We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointed in Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Ranked #108 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    526
    399
    164
    110
See reviews for
425
277
167
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in at the Days Inn last week for a few nights. The rate was about $150/night, and even given its convenient location (a few blocks from a Red Line metro stop), I have to say it wasn't worth the money. As I've said in my other reviews, I'm a fairly low-maintenance hotel guest: as long as the hotel is relatively clean, quiet, and comfortable, I'll be happy, but this hotel fell short on two of those three factors (it was clean). When adding in the fact that the hotel does not include breakfast and doesn't have a gym (and unlike most hotels without a gym, the Days Inn hasn't made a deal with the Golds Gym next door, so visiting Golds costs $15/day), I can't see staying here a second time.

I will say that the front desk staff were helpful and polite, and did the best they could within the limitations of the hotel. But with that said, here were the issues:

1) Noise: the first room I was put into was a "connected room", meaning one of two rooms that are connected by a door but rented separately. Because they're connected, they're extremely close to each other, and when someone is in the bathroom of the other room, it's like they're standing right in your room; you can hear absolutely everything. In my case, the person next door had some sort of rattling cough, and I'll spare the details except to say it was nauseating to listen to. I finally asked for a room switch, which they were happy to do, and they put me into a non-connected room on another floor. The problem, though, was that this room was right next to the ice and soda machines. In every other hotel I've ever stayed in, such machines are in a little alcove (partially enclosed), but in this hotel they're right out in the hallway, and were about 1 foot from my front door. Whenever someone got ice, I knew it well, and then the machine would go through its ice-making stages in a pretty loud way. I would've asked to get switched again, except I was too tired to bother by this point, so I just turned up the A/C fan to try to drown out the sound.

2) The bed was, in a word, the most uncomfortable hotel bed I've slept on in a long time. It was rock hard, and the pillows were not only the cheap, squishy kind, but they were small squares about the size of your head. While they give you a bunch of the pillows, it's pretty hard for your head not to fall off of them and onto the mattress. I was pretty exhausted, but even so it was hard to sleep through the night.

As I mentioned above, when you factor in the lack of breakfast or a gym, $150/night is pretty hard to stomach with these kinds of limitations.

Room Tip: Avoid the connected rooms and any room near the ice/soda machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpollo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Days Inn. Please know that your feedback is extredmely valuable to us. We will continue to focus on improving our guest's experience and be the best value hotel in DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was at the end of our trip, so we were going short on money...
You should expect what you pay for. If you choose a cheap hotel, expect a cheap room, poorly cleaned and with bad smells. I think it was the worst hotel I ever stayed in, but again it depends on what you are used to...
If you have no choice, you have no choice, what else can you do?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elena a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, I noticed that your mentioned that your stay was in October and hopefullycommented on the wrong hotel.We have won the Chairman's Award quality by Days Inn Worldwide for 12 consecutive years and always get great scores on cleanliness as we could not find your record on our system, Please call us to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

the hotel is not very centric but in a very good position just 2min form subway, good price, nice room (rooms are grat), very clean, nice bathroom, always hot water, may towels a very good experience!
free wifi
frendly staff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valentinapapagni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We always strive to be the best walue hotel in the Nation's Capital. We look forward to you returning and being our guest again. Thank you for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#119 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#118 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Property: Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Address: 4400 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in town on business or pleasure, our Washington, DC hotel offers quality accommodations, generous amenities, an first class service just three miles form the heart of downtown DC, and just one block away from METRO accessibility. The Days Inn Washington DC-Connecticut Avenue is the perfect hotel to experience the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Connecticut Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Connecticut Avenue Days Inn
Days Inn Washington Dc
Days Inn Connecticut Ave Washington Dc
Washington Dc Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing