We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy Hotel with Excellent Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy Hotel with Excellent Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Dupont Circle Hotel is very nice and recently renovated. The hotel and the rooms feel "classy" and if you can get a good deal on your stay it's definitely worth it. They have coffee/tea every morning in the lobby and their happy hour at Bar Dupont is excellent!!

My only complaint is the bathroom in the room, there is a good 2" gap along the side of the door so if someone is using the toilet you can basically see and hear everything! Be forewarned.

Room Tip: Interior rooms on a high floor are ideal because the Dupont Circle gets very loud on nights/weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GummyBeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear GummyBeanz,

Thank you for a great review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Our bathrooms are definitely modern, and we apologize if they were not to your liking. Thank you for stopping by the Bar Dupont, we think it is excellent as well!

Please join us again whenever you return to Dupont Circle! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,662
    860
    248
    94
    58
See reviews for
542
886
189
896
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Really good location – close to the Dupont Metro station (if you don’t feel like walking) but only about 10-15 minutes’ walk from the centre of everything (if you do feel like walking!). Our bedroom was on level 9 which was fabulous. We had a fantastic view over the city from our balcony. The weather was lovely when we were in DC, so we relaxed with a drink on the balcony every evening after our day’s sightseeing, before heading out again for the evening. The bedroom was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable with really good quality sheets. Great bath products. We ate breakfast in the hotel most mornings … good choice on the menu. Really great buzz in the bar, which seems to be incredibly popular – particularly on Friday night. All of the staff we met were friendly and warm and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome – particularly Cole and Niamh. In fact, everyone we met in DC was helpful and polite and very welcoming to tourists – which was really impressive.
Will definitely stay here again next time I am in DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SineadDublinIreland7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear SineadDublinIreland7,

Thank you for a fantastic review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to provide your feedback.

The Bar Dupont & Cafe Dupont are definitely unique and we are happy that you were able to try them out!

We hope that you'll join us whenever you visit the DC area, and we look forward to your return to Dupont Circle!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has just undergone a complete renovation and the rooms are very contemporary, with all the needs of today's traveler--whether on business or pleasure. It seems to be very popular with attorneys. Located right on Dupont Circle, the hotel has a very good restaurant and a very lively bar scene. Complimentary coffee and tea is served in the lobby each morning.
The beds and pillows are excellent as is the all marble bath. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and polite. The hotel provided umbrellas for us since it was raining and we were going out sightseeing. Don't miss "Kramerbooks and afterwords" (spelling not incorrect) just across the street. It is a bookstore, bar and restaurant with very good food and prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Jerry R,

Thank you for a great review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback.

Our location is definitely convenient, and it sounds like you were able to take advantage of it!

We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Dupont Circle Hotel!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our husband and I have stayed at the Dupont hotel many times. We always enjoy the staff and the convenience of the location. Level 9 has a private elevator, a wonderful living area with snacks and cocktail, great balcony views from our room - and you're in walking distance of everything! The food in the hotel restaurant isn't bad either - but pretty much what you'd expect. No surprises. The valet crew is wonderful and this hotel pretty much has everything you need whether it's a quick weekend get-a-way or for business. The best part though is location, location, location!

Room Tip: Request Level 9 service! You won't be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank See_Chris_jetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear See_Chris_jetset,
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are so thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Level 9 is definitely a highlight here at the Dupont Circle Hotel.

We love hearing that you took advantage of our location, and all that Dupont Circle has to offer. It is definitely easy to get places from our hotel.

We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to DC!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the guys at the front door who happily helped us with our luggage and my best mate even got a compliment for his shoes (which he still talks about :) ).

Front desk was professional and service minded and helped us to check-in quick.

Rooms were quiet small but cool stylish.

Toilets/bathrooms are a catastrophe when staying with friends. The glass doors shows everything and are not sound proof. Which in some cases is good. So that is one of the only negative things we have to say about this hotel.

In room amenities are great, the bathroom products were good quality, great TV, Free WiFi and really nice bedlinen.

Location is good and central, a little noisy from the street.

Tried a caesar salad from the room service menu and it was really really boring. Almost no parmesan, the salad felt not so fresh and yeah.. simply not a great one. Had a plate of fresh fruit and that was really yummy.

If I would visit Washington DC again I would definitely stay here... but maybe make sure to have the mates on a other room due to the strange toilet solution.

Check-out was good and the girl asked if we had enjoyed our stay and sure we had. =)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Stefan B,

Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We know our bathrooms are a bite unique, and we apologize if they were not to your liking. Our team will certainly be recognized for leaving a lasting impression on you! They are truly the heart and soul of the Dupont Circle Hotel.

We hope that you'll join us at the Bar Dupont next time for one of our signature cocktails!

We look forward to your return, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel, has been remodeled, rooms are comfortable and quiet. Love the heated bathroom floor. Staff is knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Restaurant food is great and other restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely come again ,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Mary M,

Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. The heated bathroom floors are spectacular, and we love hearing that you enjoyed them too!

Be sure to check out the local area attractions next time. We are very conveniently located to many things in the DC area!

We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to DC!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Wonderful, kind staff. Stayed for four nights in beautiful large, modern room with a view. Did not disappoint. Excellent food in hotel cafe as well. Ate there twice and and at bar several times. So many places to eat in the neighborhood within walking distance. Park across circle offered entertainment and space to walk among the tall shady trees. Travelled in the spring and the weather was beautiful. Nicest Taxi drivers on the entire East Coast!!!

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the "circle" are well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Katie S,

Thank you for a wonderful review! We are beyond happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our team is certainly one of a kind, and we are thrilled that they made such an impression on you.

We hope that you'll join us again at the Bar Dupont or Cafe Dupont to sample some of our wonderful menu!

We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon at the Dupont Circle Hotel!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Doyle Collection, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing