We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Area of DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #59 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2007

The hotel itself was nothing to write home about, but it is in a fantastic area of DC (Foggy Bottom area, about a mile from Dupont Circle). Hotel was clean and average; no special perks or amenities, but it provided for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DFC12481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2007

The GWU Inn bills itself as a boutique hotel. I've stayed in three boutique hotels in DC - Hotel Madera, River Inn, and Hotel Rouge. The GWU Inn is NOTHING like any of these three. Everything about it is cheaper (except the price). The bathroom fixtures are cheap, the bathtub/shower had mold on the ceiling, the chair/desk combo was like a Walmart special. Also, boutique hotels are usually funky or fun in some way. Not this place. The bedspreads look like a cheap Marriott knock-off - so they were imitating the chain look, rather than the boutique look.

That said, my stay was fine. Everything worked, the place was clean, the bed was comfortable. Service was fine as well. My only complaint was that the walls really were thin - I almost never have problems with hearing neighbors, but around 10 p.m., the person in the room next to me called someone on his cell phone and I could almost make out the conversation, let alone hear the noise. So I do think that could be trouble if you had noisy neighbors.

Would I recommend the GWU Inn? Well, it depends on the price. If the price is anywhere near what you'll be paying for either an upscale chain or a real boutique hotel, no way. It's definitely not the same experience. If it's a good deal, then no problem - it's a decent place with free high speed internet access. Just don't pay too much because it's not really worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank everglades_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Very disappointing for the price that we paid for our stay.

The problems started right at our arrival. We were moving in a GWU student and so had a lot of luggage. When we arrived at the hotel by taxi, the hotel driveway was completely blocked by parked cars and the valet was nowhere to be found. We left our bags on the sidewalk and I went to find the bellman and politely asked him to help us move our bags in from the street. He seemed too busy to be bothered, grabbed only two bags, dumped them in a corner of the lobby, and promptly disappeared. We were left to haul the rest of the luggage ourselves in from the street and up to our rooms.

None of us slept during our visit – the hotel walls are so thin that we could hear word-for-word conversations on all sides and certainly didn’t appreciate the crying child/screaming mother combo in the room above us.

Lobby staff was clueless when asked simple questions such as the nearest Chinese restaurant and the times that the Metro started running.

On the positive side, we had a potentially serious maintenance problem in our room one morning; hotel management paid a visit and called a maintenance person right away - the whole thing was resolved in a half hour.

Pluses: Great location close to Foggy Bottom Metro stop and Kennedy Center. Room was clean and well-maintained throughout the visit.

Minuses: Valet service is awful and we witnessed many guests waiting a long time for their cars; customer service at the front desk virtually non-existent.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank FrequentFlyer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

I stayed at this hotel because I attended a two-day orientation session at GWU. This hotel was so close and I got quite a good rate through the school. I did have a little trouble finding the place, it is nestled in between residential homes & apartment buildings and the sign is pretty tiny. But it was within a block and a half from the metro and even less to campus.

The room was plenty big, with two double beds, a desk, a separate room for the microwave & fridge, and a tiny bathroom. The bathroom shelf was annoying (as other reviewers have said) because it would not fit any of my toiletries. Water pressure was good, the towels were amazing, and I liked they offered free shoe shine service (although I never used it).

The best part about the room - the bed! It was so comfortable, moreso than even my own at home. One of the best I've slept on while away from home. The worst part (besides the tiny bathroom) - the maid service. They didn't replace any of the toiletries during my four night stay, forgot to clean the coffee pot and replace the coffee a couple of other days, and didn't bother to do more than make the beds and take out the trash and towels. Very disappointing. The view out my window was lovely at night, I could see the Kennedy Center all lit up down the street. Lovely!

All in all, when I go back to GWU I will likely stay at this hotel because of the amazing discount the university offered me. But if I were paying over $200 a night I'd move out of the district to Alexandria or Arlington and get a much nicer hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serendipity88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Wonderful, quaint hotel in beautiful Georgetown. Metro 5 minutes away on foot. The hotel staff was very gracious and helpful. Smiles everywhere!!! Room was very comfortable and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would return again if ever in the DC area. This place rocks!!!

Stayed: June 2007
Thank elsynator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

In addition to the previously written positive reviews, I would also like to mention my great stay at this hotel. As a parent of a GW university student, I was looking for a hotel located very close to the Foggy Bottom Campus in May'07. This, by far, is the best location. Just an easy walk up two blocks, and your right at the GW Hospital, a metro stop, and the GWU Student Center and rest of campus.

The hotel is actually a reburbished apartment building. The hotel rooms have a typical apartment floorplan including kitchens. The lobby's registration counter is very small as is the lobby. All staff were very friendly...although be prepared to carry your own luggage as bellhops were seldom seen during my stay (3 days). Elevators are VERY small. Also, if travelers prefer to have a hopping lounge or good restaurant in the hotel where they stay - this location is NOT for you. You will need to either go for walk to some great places or order take-out. Many restaurants do deliver and most of the rooms have a galley kitchen where you can save left-overs in your refrigerator!

I didn't experience the "thin walls" a previous reviewer mentioned - but I was so exhausted after walking all over campus that by the time I returned to my room I crashed on a very comfortable bed and was out like a light!

I would certainly return to this hotel again, but for the next few visits to GWU I will continue to experiment with surrounding hotels and post my experiences.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Beantowngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

I stayed here one night before an exam the next morning being administered at a nearby test site (I live just outside of DC). Location was pretty good, in GW campus, next to the metro, safe area with street parking until 7AM the next day M-F. Rooms were clean, large, comfortable. Bathroom was clean with extra towels etc. Night reception was horrible. When I arrived, at 11PM to check in, no one was there, the guy at the reception seemed to have just been awakened, came up rubbing the sleep out of his eyes and seemed annoyed at me for waking him. I inquired if they were very booked up, because I had an exam the next day and I would need to be able to sleep so please give me a room that is not near any other patrons (its a hotel on a college campus and so I assume there are going to be a lot of college kids roaming about the hotel on a friday night). He again seems annoyed and just grunted "this'll be fine" and pushes a room key at me. I go to the room, and the next room over there is a loud party going on. I didn't even step into the room, I just went back down and asked for another room. I said, there is a party going on in the room next door, I need another room. He says "Why?" as if that wasn't explanation enough. Finally he gives me a room higher up and that one was fine. The walls are paper thin so you can hear the usual people talking in the hallway and sounds of opening and shutting doors - no big deal - but I was rather annoyed at the attitude and disregard shown by reception so I would stay here again if the price was right. Reading the other reviews, I am guessing the reception during the day is better.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank wasif20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Dear Guest,

The hotel is under new management and ownership. We invite you to stay with us again and would love to welcome you back. Please contact us directly and mention this review so that we can take good care of you and your next reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
1,727 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 142 in Washington DC
1,506 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 142 in Washington DC
1,845 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#37 of 142 in Washington DC
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $164 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing