortable, air conditioning powerful, everything worked in the room. There are a few powerpoints around, but you have to hunt for them. Vending machines for water and snack foods are in the lobby, as is a computer with printer for guest use. Wireless internet is available free - we had a fast connection.

There is a guest laundry available, but note that the dryer doesn't seem to have an off switch! Good value for money, but keep an eye on your clothes, particularly if you have delicate items in there. There is an Italian restaurant attached to the hotel which was good for dinner. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as we bought our own food to use in our kitchen.

Staff were friendly if needed - I found them rather hands-off, but this is Washington DC where most people are like that. All-in-all we had a pleasant stay at the George Washington University Inn - it's a quiet location but very handy to subway and some stores, a spacious room and good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear rizuj,

Thank you for your review on Tripadisor. Our location is one that we love. Our Foggy Bottom neighborhood is beautiful and convenient to a lot of DC's site seeing attractions. We will be going through a renovation in the future where we will be upgrade some of the items in the rooms along with the lobby. A fitness center will be added along with an additional computer for guests use.

We do hope you come back and see us the next time you are in DC we will be happy to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed at the GWUInn July 3 - 8, 2011. I believe that it is one of the best values in the DC area. It is in a great location, less than 2 blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop, which means that almost any area is easily accessed either by Metro or walking. There is a Safeway and CVS drug store in the Watergate complex about 2 blocks away which let me save on some of my food expenses. When I checked in on July 3, the sweet girl at the desk upgraded me from a regular room to a suite. It was bigger than my first 2 apartments--a large bedroom, bath, and huge living/dining/kitchenette. The bed mattress was very comfortable, and the cotton linens soft and cozy. I loved the liquid soap dispenser (along with the shampoo and conditioner) in the bath. The entire staff, from the doormen and housekeeper to the front desk staff were very helpful. The manager even gave me advice on where to go to see the fireworks which did not involve getting in the massive crowd on the mall.
I had read some other reviews complaining that there is no ice machine on each floor and the lobby is small, but I would rather deal with these relatively minor inconveniences and have a fantastic room than have a huge lobby and ice around the corner but have to stay in a small room.
I did not eat at the on-site restaurant, so I cannot give any opinion on that.
I had stayed at this hotel over 15 years ago when it was tha Inn at Foggy Bottom, and was a bit apprehensive when I found that it had changed owners. I am happy to report that it is even better than now than I had remembered. I will definitely stay here again when I return to DC.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLAKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear NOLAKathy,

We really apprecaite you taking the time to give a review of your hotel on Tripadvisor. It really makes me happy when I see that our guests enjoy our intimate hotel and staff. We pride ourselves on helping our guests in the best way we can. We switched to the dispensers in our bathrooms to reduce waste and to upgrade the products. Gilchrist and Soames is a wonderful and environmentally friend product and company.

The next time you are in DC we do hope you will stay with us again so you will see the exciting changes we will be making to improve the hotel and our guests experineces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My sister and I stayed here July 1-4th, It is clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. We did not have hand soap in the bathroom or an iron and they brought them up within a few minutes. We had a standard room with two beds. There was a flat screen TV in the amoire, a desk with chair, and an arm chair and small table. There was an alcove right before the bathroom that contained the minifridge, microwave, and coffee machine. The Hotel is located next to George Washington University and about 2 blocks from the Foggy Bottom metro. Also the free Kennedy center van picks up and drops off from this same metro.The furnishings remind you of furniture in bygone days. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. We got the breakfast buffet included and it was great. Sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, fresh fruit, bagels, orange juice, pastries and muffins, etc. We did not use the valet parking, because we had come to DC by train. This hotel is located in a residential neighborhood (though there are also other hotels).
This is the second time we have stayed here and it did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Go to their wesite to see the deals that they have. I am on there e-mail list and got a great rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brideforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Bridefor...,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are also pleased to see when our guests return to us and not only got a great rate, but hand another great experience. I do want to apologize for the missing soap and iron. That should have been caught before your arrival.

I am also glad you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our location. The neighborhood feel is wonderful and we are close to a lot of great attractions in DC.

We do hope that you stay with us for a third time when you are in DC again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Clean rooms. Good location close to Metro station. Friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZnpfamily_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,633 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,468 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,797 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing