We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be a square, book the Dupont Circle Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't be a square, book the Dupont Circle Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

As a former resident of Maryland, and someone who has lived in the south for 30 years since, I was more than pleasantly surprised at the southern comforts of this hotel. The staff are exceptional professionals, and extremely warm and friendly (which is not the norm in this part of the world!) They continued to go above and beyond the call of duty--even Greg, our baggage delivery man, recommended several places to eat and see. Jennifer, our check in attendant was very conscientious about suiting our room needs, and Michael, the concierge gave us great foodie ideas, and then had even more on our check out, for the next visit. The rooms are small, but extremely efficient, clean, and comfortable. Loved the heated floor tiles in the bathroom, especially on this cold and snowy weekend. The hotel bar was jamming, and our friend didn't have as much of a pleasant experience with the bartenders as we did with other members of the staff. We did take advantage of drinks in front of the fireplace in the hotel lobby. We loved the coffee/tea station in the morning, and especially enjoyed the beautiful Christmas cookies. We will definitely be back. Great location, beautiful hotel, and exceptional staff--it was a win-win!

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room for a quite stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Jaya, we thank you kindly for your review of our hotel. We truly value guest feedback and we are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time while with us. Each member of our staff does like to go above and beyond for guests to ensure an exceptional stay, so we are happy you felt you were greeted so warmly. We welcome you back as a guest anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    861
    249
    94
    58
See reviews for
545
887
189
897
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here several years ago - it was the first hotel we stayed in, in Washington DC. We loved it. The staff were very friendly and the room comfortable and very clean. One thing we loved was the location, too - Dupont Circle is lively and interesting and we enjoyed the small restaurants, cafes and bookstores. And just a stone's throw from the Metro, so very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We're so happy to have left such a memorable impression on your DC travels, in spite of the years that have passed, and we encourage you to reach out to our team the next time you're in the area. We're continually improving, and we'd very much like to share this evolution with you. Many thanks again for your thoughtful review; we hope to hear more from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Very close to the Dupont Circle Metro, and an extremely nice and safe area to walk around. Quite a few restaurants, shops, and embassies in the area. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very comfortable, clean, and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
It's a pleasure to have been able to host your recent visit, Dave, and we're glad that the location of our property lent ease to your regional explorations. As noted in your review, there's a world of experience to be had in our surrounding area, and we'd love to have you back to showcase even more of our site, services, and regional offerings to you. Many thanks again for your time and such a kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The place was amazing. !! The restaurant was great the people were nice and welcoming. We loved it. I traveled with my daughter and had a great time at the little places / stores near by. Chipotle was near too. All in all there hasn't been a hotel with heated floors and this one definitely had one. Awesome time!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We're so happy to have had you as our guest, and we thank you for lending us such a kind review of the experience, Elizabeth. We're hugely proud of our dedicated team and the offerings of our region, and we're so happy to have shared these--along with our heated floors--with you. With so much to enjoy on site and in the surrounding area, we hope that you'll reach out to share future travels with us. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Now this is customer service! On Sun the maid who cleaned my hotel accidentally threw away my make up. I realized it was an honest mistake b/c it looks like their bath gel but smaller. I was annoyed but didn't elevate it. The next day their concierge officer Dayonna asked how my stay was going. I told her great except the make up thing. She was very apologetic! She asked about the brand, colour, type, etc but I knew it would be impossible to get because its rarely in stores. The next day she sends me a beautiful card with handwritten sorry note & a complimentary breakfast certificate - I felt better. The following day she sends me complimentary mini chocolates. By this time I'm so touched I've completely gotten over the make up mishap. On my last night I got to room & was greeted by a gift bag - with not one but TWO new make up tubes. I'm now completely floored. I went to the lobby, gave her a big hug & thanked her for being so wonderful. I still can't believe how they went above & beyond! Dayonna you are just amazing :-)

The best part is that its not just the service - the hotel itself is fantastic! Its centrally located and well appointed. The rooms are modern & chic - with heated bathroom floors which is a huge plus in the winter. The hotel staff are super warm, helpful, polite. The restaurant & cafe are so good you'll want to eat in everyday you're there. If you're ever in DC & want a great hotel I unreservedly recommend the Dupont Circle Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 5-8 have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jam876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for sharing your experience with us and leaving such kind words. We do like to go out of our way for our guests every chance we get. We hope the rest of your DC stay was just as fantastic and we hope to see you again on future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We arrived from Union Station and were warmly greeted as we stepped out of the cab. From this moment on we were made to feel at home. Everyone from the door staff, front desk, cleaners etc always greeted us on passing and where applicable some even stopped for a chat.

We stayed on Level 9 - wow - we were made to feel at home. Our room was very spacious, with a four poster bed, lounge area with chair, sofa and all mods cons. The bathroom had a separate shower and a deep spa tub, even with TV, and for added ambience a candle and matches were supplied.

A special shout must be made to Cole for her superlative customer service along with tips on what to do, where to eat and what to see. It is so nice to stay at a hotel where the staff are sincerely trying to please their guests.

The hotel is well located at Dupont Circle, only moments from the subway station and easy walking to numerous restaurants. We even walked down to the White House, 25 mins - most of which was spent waiting to cross roads!

We loved Washington DC and on our next visit will stay at the Dupont.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We thank you kindly for your review. We are happy you were able to experience our Level Nine accommodations and the hospitality our staff provides. We definitely do our best to go above and beyond for our guests to make every visit a fantastic one. We hope to have you as a guest again should your travels bring you back to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

pI'm a frequent traveler to DC and have stayed at this property a number of times over the years. This stay provided a remarkable example of exceptional customer service. As I approached the front desk to check in, Dayonna recognized me and greeted me heartily and BY NAME. I hadn't stayed at the hotel for just over ten months, and I remembered that Dayonna had somehow remembered my name that time as well. Getting back to my room late the second night of my stay, I was surprised to find a handwritten note and a "welcome back" note. Fantastic! The hotel is situated directly on the Circle and is steps from the Metro. The rooms are comfortable and modern, and the restaurant is great. Can't go wrong with this great property!

Room Tip: Internally facing rooms are very quiet; external rooms have nice views of busy Dupont Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LonghornFan78733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel. We do like to make extra efforts to make sure each of our guests are warmly welcomed and made to feel comfortable and well taken care of. We truly appreciate your recognition of it, but more importantly, we are happy that it provides such a great experience for you. We look forward to the next time we get to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing