We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service and the finest quality rooms in conveniently located boutique hotel”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Are you being served? Service was a hallmark in this newly renovated modern clean boutique hotel. The staff knew our names anticipated and attended to our every need. Large well appointed and bright sunny rooms. The "penthouse" or concierge level that they call the 9th floor was a real treat. Spacious balconies and lounge areas with unlimited soft drinks and snacks, happy hour etc. we're private and exclusive. They made us feel important. Room was comfy with many European amenities (heated towel racks, heated bathroom floor, daily fresh fruit and chocolates etc). Located right on DuPont Circle at the red line Metra stop. Convenient to restaurants and coffes shops. A "happening" crowded young lobby bar. We have stayed many fine hotels. This was surprisingly right up their, distinguished by the service that bettered any Four Seasons or Ritz that we have stayed at. Definitely will be our go to hotel in D.C.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinleyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi Tinley, thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate you leaving such a kind review of our hotel. Service is one of our top priorities, so we are happy when guests feel so well taken care of. We are thrilled that you were able to experience our Level Nine accommodations and enjoy our luxurious amenities meant to ensure the comfort of your stay. We truly value your feedback and we hope to see you again for a future visit soon! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,189 - 2,195 of 3,430 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is right on beautiful Dupont Circle. It is only 1 min walk from the Metro and surrounded by great restaurants and shops. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed three nights in a superior king room.

Upon check-in, we had to wait a good 10 minutes to be served, however there was only one staff member who was being worked off her feet and she was doing the best she could on her own. When we were finally served, we were checked into the incorrect room. Upon realising this and returning to reception, we had to wait another 10 minutes to be served. Due to their error and long wait, we were given a complimentary room upgrade.

The first night, we were unable to sleep due to the jackhammering from construction crews across the road repairing the sidewalk, but that's not the hotels fault. It would have been nice to be given a heads up though. The room was fantastic and modern with plenty of space. The bed was comfortable, however the pillows were not. My only gripes would be that there was no fridge/mini-bar and the TV does not face the bed at a good angle and due to being fixed to the wall, it cannot be moved.

The bathroom was beautiful with modern amenities, however not much thought went into the practicality side of the planning. The shower is divided from the basin by the toilet and the only barrier is frosted glass. You would want to be very intimate with whomever you were sharing with, and I cant see how it would work for families. Additionally, although there is a small window in the bathroom, there is no extractor fan. As such, every time someone has a hot shower, steam wafts into the bed room. The same applies to smells from the toilet and when deodorant is sprayed. With no door or exhaust fan, these gases disperse into the bedroom making it unpleasant.

The valet parking offered by the hotel worked well, however was an absolute rip-off. Two and a half days of parking cost us $120. I guess that is the price that you pay when parking in Washington DC.

Breakfast was not included for us, however we did visit the restaurant. My food was lovely, however they messed up my partners very simple order three times in a row and after 40mins, we gave up and continued breakfast elsewhere.

The complimentary wifi and bottles of water were a big plus and we had no issues with house keeping. Room service was also prompt and delicious, just extremely expensive. Despite a few shortcomings, this hotel was fantastic overall and I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: For a nice view, ask for a high floor overlooking the park in the middle of Dupont Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bizstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi, thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you were able to benefit from our fantastic location and friendly staff. We appreciate that you acknowledged the extra steps we take in order to meet our guests' expectations or to make up for the times when mistakes are made.

Additionally, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful amenities and spacious room. We definitely appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and we encourage you to always voice any concerns or questions you have to management, whether it is at the hotel or the cafe, upon your next visit to our property so that we can ensure the best service possible. Thank you again for your valued feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent central hotel in the heart of Washington dc. Right next to the Dupont circle area where there are plenty of bars/cafes. Be aware especially through the week most places stop serving food between 10pm and 11pm and the hotel didnt offer room service after about 10.30pm.
The rooms were very modern and plush, the bathroom area was lovely, walk in shower with slate flooring. We did arrive around 11pm at night and was told our room was on second floor, I had requested high level room and the concierge gave us a complimentary upgrade due to the mix up.
One block away from the metro sytem which was by far the easiest and quickest way to travel, $14 for a day pass which was excellent value for Washington compared to around $45+ for a hop on hop off bus. Did not eat in hotel but caught happy hour in the bar one eve, 4pm-6pm beers around $5 and half price cocktails. HOtel bar was busy most evening in particular weekend nights.
No breakfast but they did provide coffee/teas in the lobby area until around 9.30am, plenty of choice with syrups etc. Had no problem with bathroom privacy, solid walls with frosted glass entry door. All in all a lovely comfy hotel. What was better for those wanting bars etc about a 10 minute walk to the lively adams morgan where its all happening.

Room Tip: Higher level to avoid any noise from bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzaj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi, thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our excellent location and enjoyed our modern-designed, luxury rooms. We do always strive to meet and even exceed guest expectations, so it's our pleasure to go above and beyond to meet your standards. We appreciate you taking the time leave such a nice review and hope to see you again on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

PROS: You really cannot beat the location of this hotel. It is a block away from the Metro. It is surrounded by excellent restaurants and nightlife (including a restaurant and bar in the hotel itself that we did not try). The staff is friendly and helpful. The room is nicely appointed and comfortable.

CONS: There is no complimentary breakfast. The bathroom provides little privacy (important to bear in mind if you're travelling with someone other than your significant other).

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Dupont Circle (our room faced a wall).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc4opera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hi, thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy that you found our location to be a plus for you and we are glad our staff accommodated you well. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you on a future stay. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was in town for a short visit. Great room with lots of light. Really nice amenities with a true flare for style. the staff was personable from the front desk to the catering staff. Very easy for events with lots of room and tasty food. Amazing roof top view of the circle. The downstairs bar was perfect to sit and catch up with friends and was packed on a Monday night. job well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with lots of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Tim, we're happy to hear you enjoyed the style of our modern rooms and the amenities we offer. We thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. Although your visit was short, we are happy we could help make your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again on a future trip whether it be for business or pleasure. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Dupont Circle Hotel in mid July and had a fantastic experience. We were greeted upon check in by Nick who was great in explaining all the hotel amenities and our room location and features. We stayed for 5 nights and everyday we were greeted in the lobby by friendly faces and courteous staff. We dined in Cafe Dupont twice and we had the extremely friendly Frances and knowledgeable Ryan taking care of us. The managers Sabrina and Silvan were lovely and looked after us during our stay.
The Bar was busy and full of atmosphere during the evenings and the patio was lovely and relaxing during the day. Shawn and Fabian were great hosts at the bar, extremely friendly, knowledgeable and courteous to the highest level. Overall our experience was exceptional and would recommend anyone staying in DC to try the Dupont Circle Hotel. The location and the amenities cant be beaten!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JmMcEvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave such an outstanding review following your stay with us. We are always so pleased to hear when guests have such a fantastic experience and we are happy our team was able to provide that for you. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests tops our priorities, so we appreciate the kind words you have to say about individual members of our staff. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again on a future trip to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great location. Close to a Starbucks, restaurantes, cafes and Metro station. Walking distance.
Rooms decorationis modern and very clean.
Staff is very friendly.
Concierge MICHAEL is very helpful and kind.
The bar of the hotel is a very hip place. Nice ambient for happy hours.
I recomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanny_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi Fanny, thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to leave such kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our modern accommodations and fantastic location. Our staff prides itself on providing a truly exceptional guest experience, so I will make sure to pass on your compliments to Michael and our whole team. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,614 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,225 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,757 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#42 of 141 in Washington DC
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $156 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing