We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Modern Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #32 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice, Modern Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

You feel good about this place the moment you pull up. The valet, doorman and Bellman were all attentive, friendly and professional. Front desk service was excellent and checking-in was accurate and quick.

We had a 7th floor room that overlooked the circle. It's a great view to have, but you have to be careful because you will hear street noise from the busy roadway below. The room is nicely decorated in a modern style. We had a "Deluxe" room and besides the king bed, we had a nice desk and lounge seating against the windows. The windows have an interesting shutter on them for privacy but they will let light through in the morning and daytime if you're sensitive to that. Speaking to what some other reviewers have said, yes, the A/C does have trouble keeping up with the mid-day heat if you like your room frozen. The lowest we could get the room mid-day was 74-75 degrees. We weren't there really except for morning and night so it wasn't a problem for us.

Unfortunately, the room is missing a refrigerator or mini-bar. When we needed a fridge, I called down to the desk but none were available. Speaking of calling down to the front desk, it wasn't a great experience. I called several times with endless ringing before someone finally answered.

The room bathroom is very modern and nicely done. There is a sink area separate from the toilet and then the shower is through the toilet area. Our shower had a window, which you had to open as the bathroom has no ventilation fan otherwise. The shower itself was great, good pressure and temperature and the actual shower area is quite large.

The location of the Hotel is great. There are lots of places to eat, get coffee or grab a drink in the area. The monuments and the White House are all in walking distance or a short Metro ride (There is a station on Dupont Circle). Georgetown is also walkable or a short cab ride. There is a bar off the lobby of the hotel that was very busy at night with a young crowd.

Overall, I was happy with our stay here. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear misctraveller,

Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we sincerely appreciate your attention to detail. We do apologize for any issues you had with communicating with our team, and we will surely address them!

It sounds like you truly took advantage of what our location in Dupont Circle has to offer.

We hope that you'll choose us again upon your next visit to the area, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    873
    253
    95
    57
See reviews for
563
895
189
915
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Strong customer service from the minute we arrived. Hotel has a great look and feel. Rooms are clean and finished to a high quality -if a little compact. We upgraded to a deluxe superior.
Great location for exploring DC

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenradlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear karenradlett,

Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and time in the DC area.

We are happy that you enjoyed our modern decor, and atmosphere!

Please join us again upon your next visit to the area. We look forward to your return to the Dupont Circle Hotel!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at the Dupont Circle Hotel in D.C. on business. It was a first-rate experience. The rooms are small but very tidy and perfect for a businesswoman or man traveling alone. The staff is very professional and helpful when needed. The only glitch was that upon my arrival, they informed me my reservation had been canceled, but they could not tell me by whom. They were booked out that night and offered to find me a room in a nearby hotel. Once I produced my confirmation number, however, they honored the reservation and provided me a nice room on the top floor. The bathroom was especially spacious with a heater under the marble floor and a small window in the shower overlooking the street. The cleaning service was very efficient and professional as well. There is a lot of traffic around the hotel so it is advisable to pack earplugs for sleeping. There are many restaurants within easy walking distance and the hotel bistro and cafe offer some great selections as well. The hotel bar has happy hour starting at 4:00 with a nice selection of cocktails and an assortment of complimentary snacks, such as wasabi peas and mixed nuts. There is also a metro station nearby and a taxi is usually waiting near the door. Of particular interest is Kramer Bookstore & Afterwords Cafe located just across the street with excellent menus for breakfast, weekend brunch, lunch, and dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms that face New Hampshire Ave. are quieter than those on the Connecticut side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccacharlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that we could make you so comfortable traveling alone. It sounds like you took advantage of our convenient location, and all that Dupont Circle has to offer. We hope that you'll join us again in the Bar Dupont, it is certainly a unique experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

All the reviews sum up the experience. Best location in DC. We've stayed here several times. The bar and restaurant are a great scene and the outdoor area is great for morning coffee and nighttime cocktails. I have to agree about the absence of window shades, but if you're visiting DC why would you sleep late anyway I suppose!? Housekeeping was not stellar on this visit, the only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars. Will continue to stay here on visits.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ann9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Ann9876,

Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback.

The Bar Dupont and Cafe Dupont are certainly unique experiences, and we are happy that you enjoyed your time there.

We hope that you'll join us again whenever you visit the DC area or Dupont Circle. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We took our first vacation to Washington DC at the end of April and beginning of May. It is now one of our favorite cities due in great part to the Dupont Circle Hotel. The staff was so helpful. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. We asked for a higher level back room (we knew we wouldn't have a view) and we never heard a sound. The blinds were not a problem with room darkening. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. We loved the heated tile floors. I wasn't sure how the bathroom with all the glass would work out, but it was fine. It is in a great neighborhood, close to the Metro and great restaurants, etc. We will come back to DC and we will definitely stay at the DuPont Circle Hotel again.

Ray and Carla

Room Tip: Choose a high level room away from the elevator facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Carla H,

Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. DC is definitely a spectacular city!

We are pleased to hear that you got a restful sleep, our beds are quite wonderful! Please join us for a bite in the Cafe Dupont next time.

We look forward to your next visit to DC, and we hope to see you again soon at the Dupont Circle Hotel!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Loved the bathroom. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The bar was bustling on a Thursday night. Great for people watching! My only complaint, was that there was quite a bit of street noise--but this is a big city--so it's expected.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you for a fantastic review! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Dupont Circle Hotel!

We apologize for any noise issues you had during your stay. DC is a busy city, and we can sympathize with the inconveniences this may have caused you.

We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The DuPont Circle.
**Good:
->Location is super convenient. There are many (good) restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance. There is a CVS right around the corner that is open 24 hrs. A Starbucks across the street. The metro station is super close. The bar located in the hotel is pretty "happening".
Service was friendly and efficient, no complaints. Clean rooms, crisp white linens.
**Things I was not too crazy about:
-The bathroom's layout- the sink is open to the room, which means that noise can be easily heard from the bed (if you are drying your hair, whoever is watching TV or sleeping will be disturbed). Also, the door that separates the toilet from the bathroom is a frost glass door. This does not give you a lot of privacy. Basically, I turned on the TV every time I had to use the bathroom :)
-You can't store anything in the room's minibar. This may not matter to some, but I like to make others aware of this.

Overall, a great hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciganos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear ciganos,

Thank you for an excellent review! We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and attention to detail. It is pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Our bathrooms are certainly modern, and we apologize if they were not to your liking. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration!

We look forward to your next visit to the Dupont Circle area, and we hope to see you soon!
Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Doyle Collection, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing