We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel but too pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good hotel but too pricey”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I know .. it is a four seasons so one should expect to pay a bit more. But there are very nice hotels in DC (eg Park Hyatt, see my review on it) that are less pricey and as good (though not in Georgetown).
All is very nice, staff, decorum, room (not that modern but beautiful). The gym is very good, as the pool and jacuzzi.
The strength of the hotel is its location right at the start of Georgetown (eg at the back of the hotel, walk along the river and discover GT this way) and close to the business area (Washington Circle, Penn avenue ...). So good for both leisure and business.
The BIG drawback for me is breakfast: a la carte only (no buffet) and expensive. Does not get closer to the Park Hyatt one (buffet, reasonably priced and top quality products). Restaurant for the evening has great atmosphere and food (inc meat) but pricey.

All in, you will not be disappointed especially if you want to spend time in Georgetown, and if you do not mind paying a bit of a premium.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afderoide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    135
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
280
193
36
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

From the moment I walked in, I knew it would be a fantastic stay. From the bell men to the front desk staff, everyone made me feel like a cherished guest and that they were so glad I was there. (It was a much different experience at the hotel where the conference I was attending was held -- everyone who worked there seemed like guests were annoying).

Unfortunately I didn't get to enjoy the hotel or my room as much as I would have liked, but I tried to make the most of the time I had. The room was lovely and the extra amenities provided via the Gal on the Go program were great -- loved the magazines, makeup remover cloths, a yummy treat, and the flat iron (all hotels should offer female travelers a flat iron!). I was really glad that I had a look at the hotel's website to learn about the new program.

At the well-equipped and spacious gym (at least by hotel standards), I was offered my choice of water (the usual bottled or a choice of speciality infused spa-waters in a eco-friendly cup) and enjoyed the fruit and coffee provided as a quick breakfast after my workout.

On my final day, I was able to enjoy Seasons for breakfast with my cousin and we had a wonderful meal -- food was delicious, service was attentive but unobtrusive, and they encouraged us to linger a little longer than we probably should have. As I was leaving the hotel that afternoon after picking up my bags, our waiter even said goodbye to me and hoped that I had a pleasant stay. All in all, another fabulous Four Seasons stay and this property was my favorite so far.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jooles_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsHotelDC, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear jooles_p,

Thank you for your 5 Star review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly the Spa and our new Gal on the Go amenities. We really appreciate hearing from our guests who take the time to give us their feedback and suggestions for our new programs like Girl on the Go. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Dirk Burghartz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctyankee20
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We great rooms-absolutely beautiful. Great gym pool and nice casual restaurant (Seasons). The formal restaurant is a little "night clubby" and loud to be family friendly but that was a small outlier in otherwise great weekend. We travelled with our children and the Hotel is very good at personal touches particularly those aimed at children.The location is a little low down in Georgetown but is still a manageable walk to the sites.

Room Tip: We had rooms 280 and 287 which we beautiful but near the garbage pick up which made for a lot of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctyankee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsHotelDC, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear ctyankee20,

Thank you for your recent 5 Star review. I really appreciate your taking the time to give us your feedback and am delighted that you and your family not only enjoyed your stay but that we exceeded your expectations overall. I have noted your comments about your room location for future stays and again, appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Four Seasons Washington soon.

With best wishes,
Dirk Burghartz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sana'a
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very comfortable and elegant. Staff are very helpful and would go the extra mile to help. Was offered a stroller for my baby and umberallas were offered during the rainy days. Its not the value of the stroller or umberalla, but for being ready to acommodate the guest in all possible ways.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalidNajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsHotelDC, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear WalidNajar,

Thank you for your recent 5 Star review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations overall. I am sorry that the weather did not cooperate but glad to hear that we could assist with a stroller and umbrella. Hopefully, we will have another chance to welcome you and your family back soon with sunnier skies. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Dirk Burghartz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Enjoyed my stay. The staff is very helpful. Transportation to the rest of D.C. was not a problem. My stay was felt luxurious and safe. The staff even made sure we had our umbrellas on the day the forecast predicted rain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsHotelDC, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Patty S,

Thank you for your recent 5 Star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we surpassed your expectations overall. Unfortunately, it's still raining outside with more in the forecast so we will keep the umbrellas near. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon with hopefully, sunshine and blue skies.

All the best,
Dirk Burghartz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Located in Georgetown - just steps from the best shopping and dinning in DC. This property offers exceptional comfort and service; staff are eager to please and the rooms, restuarants and amenities are second to none. Cons - expensive and somewhat far from the main DC tourist attractions but the Georgetown atmosphere more than makes up for it. If you're looking for a guaranteed great stay, you can't go wrong with the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoast888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsHotelDC, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear erkin Toronto,

Thank you for your recent 4 Star review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the service and amenities at the hotel and the Georgetown locale. Whether you are here on business or leisure, as you said, Georgetown has something for everyone from terrific shops and restaurants to art galleries. the C&O canal and Georgetown Harbor. We hope to welcome you back soon for another "guaranteed great stay" and thank you again for your feedback.

With best wishes,
Dirk Burghartz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is good, however spa/ gym were changing carpet during our stay & closed the access to gym in the evenings.
Also breakfast was disappointing French bakery across the street has best selection & quality. Oatmeal is made with Water not milk, it was terrible.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsHotelDC, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear namarai,

Thank you for your recent 4 Star review. I appreciate your taking the time to share your impressions of your stay at the Four Seasons Washington. It was unfortunate that the carpeting was being changed during your stay and that the gym facilities were not available in the evening. We take your comments about the quality of the food seriously and are currently reviewing our breakfast oatmeal prep with our Executive Chef.

I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon and make amends. Please feel free to contact me by email at dirk.burghartz@fourseasons.com.

Sincerely,
Dirk Burghartz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,807 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Address: 2800 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the hip and historic Georgetown neighborhood, Four Seasons Hotel Washington offers unparalleled access to D.C.'S inspiring monuments and historic sites as well as the eclectic charm of upscale shops, restaurants, and galleries. Vibrant Georgetown is home to a rich variety of cultural attractions, stores and eateries. Listen to evocative jazz in Blues Alley, shop in the design district known as Cady's Alley and explore the C&O Canal, Georgetown Waterfront Park and Washington Harbour. Other popular attractions include the Old Stone House on M Street, Georgetown University, Georgetown Cupcakes (site of the hit show "DC Cupcakes") and of course, the famous stairs from "The Exorcist." It's an ideal base from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Washington d.c.
Four Seasons Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Four Seasons Washington Dc
Washington Dc Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing