We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Capitol Hill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$323
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Omni Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$404
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$463
$389
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$365
$332
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,835)
Filter reviews
1,835 results
Traveler rating
1,132
532
105
41
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,132
532
105
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary of congresscapitol hillsupreme courteastern marketsecond buildinggreat locationmain buildingcatholic churchcontinental breakfastwithin walking distancenational mallsmall kitchenettemetro stopquiet neighborhoodyogurtpennsylvania avenuejunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,254 - 1,259 of 1,835 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I booked this hotel for a group of us who were traveling to DC for the Police Memorial Services. We were hosting an event next door at the American Legion Hall and this was the closest hotel to that venue. I am so happy I booked this wonderful facility! The staff were excellent throughout our stay. The lobby was comfortable and they always had fresh fruit-infused ice cold water and coffee and tea available. The rooms were great...clean, comfortable and updated. They have a small kitchen in each room which is great if you are travelling with children. The neighborhoods surrounding the hotel had plenty of places to grab a bite to eat and plenty of bars. The Metro is a block away and you are right next door to the Library of Congress and the Capitol. The workout center was clean and good sized. The breakfast was just right with plenty of fresh fruit available. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hate2Pay4Parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hello Hate2Pay4Parking,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting this awesome review. We appreciate your feedback and it's great to read that our location was convenient for you and that the room met your needs. But, it's always especially rewarding to share with the team the impact that they're genuine care has on the experiences of our guests. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Thought location would be the greatest asset of staying here, but the staff are really terrific, pleasant, helpful and seemed to love having us.
The suites are very roomy and clean, with plenty of bureaus for unpacking your belongings. Beds were large and very comfortable. Free wi-fi was an asset. Quality of toiletries was a bonus. Love having a refrigerator for leftovers or cooled beverages. The lounge area was nice to sit quietly to relax after being on your feet a lot. Thanks for the hot tea, and citrus-infused water while we unwound. Refreshing.
Pennsylvania Ave. for touring and eating was roughly a 5 min. walk. Capitol and Library of Congress were next door.
The residential nature of the block was also attractive. We enjoyed the architecture while heading out to sightsee.
Continental breakfast was expansive and high quality. Hard boiled eggs, hot/cold cereals, yogurt, fruits, toast, sweets, coffee/tea/ and juices. Staff were very attentive to newly vacated tables and keeping the food area full. Everyone we interfaced with was friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: (Above---No pool that we knew of) .One BR suites are huge!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slainte2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hello Slainte2,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting this fantastic review! It's great to see so many guests comment that our service is overshadowing our fantastic location. I'm really glad you enjoyed our breakfast. I playfully commented in a response to a precious that we have to figure out a way to make our continental breakfast service less popular. But, it continues to draw a crowd every day. It's a great feeling for us to help our guests jump start each day free of charge. Thanks again for the review. We truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

It's too hard to be less than fully enthusiastic, given the wonderful service, great and well-amenitied room, and spectacular location of the Capitol Hill Hotel. (Note, if you're car-bound, this may not be the hotel for you, for parking is sparce and DC parking monitors are notoriously tough).

We only booked one night, only a few day before your arrival. From arrival to departure, we were well-served by one of the best staffs on earth. Try it; you'll like it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingtoSiestaKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hello GoingtoSiestaKey,

Thank you for taking a moment to post this fantastic review! It's awesome to read that you loved your stay with us and that our team delivered such an amazing experience. We'd love to have you back when your travels bring you this way.

Thanks again,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My 90 year old mom wanted to fulfill her bucket list dream of visiting the WWII memorial in DC. I researched on tripadvisor, and ultimately chose this hotel in which to stay. When I made the reservations, I told the extremely competent reservation staff about my mom's special needs. They were ready for us when we came...providing a large accessible suite, close to the lobby and elevator, with grab bar in the tub/shower and a short tub rim to step over.The room was quiet and very clean, the staff incredibly helpful to me in opening doors and helping me to juggle luggage, and taxis instantly arrived when requested from the front desk. The hotel was excellently located, needing only a short taxi ride to all of the areas she wanted to visit. She was thrilled with the hotel; I was incredibly impressed with the friendliness and thoughtfulness of the staff; the breakfast was extensive and nicely presented; altogether, I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: If you choose a room with a fold-out sofa, just be aware that the fold-out is not padded and would suit a small/light person best. Otherwise can feel a bit hard and uncomfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hello C S,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us here on Tripadvisor. On behalf of everyone here at Capitol Hill Hotel we're honored to have been a part of your mother's trip to Washington. It's flattering to read that you chose us after researching other hotels in the area. We're incredibly proud that you're happy with that selection. We put a lot of thought and effort into creating comfortable experiences for our guests. So it's extremely gratifying for our team to hear that we were a part of special memories like the ones you and your mother will take with you. Thank you so much for sharing this great review with us.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Being tourists and visiting DC for the first time, we had a lovely experience at the hotel. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful and the rooms were also clean and spacious.The small kitchenette in the room was well stocked with the required utensils for a small meal in the room. The best part is the location of the hotel which is very close to all the major tourist sites, so it was very convenient. Check-in and check-out were also very smooth. All in all a great experience and definitely value for money. Strongly recommended by us...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uday2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hello Uday2612,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to post a review of your stay here on Tripadvisor. It's great to read that you had a lovely experience with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the kitchenette. We actually have tons of rooms with full kitchens, as well. I hope you enjoyed all of the "touristy" stuff in the neighborhood, as well. Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews