We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dupont Circle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Embassy Row Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Hotel Madera(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Tabard Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Topaz Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,510)
Filter reviews
3,510 results
Traveler rating
2,076
980
287
104
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,076
980
287
104
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circleheated floorsfrosted glass doorgreat locationtoilet and showersink areahotel barmetro stationrooms are smallstreet noisewhite housevalet parkingshuttersprivacyaaronbookstoreconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,985 - 1,990 of 3,510 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I arrived at the hotel at 11:30 PM to discover they had lost the reservation I'd made three weeks earlier. After providing the confirmation number, the young lady behind the counter spent 20 minutes searching only to inform me that their "system had put the reservation in the wrong place". ??? She then told me that the room type I had reserved was not available and all they had was a small room with a double bed. The room was on the second floor and was very small, with a tiny bathroom and a shower that was difficult to wash your hair in because it was not wide enough to lift your arms to your head without hitting the walls. The room was at the same level as the roof over the restaurant and ball rooms, so the massive A/C units were right outside the only window. The view was bad enough, but the A/C unit ran all night and sounded like there was a Mac truck idling outside the room. Given the late hour and their failure to keep a reservation I had no other choice but to take the room. Needless to say, I will not be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0sRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that we failed to provide you with a pleasing experience during your recent stay here. We apologize for any miscommunication with regards to your room reservation. We do try to accommodate all our guests to avoid this from happening and to correct any missteps along the way. We want to assure you that guest care is of the utmost importance to us, so we take your concerns very seriously and we value your feedback. We hope you had a nice visit to D.C. and we thank you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed last weekend at a very good group rate. However, the room to which we were first assigned was impossibly small. The king-size bed was almost against the wall, with a mirror protruding between the bed and the narrow path the to tiny bathroom. The toilet blocked the access to the bathroom, the sink was half sized. The storage drawer was under a table and I would have had to crawl to get to it! Fortunately, the very pleasant staff moved us to a larger room. Very clean; nice linens and towels; poor lighting; overly large furniture for the space. The public areas were lovely and lively; great location. Breakfast is pricey, as is parking.

I would stay there again for the amenities and location, as well as the price.

Room Tip: Don't settle for the very small room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear William, thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are glad we could quickly rectify your room situation for you to accommodate your needs accordingly. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and location and we hope you will return again soon. We are appreciative of your fine review and hope your time in DC was fantastic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

You may recall the aphorism, "Except for that, how was the play, Mrs. Lincoln." This hotel has a lot going for it. The staff is well trained. The rooms are rather new and well appointed. The elevators are responsive. The showers are good. The location is convenient, with a Metro stop one short block away.The exercise facility,while not great, is more than adequate. The TV works well with many HD stations. The rooms are reasonably quiet.

But, but, but...The shades on the windows are somewhat similar to Venetian blinds, except they are constructed of wide slats that do little to block light coming in as they can't be tightly closed. This means that at night the streetlights illuminate the room and in the morning, well, forget sleep if yours is one of the 50% of rooms on the eastern side of the facility, as the sun will brightly illuminate your room starting at 5AM in the summer. (See attached photo.)

What is the prime purpose of a hotel? To provide a place to sleep. If a hotel can't do that, then it should be avoided no matter how good is everything else.

The crazy thing is that the cost to the hotel to fix this would be trivial compared to its other costs. It's hard to understand why management would neglect the key responsibility to provide an adequate place for its guests to sleep.

Until they fix that, avoid the place, unless being woken up very early is your thing.

Room Tip: Demand a room on the west side to avoid morning sunlight
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MacWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Mac,

Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We were thrilled as we began reading your review as we seemed to have hit the mark on several levels: well-appointed rooms, responsive elevators, nice showers, well-trained staff, location convenience, etc. Therefore, you can see why we were both surprised and disappointed that your rating was not reflective of how you viewed our hotel.

With regards to the light being bright streaming in, we definitely do not want this to disrupt the sleep of any of our guests, which is why we provide eye masks for comfort and convenience. Depending on your guest room location, the outside lighting will differ, but we had an easy solution ready and available for you. Thank you for your feedback and be assured that your comments will be taken into consideration. We do not want this to deter you from visiting us again and we do hope that you will consider our hotel for your next visit to D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great location, wonderful rooms, amazing staff (especially concierge Michael)!
I was in town for a conference at a nearby hotel but I am now so glad that they were booked, this was an excellent experience.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location was convenient to everything you could want to see and do.
I highly recommend The Dupont Circle Hotel to other travellers and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haligirl142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for leaving us such a heartfelt review. We value your feedback and appreciate your compliments to our staff. We are more than pleased to hear your stay here was a fantastic one and look forward to the next time you have a chance to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The personnel are extremely friendly and accomodating. I was not lacking anything. I had a room in the 27th tier. This is a room "deluxe double bed". Great view. I really liked the Dupont Bar. Efficient bartenders with an area that has ceiling to floor windows facing the Circle. Having a drink or two or three is a PERFECT way to end a day. I have been coming back to this hotel for approximately 3 to 4 years. It was always a nice experience and I highly recommend it to my traveling associates.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevators, especially on the weekends.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raymond b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Raymond, thank you for your glowing review. We appreciate your thoughtful words and we are pleased you were able to experience much of what our hotel has to offer. We thank you for being a guest of ours and hope you will join us again on future travels to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews