We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“something new” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
1 review
“something new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

bed excellent. pillow excellent. air quality is fresh. all else normal upper value hotel room except for the bathroom. that was better because it had a noticeable floor. looked like slate but was comfortable and felt SAFE. not slip feel. comfortable and sure contact of feet to the floor. I liked that very much. then I learned it is a heated floor and that was just wild! another personal preference that was a pleasant surprise was a window in the shower. I like an open window with outside air when taking a shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of the Dupont Circle and for sharing such kind words with us, Paul. It's a great thrill to host first time guests, and I'm happy to hear that the special amenities of our hotel helped to make for a memorable experience. I'm also a huge fan of the heated bathroom floors, and I'm glad that you embraced the fresh and modern feel of their design. We look forward to hosting you again and hope that you'll reach out the next time your travels lead you our direction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    776
    220
    89
    48
See reviews for
447
798
171
779
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Location: I thought the Dupont Circle location would be ideal. In retrospect, I would now choose a hotel closer to the main. It was a fairly easy hotel to get to by car, and the valet was easy to use. But Washington DC proved to be a walking city. I would recommend choosing elsewhere if you intend to walk.

Staff: The staff were unfortunately quite detached and only as helpful as they were required to be. The weekend we stayed was fairly heavily booked due to events that were on that weekend. As a result, and despite having booked 5 months in advance and arriving shortly after normal check-in time, the hotel didn’t have our room allocation and were going to downgrade us. Upon being able to show how far in advance the booking was, the hotel staff member simply said that booking with a third party instead of the hotel meant that I wasn’t entitled to a room guarantee and he insisted I take the lesser room. I refused. The staff member went into the back to speak to the manager, then returned a couple of minutes later saying that my original room was actually available. The manner in which this was done was unprofessional and it appeared to be they way they ran the business in order to store higher rooms for sale or people who complained. From my experience, I am certain a lot complain. It’s not a way to run a hotel, and this single poor handling of my booking would ensure I never book with this hotel again.

Rooms: The rooms were much smaller than I expected from description and photos. Worse still, to save on space the bathroom is integrated into the bedroom space. A further insult is the lack of any basic items you automatically expect in a hotel showing this number of stars.
Overall, a disappointing experience.

Would I stay again: Given the experience with staff and the size of the rooms, it would be unlikely that I would stay again.

Room Tip: Facing the street would be better. But honestly another hotel altogether would give you a better out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of the Dupont Circle Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience and frustrations with us, Glenn. Clearly we are not perfect and mistakes certainly happen from time to time with reservations; however, it is the manner of how this is dealt with that is key, and in this instance that did not happen.

We take our guest experience and guest service to heart, as can be seen by the countless reviews on Tripadvisor that highlight how friendly each of our team members is, which ultimately highlights what a great team we have. Obviously, you did not have this same experience, and for that I offer my sincerest apologies. There are no excuses.

Regarding our bathroom design, we do indeed have a modern luxury design across the hotel with a number of different configurations; I was disappointed to see that this was not to your liking.

We very much hope that you'll reach out to us again the next time you return to the area; we would love a second opportunity to showcase the exemplary services that have become synonymous with our name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at the Dupont Circle Hotel in late June during my 25th wedding anniversary. The check-in was effortless. The front desk personnel was professional, efficient and helpful. The hotel has been completely renovated since my last visit. The look is sophisticated and welcoming. The room size is good, with a king bed, individual, adjustable bedside reading lights, desk and chair, raised padded seating, and shuttered windows. Absolutely convenient location with access to Metro, Connecticut Avenue and Georgetown. Breakfast choices are multiple and delicious. The bar scene is entertaining. Finally, a staff member had chilled Limited Edition Chandon champagne, chocolate-dipped strawberries and a personal note delivered and waiting for us upon return. Excellent service!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spirit03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Many thanks or being our guest and for sharing those small details that stand The Dupont Circle Hotel apart. It's always an honor to celebrate such special occasions alongside our guests, and we're thankful to have been able to enhance your anniversary getaway. Congratulations on such a monumental event, and we hope to share many more of them with you in the years ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the moment we checked in to the day we left everything was perfect!! The staff could not do enough to make us feel as welcome as possible.

The service was great, the rooms both comfortable and very very clean. The hotel is well located to transport and local shops for groceries or quick snacks. All staff made our first trip to Washington a terrific experience!!

Located in one of the best suburbs in DC it is both safe and trendy surrounded by some of the most amazing restaurants and clubs!

We would strongly commend this hotel to anyone ranging from singles and families. We were a family of 4 and the room was a good size to cater for our needs.

The beds were comfortable, linens clean and fresh, toiletries supplied were of an excellent quality

The only thing that we could have done with would have been a refrigerator for our own goods rather than the hotel mini bar but this was not a deal breaker at all.

Would stay here again anytime! Strongly recommend for families

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us, Vivian. It's always a huge pleasure to introduce newcomers to our area, and we're honored to have been a part of your experience. I'll certainly relay your praises along to our team, for their attentiveness and incomparable attention to detail, and we hope to hear from you again the next time you return to our area. All the best in your travels, and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

It has the best location, walking distance to a lot of good restaurants and hip places.
I stayed with my husband and 2 kids and the rooms aren't very big but we were comfortable enough. Everything was brand new and very clean.
I would definitely recommend this hotel in Washington.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of The Dupont Circle Hotel and for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us, Susana. I'm so happy to hear that our location and facilities exceeded your expectations, and we're excited by the prospect of hosting you again. Please reach out the next time you're in the area; we'd love to introduce you to more of our world-class hotel, and we're excited to share more of our city with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The best thing about the Dupont Circle Hotel is the location! The hotel is in a lovely area and close to the Dupont Circle Metro. We enjoyed our stay but the rooms are a bit on the small side (for two adults and two kids). The rooms are clean, contemporary and tastefully decorated though. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the staff were super nice. One drawback - no coffee maker in the room BUT the coffee downstairs in the lobby is so good that we didn’t really mind. Also, we did not have a bathtub in our room, only a (very nice) shower. WiFi is free which was a big plus. The Dupont Hotel website promised access to a pool nearby but the receptionist had no idea what we were talking about when we mentioned this. The kids were a bit disappointed. Included on the premises are a breakfast restaurant and the Bar Dupont, which were buzzing at night. We recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enid_the_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of the Dupont Circle Hotel and for taking the time to share such thoughtful feedback with us. I'm glad to hear that our centrality lent itself to your exploration of the region, and we're glad to have been able to share in your family's experience here. I apologize for any misunderstandings associated with pool availability. This was unfortunately part of a sister property that recently sold, and the information that was initially provided to you is no longer the case. I will certainly pass your experience along to prevent such reoccurrence. Thanks again for being our guest; we hope that you'll reach out to experience much more of our hotel in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

If you do not have children then this would be an excellent hotel to stay in when visiting DC. Unfortunately for someone with young children the hotel is far from suitable. The odd shower room and small sized rooms make it very difficult to live in. The crib only just fitted in the room and when combined with the paraphenalia associated with children it made moving around the room far from easy. There were some very friendly and nice staff however overall i would describe them as tollerent of children, not necessarily always helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlilleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed The Dupont Circle Hotel. Our aim is to serve all our guests to our greatest ability, and I appreciate your feedback regarding kid friendly spaces. We hope that you'll reach out to us again the next time you return to the area. With a variety of room types available, we would love identify one that's better suited for your family's needs. Many thanks again; we look forward to hosting you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#85 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing