We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay... with the right expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue
Ranked #122 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed January 3, 2011

End of the quarter budget time and could not get to where I wanted to go with Priceline but instead found this hotel a few stops out of downtown on the Red line metro and I had a very good stay.

i usually do not stay out past the Woodley Park stop and this is at Van Ness which is a couple of stops past Woodley on the Red line but it was worth the extra 5 minutes. The price was very reasonable and was close to anything ($$) I could have gotten on Priceline ( w/o knowning which hotel I would get). It's a very safe neighborhood and the hotel is literally 2 blocks from the metro.

I had dinner(s) from the Giant Food store across from the metro and ate healthy all week. I did try the italian restaurant directly across the street and it was good/not great. I also ate lunch from the Potbelly Restaurant which is on the way to the metro and that was also basic but good.

Front desk was friendly and helpful when I checked in, free coffee and tea but no breakfast, Room was a bit on the small side but very nice and updated. I was on the backside and it was quiet all week. Shower was hot in the morning and heat worked great during the very cold week outside. Pillows were plentiful but way too small and I ended up waking every night w/ either a stack of them or laying my head directly on the mattress as they had slipped out. Lobby is very small w/ very limited seats but I did slip into one of the chairs one afternoon and drank tea while watching the news and it was comfortable. I did hear a couple of complaints about having to pay for parking but I am a public transportation guy. I also overheard the manager solve a parking problem for a road crew that had stopped overnight w/ a very large truck and she was very good laying out the solution to the problem and the crew walked away happy.

i did not pay much at all for a DC visit and for the $$, this hotel is a GREAT value and I will book it again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MysticKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We alwasy strive to be the best value hotel in the Washington, DC area. We look forward to you returning and being our guest again. Thank you for staying with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,584 - 1,590 of 1,901 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2011

I really appreciate this place with an amazing staff. The manager was very helpfull and all the people were cool.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaCet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Safe LOCATION, a quick 5-10 minute walk straight down the street to the red line Van ness station, a 15-20 minute metro ride to Metro Center. There is a McDonald's next door for breakfast. We ate at the Chinese restaurant down the street and the Pizza place diagonally across the street. Both restaurants were decent. There is a CVS, a market and liqour store within walking distance. Super Shuttle took us to the airport.
The ROOM'S were small but comfortable. There was a big flat screen TV. The rugs could have used a good vacuuming in the corners and the heater needed dusting. The bathroom was newly tiled and very clean. The matresses were brand new (no sign of bed bugs). We had a good nite's sleep in a quite room. There was an Avis rent a car behind us. For $90 this was a DC bargin. I was dissapointed that I was unable to print my boarding passes on their internet(3 terminals in lobby), and the front desk could not help me.
The STAFF was very nice. They let us leave our luggage there as we went sight seeing. Lost and Found mailed us our left behind cell phone charger. A great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

On behalf of management and staff I would like to thank you for your candid feedback and your business. We are pleased that our hotel was able to meet your needs during your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back as well as welcome those who you recomend in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

I've tried so hard, and finally found this hotel, close to van ness metro station, is great! for the price, clean, and nice people. Everything was ok with this. I absolutely recommend this hotel for vacation based on budget limitations.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludsamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011
Google Translation

Thank you for choosing the Days Inn Connecticut Ave. We appreciate your comments and look forwad to serving you again in the near future.
Gracias por elegir el Days Inn Connecticut Ave. Celebramos sus comentarios y esperamos poder asistirlos en el futuro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

The room was clean, not too bad, but a little on the small side. My problem is not with the room, but the fact that I was not aware that there was a fee to park. My boyfriend and I drove seperately since we were coming from 2 different directions, so we ended up paying $20 plus tax PER parking pass! So that total ended up being $44.80...half the cost of the room just to park our cars! What makes this worse is that it was totaled into the cost of the stay, but now the hotel is holding that $44.80 on my charge card. Not a good system, and should have on their website before making a reservation that there is a fee to park!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank one_singing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for any incovenience that our Parking policy my have caused. I am confident that our parking policy and fees are properly displayed on our websites however, I have instructed our marketing department to review other 3rd party sites that my have omited that information and to contact those site managers to update the policy if necessary. Our parking fees are compatible or below other's charges in the city. Please contact me directly as you plan any future visits to the Nation's capital and allow me to remedy any worng impression that you might have of us.
Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Clean, comfortable, convenient location. If this was badged as a luxury hotel you could pick some minor holes but I paid 79 dollars plus tax for a king room and it represented excellent value compared to what else seems to be available in DC.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkF1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Having read a couple of recent mixed reviews I was a little concerned about what I would find. HOWEVER, I was immediately reassured on check in, despite having been travelling for nearly 24 hours from England and low blood sugar! The room was fine, tidy and clean and the location is very good indeed for exploring from and gettng around. This is not a 5 star hotel but what you get is excellent value for money and I will not hesitate to book again when I next visit Washington.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICOLA091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Days Inn. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We will continue to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
211 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#130 of 141 in Washington DC
401 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#129 of 141 in Washington DC
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,058 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#132 of 141 in Washington DC
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue

Address: 4400 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $70 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Forest Hills area, our Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue hotel is an ideal choice when visiting the nation's capital. The nearest Metro Station is just 1.5 blocks away and Avis Budget Car Rental is onsite for your convenience. Sleep soundly in your comfortable room, complete with free WiFi, Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses, and 37-inch HDTVs. Indulge in a delicious meal at Tesoro Italian Restaurant, located onsite. We provide ChargePro EV charging stations for electric vehicles. Familiar landmarks, such as The White House, U.S. Capitol Building, Washington Monument, and the Lincoln, Jefferson, and Martin Luther King Jr. memorials, are just a short Metro ride away. Explore Smithsonian Institution museums, the Smithsonian National Zoo, Arlington National Cemetery, and Mount Vernon. Hit the links at Rock Creek Public Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Connecticut Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Connecticut Avenue Days Inn
Days Inn Washington Dc
Days Inn Connecticut Ave Washington Dc
Washington Dc Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing