We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful personnel”
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capitol Hill Hotel
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel added to our positive experience we had in DC. Will definitely recommend. Especially friendly service of Jonathan who went the extra mile to allocate us with more suitable rooms and the service of baggage storage was a great help! Fabulous breakfast included.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BesterbierUysMostert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thanks for your review! I will pass your comments along to Jonathan, as I know he will appreciate the pat on the back. We hope to see you back on the Hill soon...thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have stayed at the Capitol HIll Hotel many times on our trips to DC. It is the only hotel in the Capitol Hill neighborhood and is very convenient. Easy walk to Eastern Market, Barracks Row and only 1 block from Metro Stop. Rooms have been remodeled recently; beds are very comfortable and room darkening shades work very well. I would like to see another lamp/light in the rooms. On our most recent stay, there was no lighting near the couch for nighttime reading. Overall, staying here gives one the feel of living in the neighborhood with easy access to DC attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymcgol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

It's great to see a review from a repeat guest, so thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts! You'll be happy to know that we are looking into some additional lighting in the rooms, based on feedback from you and other guests. On your next visit, things should be looking a little bit brighter!! ;) Bad jokes aside, our sincere thanks for the positive comments. See you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the Capitol Hill Hotel for 3 nights and LOVED our stay there! Staff was very accommodating, pleasant, and considerate! They gave personal attention to every detail of our stay. Very impressed! Loved the location...closest to Marine Barracks, walk to the Mall, museums, delis, restaurants, the White House, Capitol, Metro, etc.

We were so thankful to be given an early check-in after flying a "red-eye" flight to DC, and then were given a late check-out to accommodate our departure time. The hotel offers a nice business center where we printed our our boarding passes at no charge. Nice laundry facilities, work-out room, and Breakfast Room as well.

We enjoyed our large Queen Deluxe Suite which had modern decor, comfy beds, pillows and linens. It offered a full-size closet/dressing room and full kitchen. The bathroom was clean, nice and had a good shower head with plenty of hot water and pressure. Nice quality soaps/shampoos provided. Air Conditioner worked great and kept us very comfortable.

Downsides: The view outside of our window was the back of another building...not great, but we weren't there that much anyway. No table of any kind to sit and eat at, and no privacy curtains or room-darkening shades in our particular room, only a sheer Roman shade.

The complimentary breakfast was wonderful...a variety of fresh bagels, with lots of options to top it with....cream cheese, butter, peanut butter, jam or honey. You can also make a nice breakfast sandwich by putting sliced deli meats and real cheese slices on bagels or toast. They had 3 kinds of cereal, whole milk, OJ and Cranberry juice, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, and oatmeal packets. Just don't be late or some items are gone and they put the food away promptly!

You'll love this modern, restored hotel in the beautiful historic neighborhood which felt safe and clean. A+ for staff service! Thank you...we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you want more convenience for going to the breakfast room in the mornings, you may wish to reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janiemh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind, and detailed!, review! Great to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you'll be back. We'll be here! And you'll be happy to know that we've extended our breakfast hours to 10AM during the week to give our sleepier guests more time to take advantage of this amenity. We hope that's helpful, and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were in Boston for our daughter's graduation the week before our stay at the Capitol Hill Hotel. While in Boston, my husband had emergency surgery and was still recuperating when we arrived in DC. We were booked at the Capitol Hill Hotel for 4 nights; and, after we checked in and stepped in our room, it became obvious that it would be a challenge for my husband to rest since the room had a door that could be opened to the adjoining guest room whose occupants enjoyed lively conversations. I went downstairs and requested another room, and the gentleman at the front desk was very sweet, helpful, and accommodating. (I believe his name started with an H…maybe Hechmi?) With his help, we moved to a very quiet room on the 4th floor (417) with a very nice residential view.
Comments re: the room…the furniture in the room was clean and contemporary, but the room was painted in a cool, almost primer, white and illuminated with cool fluorescent lights, which made the room appear very sterile; however, the big picture window with sheer roman shades (and a separate blackout shade) and sunshine helped "warm" up the room. (The dresser was very new and still smelled of lacquer.) The room itself was large and could accommodate more furniture (had a Queen bed, desk/chair, upholstered high-back chair, dresser, end table). Since the room has a refrigerator, microwave, sink, and Keurig, it would have been nice to be able to sit down to a meal or a cup of coffee at a small dining table with chairs. Somewhere to set your plates or drinks other than your lap…even a coffee table would have been welcome.
We would not hesitate recommending the Capitol Hill Hotel based on service and accommodations, and we would definitely stay there again. The location was very convenient: close to the Metro,Washington Mall/museums, very nice restaurants and casual eateries.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PointsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

What a nice review, thank you so much! Congrats to your daughter on her recent graduation, and we hope that your husband has recuperated fully since his surgery. Hopefully the pair of you can return soon so that you can fully enjoy the sights of DC...and we'd be honored to be your home base on your return trip. :) Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at the Capitol Hill Hotel for two nights on business. The location was a huge plus as my appointments were on the Hill, which was literally a block away. Even I, who is not known for a sense of direction, easily navigated from the hotel to each appointment location.
Cudos to the staff as each and every person I came in contact with was pleasant, professional, and accommodating.
As for the hotel itself, you can see that there have been renovations. I admit that my room did not look anything like those in the photographs on their website, but it was an adequate size, the bed was very comfortable and it was wonderfully quiet. The bathroom is very small...well, tiny and would be a challenge for two people to get ready at the same time.
The price is reflective of the location of the hotel and not so much a luxury experience, but I would stay here again as I was really impressed by the customer service and location.

Room Tip: I was in Room 226, off the main corridor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

From one person with no sense of direction to another, thanks for the review!! :) I am the new General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, literally in my first week, and I have also enjoyed the walkability of the neighborhood...and haven't gotten lost once! It's great to hear that the team exceeded your expectation with the service they provided during your stay; that's just what we are supposed to do! We will look forward to your next visit. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised as we did just complete a renovation but are still putting some finishing touches on the rooms. We will be posting more room photos online as they become available so that you'll know just what to expect. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a really good hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Large modern rooms, everything works, clean, very good sleep, excellent service. It is located a block south of the Capitol Building - there is a good range of restaurants around the corner, one block to the Metro, 10 minutes walk to the Mall, 15 minutes walk to Union Station. It is also a quiet area compared to the hotel district north of the mall.

The rooms provide plates, bowls, cutlery, microwave, fridge. The free breakfasts are good, although the breakfast room is too small for the number of people. There is tea/coffee in the rooms as well as in the lobby - and they provide free wine during “happy hour” each day between 5 and 6pm - what a great idea!

Wifi is free but not secure. Overall, great value for one of the lower price hotels in DC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us...your review reads like an advertisement that we would write for ourselves! This is just how we want all of our guests to feel, and it means a lot coming from a seasoned traveler/reviewer like you. Thank you so much for the kind words, hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Tucked in the charming southeast Capitol Hill neighborhood, the Capitol Hill Hotel provides newly renovated modern suites ideal for vacation, business, or extended stay. The two young gentlemen who staffed the front desk, whose names I unfortunately cannot recall, were highly accommodating to our large family group. They efficiently granted our every request, especially in regard to assigning our rooms. Our suites were fresh, clean, and comfortably furnished; one of the suites with a separate bedroom was especially spacious. A continental breakfast included a nice variety of fresh fruit, breads, cereals, etc. - more than the usual. Plus, the location can't be beat for restaurants, government sites, St. Peter's Church, Capitol Hill parks, the Eastern market and metro - just perfect to enjoy some of the best of DC!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roctraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for the great review! I have just joined the team as the General Manager, so unfortunately I can't take credit for your good experience, but I can give you my sincerest thanks, and I will most definitely communicate your comments to the team! ;) We will see you on your next trip to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,326 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
711 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
543 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
388 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Hotel

Address: 200 C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $122 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish Hotel on the Hill: This boutique property is located in the heart of DC’s Historic Capitol Hill district. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol building and the only hotel “on the Hill.” Our hotel is one block to the metro, within walking distance to Union Station and provides a convenient location from which to tour the monuments and museums. As a member of the Independent Collection, our hotel embraces the vibrant and culturally rich neighborhood it inhabits. All guestrooms are suites, which are 50% larger versus typical hotel rooms and are equipped with spacious closets and kitchenettes (or fully-equipped kitchens.) Valet parking is available and pets are allowed with a one-time $75.00 cleaning fee. Complimentary breakfast is served daily from 6am to 10am Monday-Friday, and from 7am until 11am on weekends. WiFi is also complimentary. Enjoy our fitness center & complimentary bike rentals, and unwind with our daily wine-hour from 5-6pm Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capitol Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing