We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your hotel filled all our requirements for our two day stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Ranked #116 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    610
    494
    202
    135
See reviews for
525
314
207
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I went to Washington, DC for business, but brought my wife, sister, and niece along for vacation too. I had called to book the hotel months before, wanting to stay from Monday night through Friday morning. When I called, they said they were booked Thursday night, but I went ahead and booked Monday through Wednesday nights and made plans to switch to another hotel for Thursday night. When I checked in Monday night, I asked if rooms were available Thursday night, and it turned out there were. We figured we'd have to move rooms within the hotel (they said they didn't have any two-double bed rooms left Thursday night), but that was better than moving to another hotel. When we checked Thursday morning, we found out that we would be able to keep both rooms and not have to move our stuff at all. The front desk staff was wonderful and accommodating, and went out of their way to make traveling with an eight-year-old as easy as possible. Many kudos to the front desk staff, who all deserve hefty raises.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center here, only a minor complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frazerdobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnConnAve, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Days Inn Washington DC-Connecticut Avenue. We are very happy that enjoyed your visit and our staff was able to meet your needs. We appreciate you sharing your comments and will continue to focus on making each and every guest experience a positive one. Thank you for staying with us, please visit again.


Peggy R Washington
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Days Inn Connecticut Avenue on two separate occasions over the past two weeks while I moved into a new apartment in the Van Ness area. I'm a recent graduate from Cornell University's School of Hotel Administration and a former intern at Wyndham Hotel Group, the franchisor of this hotel. Note that I said FRANCHISOR. This property, like all of the Wyndham Hotel Group properties, is franchised. Hence, you may have had a bad experience, or a really great experience, at a different Days Inn, but throw all of your preconceived notions out the window because each franchised property is different.

That being said, this hotel is either excellent or fair depending on who you are...

EXCELLENT: This hotel is an excellent value. We paid approximately $71 for two of the nights we've spent here, and about $125 another night. Needless to say, for a DC hotel, that's a phenomenal bargain. Don't care if you can walk to the White House? Don't mind a 15 or 20 minute metro ride to the attractions? You'll be impressed. The hotel is fairly clean, decently renovated, and two blocks to the metro. Though there is no free breakfast, there are a number of restaurants and a supermarket in the area. For someone moving into the Van Ness area, this was very convenient to my new apartment, and was a great base for our exploration of my new neighborhood.

FAIR: I tend to have decently high standards for hotels. There were a number of different things that bothered me throughout the property, in no particular order:
-No breakfast: The Daybreak Breakfast is available at participating Days Inns. This is one of the few that doesn't offer it. Not a huge loss, but it would have been appreciated.
-Small lobby: The lobby is basically a hallway. There is nowhere to sit or meet people. If you're like us and not spending a lot of time in the hotel, this isn't a huge inconvenience.
-Maintenance/cleanliness issues: Our first room (224) was in better condition than the second (418). In 224, we had a view of Connecticut Avenue; in 418 we had a view of another part of the building. The first room had a hair or two on the bed when we checked in. The second room had a warped bathroom door that didn't close completely. The second room was also incredibly humid and uncomfortable.
-No amenities: There is no fitness center or pool. Luckily, my new apartment building had that which I could use.

The rooms are fairly basic; you can tell the renovation used cheap materials. The rooms are small, but not that bad by DC standards. The beds are fine; the pillows are square and lumpy. The TV got great reception--many more channels than indicated in the directory. We slept well. The staff was all very friendly

Would I recommend the hotel to others? Yes, if you're traveling on a budget and want to be in DC. Yes, if you're looking to be up near the University of the District of Columbia, Howard Law, or the Van Ness neighborhood. If a friend was siteseeing, I'd probably suggest they stay near Dupont Circle or down by Capital Hill. It comes at a price, but there are better hotel options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great Location, just a block from the metro, pharmacy, local restaurants, rooms are modern and clean, nice bathroom, plus there is parking, just 10 minutes driving to the zoo, and 20 to the National Mall. Staff is very pleasant, friendly and knowledgable.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrtca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnConnAve, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank your for comments about the service and location at our hotel Days Inn Washington DC-Connecticut Avenue. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you returning and being our guest again. Thanks for staying with us


Peggy Washington
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#68 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#126 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#120 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Property: Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Address: 4400 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in town on business or pleasure, our Washington, DC hotel offers quality accommodations, generous amenities, an first class service just three miles form the heart of downtown DC, and just one block away from METRO accessibility. The Days Inn Washington DC-Connecticut Avenue is the perfect hotel to experience the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Connecticut Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Connecticut Avenue Days Inn
Days Inn Washington Dc
Days Inn Connecticut Ave Washington Dc
Washington Dc Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing