We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has that I need”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #32 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It has that I need”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location. Excelent breakfast. Superb service. Excelent choice.
I had minor problem with the vathroom window. They fixed whithin an hour and offered to change rooms.
I sent several packages bought in Amazon. Efficiently delivered to my room

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR10vuelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Dupont Circle Hotel. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    873
    253
    95
    57
See reviews for
563
895
189
915
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for a whole week visiting the US for an international educational program in April 2012. The hotel was booked by the organizers and I can only comment them on that. In brief:
Location: EXCELLENT! The Dupont Circle is a safe, trendy, stylish, happy area, fool of young people relaxing in the park area or sitting in the many cafes, bars and restaurants all around. It is half way between the centre of Washington and the phantastic monuments and cultural opportunities this city has to offer, and Georgetown which is definitely worth a visit, all in walking distance. I was together with my wife and we had a great time exploring the city or eating and drinking something at our favourite spot, Circa, just aroung the corner from the hotel.
Brekfast: Fine. It wasn't the usual boring buffet style, but one ordered from the restaurant menu, which I found great.
Rooms: One should be warned. If you are not traveling alone, rooms present a serious problem, since bathrooms are open and one gets no privacy at all. However the hotel staff did everything to help me with this. I asked for a room with a bathroom door and was presented with three different choices, before I settled on one actually intended for the disabled. Other than that decoration is modern and pleasant, nothing to complain about.
Restaurant-Bar: The hotel is a magnet for the young and the trendy, so if you fancy a drink you are in the perfect place. However please note that it may get very noisy in your room, especially on Saturdays. This was my only major complaint in this hotel, thankfuly it lasted only for the first night.
Staff: Very well trained, nice and accommodating.
To sum things up: If only I could come back to Washington and this hotel for another week!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a door! And a quite one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeripateticJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It is our prerogative to provide quality guest service to each and every one of our guests. We hope that you'll join us again soon upon your next visit to DC, and we look forward to your return to the Dupont Circle Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first time in Washington and selected the Dupont Circle because it was reasonably central. We weren't disapointed with either Washington or the Hotel. Fabulous city and superb hotel. We stayed for four nights in one of the huge 9th Floor Suites with dual aspect room give excellent views over the north and east of the city.
One advantage of the 9th floor is that you have your own lounge area where drinks and canapes are served each day at 5pm...happy hour in the bar at 4pm and then free drinks in the 9th floor lounge at 5pm...not that the whole trip was eating and drinking :-)
The hotel staff could not do too much for us, starting with our check-in with Dayonna, our personal introduction to the 9th Floor and our room from Cole (Guest Relations Manager) and fabulous restaurant recommendations from Siobhan.
We are now just trying to find a date to back to see the cherry blossom in late spring - can't wait and hope we get our favourite room (913)
Fantastic :-)

Room Tip: Push the boat out and go for a 9th Floor room...see if you can get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan-and-doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We can assure you our team will be recognized for their efforts in assisting you. We hope that you'll join us in the Bar Dupont upon your return. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton NZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel is well appointed, comfortable beds, and very nice bathroom. Great position on the Circle and close to transport. DC has a great public transport system. Hotel was renovated recently with some nice touches. The biggest problem however is noise. Friday and Saturday nights are very noisy due to the hotel bar open until 2 or 3 and the outside patrons are loud to the extent that conversations are easily heard. Traffic noise also loud. I arrived late on Friday from a long flight and did not get to sleep until 4.00 am.
And then there was Saturday.
Would have thought with the millions spent renovating double glazing would have been installed.
Room was very small also with insufficient room between the bed and wall to wheel the suitcase.
However good popular bar and nice restaurant. So nice place to stay provided its not Friday or saturday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougalfreebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Dupont Circle Hotel is ideally located for anyone visiting DC. It is a block from the metro and has great restaurants within walking distance. The Cafe Dupont at the hotel serves wonderful food as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sratan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hotel is right on the north side of the DuPont Circle. Dayonna checked us in with thorough information yet quite efficient. She let us know that in room Coffee/Tea machine was upon request. And they will send it to the room. And we did get our coffee maker set within minutes and she even called to confirm that we got it. It was a very nice touch. They gave us a room with a nice layout which we liked very much. The room was modern, sleek and had many updated amenities like in room safe, minibar, a leather chaise to relax on. Two free bottles of water in room. Bathroom floor was heated even with temperature control that was awesome for the cold winter day. Shower head was very powerful but direction could not be adjusted. There’s a “Do Not Disturb” button on the wall, press the button, a red light next to your room number outside will be lighted that’s interesting and convenient. Even though our room was on 3rd floor but still very quiet since it was facing another wing of the building but we still can see outside Street and trees. A/C and heater worked really well and not noisy at all. White House is only 15 minutes away walking along Connecticut Ave south. There is a CVS right on the southwest side of DuPont Circle. Krispy cream and many bakeries are around the corner, Starbucks and many stores nearby on Connecticut Ave.
We took Red Line Metro from Union Station to DuPont Circle, 5 stops only cost $2.70 per person during off peak time/weekend and we liked DC’s Metro system already even though the tickets machine was kind of difficult for first time user, but a courteous Metro worker helped us getting the tickets right away. We didn’t bother to get the SmartTrip cards, which will save $1 dollar per trip per person, since we only need a few rides only.
This hotel is strongly recommended as a great base for tourists visiting beautiful DC area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HouAndLee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback... and your attention to detail! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Dupont Circle Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Friendly staff and very well appointed modernist rooms. Glass bathroom/loo doors ok for singleton stays or if you know your partner very well!! Bar area has a good atmosphere and good range of drinks and food. Breakfast is an a la carte affair with a good range of choices (quality food but not inexpensive) no breakfast buffet so leave time to dine in a leisurely fashion. Complementary wifi internet access is high speed and easy to use. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. The Bar Dupont is certainly unique, and a great atmosphere for guests and locals alike. We hope that you'll join us again, and we look forward to the opportunity to earn a full 5 stars from you next time! Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing