We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #41 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed three nights at Dopunt.
Pros:
Modern nice hotel centrally located in Dupont circle. The hotel is centrally located with a Metro station just around the corner. Nice rooms and good beds. Please note there is a lot of trafficnoise in the area. We upgraded to delux room to get a higher floor (7th floor) and had reduced noise.
Con::
It is not possible to open the windows. Our view from the room was straight into an office building so we need to keep the blinds down all the time. Breakfast varying from day to day from super the first day to lousy both food and service.on Saturday. Long queue for a breakfast table on Saturday morning (April 13). We had a 30 min wait for a table for two people even with had pre-paid breakfast voucher. Dont book rooms with breakfast for the weekends. It is bether to find a restaurant in the area.

Room Tip: HIgh floors and ask for room against the Starbuck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We sincerely apologize for any issues you encountered while at the Cafe Dupont. We will be sure to address these with our teams. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay however! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Dupont Circle Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    812
    234
    92
    55
See reviews for
473
829
181
827
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

From reading all the excellent reviews on this hotel, I was expecting a modern hotel with large rooms and outstanding service. I guess we all have our own criteria for defining what could be called the "modern" hotel. By my definition, The Dupont Circle Hotel is not the one. This hotel is in a building dated to mid of last century (narrow hallways, low ceiling, in-room a/c unit). They did do a bit of "modernizing", especially around the bathroom area, which is a bit strange. I agree with many people pointing to the privacy issues with the bathroom. The issue is not so much with a see-through glass wall, but with total lack of sound barrier between the toilet and sink areas.
Taking my unrealistic expectations aside, this is a good place to stay around the Dupont Circle area, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yanka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and time in DC. We hope that you'll return so we have the opportunity to exceed your expectations! We wish that you'll join us in the Cafe Dupont or maybe for a stay on Level 9. Please join us again soon, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I managed to snag a King room here at a bargain rate on Travelzoo, and it was even during the Cherry Blossom Parade weekend! The location is great, a block from the Metro stop, and in easy walking distance of lots of cafes. The hotel bar is very lively, even late into the night, so listening to the advice of other reviewers I asked for and received a room on a high floor (8th). It was quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom is small but very modern and clean. The heated tile floor made it a treat although I still don't really get the attraction of a shower with only half a wall to shield the rest of the room from the shower spray. Huge thick bath towels, nice amenities, an in-room safe and lots of electric outlets made the room luxurious and practical at the same time.
A side benefit: a new Reflexology massage place opened up the street, Comfy Feet, and it is clean, modern, lovely, and the $49/50 min foot massage was terrific!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. The hotel wraps around a corner so if your room is on the "inside&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our bathrooms are certainly unique, and the modern style isn't for everybody. We love hearing that you enjoyed the Bar Dupont as well as the hotel! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Dupont Circle Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Amazing and Outstanding are understatements for this hotel. We spent the weekend there and from beginning to end it was wonderful. From the check in, to the manager escort to our room, to the wine and appitizers in the lounge, room service, shoe polish, great view, wonderful guests.........ahhh a breath of fresh air. Well worth every cent!

Room Tip: Level 9 is a most!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mochabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in Dupont Circle. Level 9 is certainly spectacular, and we recommend it highly to all of our guests! We hope that you'll take advantage of what the Bar Dupont has to offer upon your next visit. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've stayed here three or four times over the past few years and it's a good, central business hotel. Restaurant has good food although pretty slow service in the evening. Coffee and muffins are free in the morning if you're in a rush. There's a lively bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your loyalty. We hope that you'll continue to choose us upon future visits to the Dupont Circle area, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

As this is the only hotel I will stay at while in DC, I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years. However, this last week long stay was by far my best experience. This is the only hotel I will ever stay at while in DC. I decided to pay a little extra to stay on the 9th floor at Level 9. The service was absolutely outstanding! Cole, the Guest Services Manager, made sure we were comfortable and our every need was taken care of. She remembered me by name, and went out of her way to help me with a previous billing question and followed-up with me daily until she received an answer.

During my stay I had gotten food poisoning from a DIFFERENT hotel where I was attending a conference. There is nothing worse than being that sick and away from the comforts of home. The staff went out of their way to take care of me. When I called room service I told them that I was ill and that I had a strange request, all I wanted was toast and crackers. A short while later when the staff 2 staff members, came to deliver my food I was overwhelmed by what they had for me...they brought fresh fruit and a tray with soup broth, crackers, toast and Ginger Ale. Then I could not believe my ears, they said that they just wanted to make sure that I was taken care and wanted to ensure I felt better AND there would not be a charge for the room service.

On the day I checked out of the hotel, my flight was oversold so I had another night that I needed to find a room for, so I went directly back to the DuPont Circle hotel only to find they were completely booked as it was Easter weekend. Once again, Cole went out of her way to help me, as she called another hotel to see if they had a room available.

The staff at this hotel goes above and beyond every chance they get to make you feel special and at home. Every person I came into contact with remembered me and most of the staff at the front desk actually remembered me by name.

Stay at this hotel if you are in DC you will not be sorry! The hotel is very clean, the location is wonderful and close to the Metro and the staff is amazing.

Can't wait to return in October!!!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to stay in one of the suites, the service and perks of Level 9 are well worth the mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 986HeatherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for your feedback. Cole and the rest of the team will surely be recognized for their efforts in assisting you. We are sorry that you were sick during your stay, and we are pleased that we were able to make you as comfortable as possible. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed as a solo business traveller for a conference at the beginning of April. While this hotel was 2 miles from the convention center, I chose it because I love the Dupont Circle area and wanted to be closer to the great restaurants and bars up there. Next time I would not stay at this particular hotel.
While it was modern, clean and nice, and has one of the hottest bars in the area (in more ways that one), I was disappointed with a few elements of my stay.
First, I requested a kind bed and got a double room. My request was made along with the reservation, and when I checked in (around 8pm), I didn't make mention of it. I got up to the room, called down to ask, and they had no kings available. It is not a problem, but there were approximately 6 inches between the bed and the corner of the wall where the closet was, so it was annoying to squeeze through (I'm thin, so if I'm squeezing, it's too tight!)
The room itself was nicely appointed and the bathroom was really great. The heated floor was absolutely amazing!
Unfortunately, I didn't get anything close to a good night's sleep here, and neither did my boss, who was also staying at this hotel.
1) I turned the room's AC unit down to 65 degrees. It was plenty loud at Hi and Low settings, though oddly quiet at Medium. It NEVER cooled the room down, but it sure sounded like it was working hard. I checked the temp of the room on the control panel and it said it was 72 degrees. Throughout my stay it was between 72 and 74 degrees.
Early my first morning there I spoke to the person at the front desk. He had someone take a look at it while I was at morning meetings. The person, Ernesto, left a card to say he was there, but did not indicate what he did or did not do to the unit. The situation was no different. I called down in the afternoon and they sent someone up who acted like he hadn't heard about the issue (a recurrent theme here). He pulled apart the entire wall covering the unit and did whatever he did to check it, deeming it ok (not really fixing anything from what I could tell) by showing me the thermometer reading right next to it was 62 degrees. He also blamed the sun coming in that side of the building at that time of day.
When I finally returned that night around 11pm after evening events, I was too tired to go through it again...the room was still 73 degrees. So I opened the bathroom window, which on the other side of the wall, and hoped for the best. Unfortunately this just meant I got to hear the trash trucks early the next morning.
2) I was given a room on the second floor facing the bar across the street. That I can deal with, but the window coverings were not enough to block the streetlights out--they were a wooden blind.
3) I had issues with both mornings' wake-up calls. The first morning, I needed a 5:45am wakeup call. It NEVER CAME. Fortunately, I had another alarm as a back-up. When I complained to the front desk person that I didn't get my wake-up call he said, "Oh no! I'm so sorry but I didn't know you needed one!" Um, how does he know whether or not I needed one if I hadn't even yet given him my name or my room number? Did he not do anyone's wake-up calls? Did he not have any? Did the person the night before forget to put it in the system?
The second day, I asked for a 6:45am wake-up call. I received that call. At 6:22. I would like a wake-up call that is at the time I request, not 23 minutes earlier!!
3) I felt the bed was very uncomfortable and seemed to have no support in it.
4) The ipod radio was nice to have, but I couldn't get the alarm clock to work on it, and I couldn't play my ipod because the speakers were blasted out and not working properly. I didn't complain about that because I didn't really need it. I never used the TV, but it was an LG flatscreen and was nice enough.
5) The gym was nice enough--new equipment, a decent variety of free weights, kettlebells. One bench, one nautilus machine, a couple ellipticals and treadmills. Awful lighting, but that is no big deal to me, as I could work out blindfolded.
Overall, I was disappointed in the hotel. I complained at checkout about all of these things and was offered 25% for a future stay. I don't have plans to visit DC anythime soon, but the front desk woman had nothing else she could offer me. I am going to send my list (above) to the hotel manager, as I do not think the front desk woman made any kind of official note of these issues.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suerocks27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenieces you encountered during your stay. We can assure you this is not the norm, and we would like the opportunity to make it up to you. We do hope that you have contacted the hotel manager, and if you haven't we encourage you to do so. We aim to provide the highest quality guest service to each and every one of our guests. We look forward to your return, and the chance to make up for your past experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#57 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing