We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family in DC.”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family in DC.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It kinda felt like you were in the place to be when you walk into the lobby. Very contemporary, sleek, but welcoming feel. Man, this place is busy! Lots of people hanging out at the bar--every night really, not just on Saturday when we checked in; but in the best possible-people watching kind of way. I totally felt like we belonged there in our tourist gear and 9 and 6 year old girls in tow. Our room was small, but totally functional for our family. It would be too tight if you needed a pack-n-play or if you don't like to put your clothes in the closet and keep them in the suitcase. I was worried about the bathroom/privacy issue based on other reviews I had read, but it was perfectly fine. The sink area is in view of the one bed, but the toilet is separated by that area by a glass/frosted door and then the shower is separated from the toilet by a partial door/curtain. I don't feel I heard "bathroom" noises any more than I do when we stay in a hotel that has an actual wall separating the bathroom, unless it has been a bigger suite. The double beds were fine for us, and there was a little window seat area that our 6 year old decided to sleep on. Yes, some light comes through the shutters in the am, but I feel this would be an issue if you are used to sleeping in a room with windows that totally block out the light. We asked for 2 extra bath towel and they brought us a bigger pile. We could have used a couple extra places to hang the towels used and unused, but we managed. Everything is close to here. The Metro stop being so close is such a plus. It's not a necessity, since you WILL walk a ton in DC, but it was nice knowing that at the end of a long day, that once we got off at our stop, we only had a block left to go! Breakfast for the 4 of us at the hotel was $71--but we expect that staying in the city. I loved people watching/eavesdropping in this location. I loved hearing conversations about "networking" and wanting a job that is "editorial and political," and all by a bunch of 20-30 year old somethings. The uniform of choice for the locals seems to be suit and tie for the males and a cute little dress that you'd where to a wedding reception for the females. If you have little ones, be careful when crossing the street in the circle. Just because the traffic is stopped in the outer circle, doesn't mean it's stopped for the inner circle. Our 6 year old stopped just in time to realize that the "walk" sign was not on for her to continue crossing when she reached the median. Anyway, we totally enjoyed the hotel and the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZandGmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Many thanks for being a guest of The Dupont Circle Hotel and for taking the time to share such kind words with us. It's an extreme pleasure to host first time guests, and we're happy that you and your family enjoyed so many elements of your visit. Whether watching from the sidelines or joining in on the humming atmosphere of our facility, we're thankful to have you as a part of the experience, and we'd love the chance to host you again! Many thanks for your stay and review; we hope to see more of you down the road!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,747
    886
    258
    96
    57
See reviews for
576
915
191
933
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights - wish it could have been longer.

We were visiting DC while on a holiday around the USA from NZ. We found the hotel very conveniently located to the major sights - an easy walk to the White House, and then another day walked down to the National Mall to do some of the Smithsonian Museums. It also has a Metro station close by which we used a couple of times. It is also close to the excellent Phillips Collection gallery of Modern Art. As well as the hotel cafe, are plenty of great eating options nearby - our favourite was Kramerbooks and Afterwords Cafe just across the road from the hotel, with my personal favourite being (for breakfast) the 'Barak Omablet' - an omelette filled with Obama's family chilli recipe chilli.

The hotel itself was great - the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable, and the noise levels were surprisingly low given that we were overlooking Dupont Circle, and expected maybe the odd siren or something like that through the night, but never had our sleep disturbed once.

We would definitely stay here again if (hopefully when!) we next return to Washington.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of The Dupont Circle Hotel and for taking the time to share such kind words with us. It's an immense pleasure to share our region and facilities with first time visitors, and I'm happy to hear that our outgoing team was able to make your stay all the more enjoyable. With so much of them both to see and explore, we hope that you'll return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a sorority convention, and I can't say enough great things about my stay and the staff. The location of the hotel is central to many parts of the city, especially nightlife fun. If you don't want to go out, they have an amazing bar in the hotel. The staff was very helpful! The doorman, Deandre, Debeebe (sp), and the young man that worked with Deandre that handed out water as soon as we walked in the door on those hot DC days were always willing to help my mother and I. Also, Thomas and Carl from the Hotel Cafe were awesome and friendly! Thomas gave us directions to get to the MLK memorial, and he saw us later that day and asked about our trip! I was amazed because that's so uncommon these days. I will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area, and I will most definitely stay here again!

-Aterra Lowe

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aterralo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to extol the many services of our outgoing and dedicated team. Guest satisfaction is our ultimate responsibility, and I'm happy to hear that our crew lent such exceptional services to you stay. Our prime location is merely a snippet of the offerings we have to afford, and I'm glad that the outgoing services of our team lent to such a positive review of your stay. We're continually evolving and growing as a result of such feedback, and we look forward to sharing our growth with you. Please reach out the next time you visit the area; we'd love to share more of our unparalleled hospitality with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Looking at some of the previous reviews I wonder if I was at the same place!
We stayed during the recent heat wave and at the same time as a huge conference of beautiful ladies dressed all in white and red. We had a great time. The hotel was obviously stretched with the conference, but that did not detract from the friendly, courteous help we received from the staff.
The room was comfortable and well equipped with an unusual "wet area" bathroom arrangement. The air con' worked fine. The daily two bottles of complementary water were very welcome as we were out sightseeing every day of our 3 day stay. The breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was very nice.
The hotel is ideally situated for numerous restaurants and the Metro station is just over the roundabout. You do not need a car in DC. The metro, buses and walking are all you need.
Of particular note was the friendly, very helpful assistance we received from the concierge, Michael. Michael went to considerable trouble on our behalf over an issue we had with the return of our hire car. He could not have been more helpful:- a gentleman and a professional. Thank you Michael.

Room Tip: The hotel sits between two roads which join the DuPont roundabout. You will not avoid the noise of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks so much for being our guest and for taking the time to share such kind accolades of your experience. We're exceedingly proud of our outgoing team, and I'm glad to hear that Michael was able to exemplify this for you. We'll certainly pass your praises along, and we look forward to your return and the possibility of sharing more of The Dupont Circle Hotel with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Giving this hotel 4 stars is hard for me given the stay we just experienced. That said, I want to give a fair review for what is probably normal vs our trip...

Pros:

Location couldn't possibly be better. Easy access to bus, metro, & tons of shops and restaurants.
Valet parking was $35/nt. Expensive however actually cheaper than other hotels in the area.
Bed was super comfy
Room service menu was quite extensive and food was delicious and served quickly.

Bad:

Our bathroom didn't have a vent or fan of any kind. One shower would cause our whole room to be steamy and a bit smelly. There was a window but it was extremely hot outside so that offered no help.

Our room must have been directly above their ballroom. The first night we were there our room literally shook with the base until 11:30pm. I've never experienced anything that bad/loud before. We couldn't even hear our TV and, needless to say, our infant son couldn't sleep which made it even worse. We called the front desk and at first they said it would be over at 10:30. Then later we were told it would actually be another hour. I never complain but this was terrible - only getting a, "sorry ma'am," doesn't really cut it. I'm super easy going and understand that they're making a ton of money off the wedding and peanuts off of me. That said, there was no offer of a different room or even a $5 Starbucks card for the added caffeine I was definitely going to need after that crappy night of sleep. Heck, maybe even just a glass of wine so that I'd pass out? Just something to say, "Yep, you're right. This sucks. Sorry."

To me, it's the little things that get me to come back to a hotel. I wouldn't dissuade anyone from staying here but just be sure you ask about possible events, get a room on an upper level, and if something goes wrong, don't expect anything back.

Room Tip: Get at least the 3rd floor or above if staying over the weekend. This should put you further away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved it! Jessica and cesia were amazing! Highly recommend it. A must stay in DC. The staff was amazing. They were so helpful and very attentive. The food was great. They make a great dirty martini.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of The Dupont Circle Hotel and for taking the opportunity to share such kind words with us. We're hugely proud of our attentive team and the services they afford our valued guests. We hope that you'll return soon to experience more of our region and world class hospitality. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to see more of you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Terrible customer service in regards to room reservations. Arrived, as so many of DST Convention participants, to find secured room reservations were given to other guests. This left many people with reservations for double bedrooms sharing King accommodations. Some king size rooms had three people sharing bed with cot. This left little floor space. Staff did no readily adjust room rate for these error, as well as did not willing offer any adjustments to customers who spent five days in rooms with temps as high as 80 degrees.

Room Tip: Double check your reservation with hotel before arrival. You may not be greeting what you asked for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
2,035 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,568 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing