We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth of July”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Ranked #95 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fourth of July”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The price was right! We've stayed at another Courtyard Marriott previously, and also had a great experience. We arrived very early (our tour was cancelled), and were able to check in waay earlier than expected - which was greatly appreciated because we snuck a quick nap in. Our room had a view of the pool, and thankfully we could open a window for fresh air. The staff was extremely accommodating - the doorman who greeted us at the door was funny and made suggestions for where to visit, and the front desk receptionist called our room with ideas for places for lunch/dinner. The only thing that was frustrating was there's barely any street parking, so we valeted our car with the hotel (private service) for approx $35. Otherwise, we definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegaliciousJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donavon M, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Holiday Traveler,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay at our Courtyard Washington DC/Dupont Circle. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. I will personally share your positive comments with our team.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Our 147 spacious guestrooms & 1 suite are equipped with:
• Complimentary wi-fi internet access
• 32 inch LCD flat screen TV
• Mini-fridge, in-room safe & in-room coffee
• Spacious work desk with ergonomic chair

Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Donavon McDaniel
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Washington DC/Dupont Circle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    227
    85
    25
    10
See reviews for
107
95
45
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It is updated and has the usual amenities of the courtyard (smart board, the bistro dining, the free wifi) However, I found this location to not be up to my expectations as compared to other local courtyards in the city. The positive is that it is in the trendy DuPont Circle. However, it is about 5 long blocks uphill from DuPont circle. So where your walking shoes. The rooms are small the bathrooms are even smaller. There was no counter space. The bistro is only open till 7:00pm. So when I came down for dinner at 7:30 with several other weary business travelers, the bistro was closed. Apparently they shortened their serving hours in the summer. But the front desk did not inform anyone when they checked in. Many of us rushed to the front desk to review take out menus. Choices were limited. All they had was pizza delivery. They ran out of Chinese take out menus. So they gave me two restaurants in the area and I googled them and picked the one with the best rating. When the delivery arrived, again I followed other guests on the elevator to pick up their orders as well. Let me say this, this is an okay courtyard but there are several other better run courtyards in the DC area that come with the service and space that business travelers need. I would only recommend this place if you need to be in DuPont Circle or cannot get into some of the other locations. As a loyal business traveler, I hate it when a Courtyard disappoints me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimborkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donavon M, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay. I would like to sincerely apologize that our service did not meet you expectations. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we strive to ensure that each of our guest have flawless and memorable stay. I can assure you I will address all of the issues you mention directly with my team.

Should your travels bring you back to DC in the near future, I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you our best Marriott service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,

Donavon McDaniel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

An odd elevated front door leads to attentive service by all staff, clean, comfortable rooms, practical location, and great value! The pool area was clean and comfortable in the June heat. Would recommend for tourist and family travel though I observed many business guests so add business travel as well. Kudos to the front desk manager during the day - she was smart, knowledgeable and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueAgave42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donavon M, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay at our Courtyard Washington DC/Dupont Circle. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. I will personally share your positive comments with our team.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Our 147 spacious guestrooms & 1 suite are equipped with:
• Complimentary wi-fi internet access
• 32 inch LCD flat screen TV
• Mini-fridge, in-room safe & in-room coffee
• Spacious work desk with ergonomic chair

Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Donavon McDaniel
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Washington DC/Dupont Circle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a great hotel. Everything was lovely and clean. The rooms are very spacious. The food in the bar downstairs is great. Overall a very comfortable, pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone. The metr line is less than a 1/2 block away - it only takes 5 minutes to get to Union Station and then you can go anywhere from there.

The staff are friendly and very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donavon M, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Holiday Traveler,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay at our Courtyard Washington DC/Dupont Circle. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. I will personally share your positive comments with our team.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Our 147 spacious guestrooms & 1 suite are equipped with:
• Complimentary wi-fi internet access
• 32 inch LCD flat screen TV
• Mini-fridge, in-room safe & in-room coffee
• Spacious work desk with ergonomic chair

Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Donavon McDaniel
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Washington DC/Dupont Circle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
744 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We were able to book this hotel on Priceline at a discount. We found overnight parking on the street after looking for a while. Otherwise, be prepared to pay $30 to park at the hotel. Location is very convenient to Metro and bus to pretty much anywhere. Lots of dining in the area. The neighborhood is safe, being amongst the embassies. This is a good choice, especially if you can get a discount.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Location is off the beaten path in DC. It's a good 3 blocks from Dupont Circle Metro stop and its almost straight uphill, so keep that in mind if you are hauling bags. The neighborhood is cool, lots of small indie restaurants and a couple of book stores as well, which I appreciated. DC Metro is great way to get anywhere you need to go. All the major attractions are within a couple of stops and White House is 1.5 mi walk. Staff is helpful and friendly.

As for the room itself, it was small by my standards, but it was clean and comfortable which is all that I really need from a room when traveling on business. I did have an afternoon beverage and snack in the hotel, and while the service was slow, the food was adequate. Server was by himself and had a tough time keeping up, not his fault.

Would stay here again, particularly at the rate I had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mphopkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donavon M, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay at our Courtyard Washington DC/Dupont Circle. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. I apologize about your wait time in the Bistro. Thank you for making me aware. These types of comments assist us in improving our services.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.


Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Donavon McDaniel
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Washington DC/Dupont Circle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was a bit worried about the location of this hotel as I had intended to reserve a few and then cancel but inadvertently booked advance rate non-refundable!

I was pleasantly surprised - good location, close to metro and some fabulous restaurants in the local area.

When we got to a location we tend to do lots of walking - 20 mins to the White House with a stroller so not too bad.

Only slight criticisms would be the pool .... Freezing cold as outside! Beds were not the most comfortable but after that much walking I could have slept anywhere!

2 of the Big Bus tours (yellow and one other) go from opposite.

Would recommend!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donavon M, General Manager at Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay at our Courtyard Washington DC/Dupont Circle. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. I will personally share your positive comments with our team.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Sincerely,


Donavon McDaniel
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Washington DC/Dupont Circle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,714 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
659 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
2,469 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle

Property: Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Address: 1900 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle is ideally located in Northwest Washington, and a short walk to the Dupont Circle Metro. Whether you're staying for business or leisure, our hotel is equipped for everything you need for a relaxed and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Dc Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Northwest
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing