We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How nice to be back”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #25 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel almost 25 years ago--very frequently when I was in Washington. It was an old hotel but located superbly in Dupont Circle. I recently had occasion to return and what a surprise. 4 years ago they remodeled and it is simply spectacular in my view Modern room, clean, very attractive. The restaurant was exceptional--ala carte breakfast served more cheaply and much better than the tradiitonal breakfast buffet in most business hotels. Again the location was a plus. I even returned to have lunch as I found the kitchen cooking excellent and the wait staff exceptional. I would highly recommend you try this for a DC visit.

Room Tip: off the street if possible and away from street lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CascadeProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

How fantastic it is that you had an opportunity to return to our hotel. We are pleased that you planned a return visit to Dupont Circle and enjoyed the remodeling of our hotel. Thank you for dining with us as well; it's great you had a well-rounded experience during your stay. We appreciate your review and we do hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,679 of 3,242 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

I recently stayed here for four nights with my family, and found a few things on both sides of the good/bad ledger. Words that describe this hotel include: avant grade, chic, stylish, well appointed, trendy, hip, high energy, and attention to detail. Words that do not describe this hotel include: spacious, reasonably priced, and peaceful.

This hotel is right on DuPont Circle, which makes it great for walking to great restaurants, getting to Metro, and being harassed by a brigade of clipboard carrying activists. It is really loud on the streets all night long, so write off getting a full night's sleep. The beds and linen are amazing though, so even when you're laying there awake from a car horn at 3AM or a neighbor's door slamming shut at 4AM, it will be in comfort.

The staff is amazing in terms of caring and making you feel welcomed. The lobby is inviting, the bar is the most popular place in all of DC, and the restaurant serves amazing cuisine. We ate there on a previous trip, which is why we choose to stay there on this recent trip. The music and ambiance of the place is fantastic. There is plenty to find within a one-mile walking radius, including some embassies, a masonic temple like no other, great eateries, a cute waterway, and all sorts of places to stand around drinking and eating. It's also nice that the Metro station with the world's longest escalator is within a hundred yards to take you anywhere in the city you may wish to go as a tourist.

I enjoyed my stay very much, but came home lacking sleep and $1800 lighter.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator if possible and on the side that faces away from thew circle. That will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Casualfamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

We thank you and your family for being guests of ours and we are pleased our staff could help make your stay more inviting. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us know which areas guests like best and which may arise concerns. Our Dupont Circle neighborhood is definitely a lively one and we are pleased you had a chance to explore its vibe while being close to the Metro. We hope you and your family had a beautiful D.C. stay and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently and were very impressed with the hotel. The facilities were excellent as well as the friendliness of the staff, and location was perfect for everything we wanted to do. I would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carri4577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you for your recommendation and your review of our hotel. It pleases us to hear you had such a great stay with us and we invite you back for another visit next time you are in D.C. again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Tamara, thank you for your the wonderful service and warm welcome that you gave me during check in. I couldnt have chosen a better hotel during this time for celebrating 100 years of service for Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity INC. Thanks Tamara. Thank you, Thank you, and Thank you.l

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are happy to hear your experience was a positive one made better by our staff. We appreciate you being a guest of ours and hope you will stay with us again on any future trips to D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We live right nearby in the neighborhood. Mwe recommend this hotel for out of town visitors. Great weekend brunch.

For locals, the bar is a great way to eat lovely little treats while people watching in Dupont Circle. For this hotel is very much right on the circle, and the bar has great glass windows,

The hotel is part of the Irish-run Doyle collection, and a bartender with a lovely Irish brogue gave us great travel advice for our trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lacoatrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic recommendation of our hotel. We are happy to hear from guests in the neighborhood and we are glad you've had a chance to experience our hotel and restaurant. We hope you will stop in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

A spacious room, with an equally spacious and tastefully decorated bathroom. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant, especially the staff in the restaurant attached to the hotel. WiFi was complementary. The hotel was very close to the Metro for getting into the main areas for visiting all the attractions and museums. There are a large number of restaurants within walking distance, offering a wide choice of meals to sort all taste, although many are rather pricey. Tea and coffee were available, free of charge, every morning in the lobby, which also has a pleasant seating area. The only downside was the bar area, which could be quite noisy at times.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uzum54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to D.C. It's great you had an opportunity to explore our Dupont Circle neighborhood and different features of our hotel. We are glad our staff and amenities could help provide a comfortable stay for you and we hope you will visit us again next time you are in the city. Thank you for being a guest of ours. We appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We arrived at this hotel on June 11th for a 5 night stay. We chose it from positive TA reviews, location and being a Doyle Group hotel we knew it should be good. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, following an extremely hot taxi journey from Dulles (taxi driver didn't turn air con on until we reached city centre!!) we were hot, sweaty and irritated after a long flight from Dublin and transfer we were greeted by extremely friendly staff and especially Calvin who welcomed us with ice cold bottled water as we checked in. Our room was spacious, well appointed, very clean and modern. The beds were very comfortable and black out curtains made the room nice and dark in the morning. We chose the bed and breakfast option and the food was very good. The waiting staff were very friendly and efficient, even under pressure! Every member of staff we encountered was very polite and friendly with a special mention to Shane, who made us feel right at home! We highly recommend this hotel and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: High floor with view of dupont circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel for your recent trip to D.C. We are pleased to hear our staff could make you feel welcome and comfortable, especially after your full day of travel. Your feedback is valuable to us and we always want to give our guests this top-rated experience. We appreciate you sharing your hotel experience with us and we hope you will have a chance to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#48 of 142 in Washington DC
2,146 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
1,517 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#63 of 142 in Washington DC
1,273 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $110 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing