We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capitol Hill Hotel
Ranked #9 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Capitol Hill Hotel in Washington for two nights, from September 13 to 15. The location of the hotel is ideal. It is on a quiet, residential street but only a minute away from the National Mall. We recommend this wonderful hotel wholeheartedly. The suites are very large with well-appointed kitchens, ideal for longer stays or for families. The rooms were immaculate and well-maintained during our stay. The breakfast had lots of selection and our European visitors remarked on the excellence of the coffee. The staff are extraordinary. We were given excellent care by David and Hichem, both during check-in and during our stay. Everything from the valet parking to getting cabs went smoothly, thanks to their efficiency. We asked about jazz clubs and on their recommendation, we spent an evening at HR-57 at 1007 H St. NE and had a great time. We also spoke with a manager, Chris Newman, who was enthusiastic about the hotel and interested in our comments. The atmosphere at this hotel is everything one would wish for. Everyone was very professional and everyone went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Both rooms were beautiful and spacious with a small, well-appointed kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Hello Leon V,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting this outstanding review! It's really amazing to hear about folks on our team connecting with our guests in such a memorable way. Our guests genuinely look forward to seeing David and Hichem in the lobby in the evenings and so do I. And Chris brings a personality to the team like none other. Thanks again for the review. Come by again soon!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our overall opinion of the hotel will mirror much of what others stated. We wanted to celebrate our anniversary in DC, and the location is SUPERB, the accommodations were good and the staff was extremely helpful! Yes, the hotel is a bit out dated, but they explained they have plans to upgrade.

The hotel is charming. It appears as if it used to be an apt complex. Our suite was like a small apt, with 3 closets, which is unheard of. The bathroom is small but functional. The free breakfast available is very European with meats, cheeses, fruit and cold cereals. It was adequate. If you want something hot, you'll have to go down the street.

We did A LOT of walking. We walked to Union Station and the Capitol Building a few times while there. Its not for the faint of heart:). The location makes it perfect for Capitol Hill activities/touring. The location is great if you are doing research and sightseeing, as the Library of Congress is a block or two away. We walked/strolled from this hotel to the National Mall. Finally, after walking to the Washington Monument, my husband and I decided to rent bikes. GREAT DECISION! Not bad for people in their fifties, huh? :) We didn't want to give all of our $$$ to taxis.

Finding a DC hotel under $200 a night was quite unsettling. This was well over $200.

With a little TLC, this hotel has great potential!

Room Tip: Our suite was on 5th floor, away from noise. But Internet wasn't always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pricelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hello Pricelynn,

Thank you for staying with us and happy anniversary! We're honored to have been a part of your DC celebration. We appreciate you posting this fantastic review of your stay with us. I look forward to sharing it with our team.
We do, indeed, have plans to upgrade our rooms in a couple of months. We'd love to have you back next year to check out the new look. Thanks again for the review!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We loved this hotel! We were able to check in early and that helped our day run so much smoother! The staff were really friendly. There was a great complementary breakfast. Fruit flavored water, assortment of teas and coffee were available 24 hours in the lobby. Updated and clean rooms. About a block from the metro... We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniellebonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hello Dhamilton12,

Thank you for posting this great review! It's always "a treat" to read that our team is connecting with our guests and taking great care of them. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your early check in request and that you the coffee, tea, and water we offer as a complimentary amenity to our guests. Thanks again for the review. We hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is perfect for me when I visit family in DC. It is right in their Capitol Hill neighborhood. The staff is friendly and the included buffet breakfast is a great way to start the day. We book the Junior Suite so we can have two rooms. It is a comfortable place to stay. However, on my most recent trip, my room was very dark and turning on the few lights provided in the room did not help much because the bulbs were very dim. I appreciate they are trying to save energy. But there was no light provided above the kitchen/coffee pot area and no light at all next to the sofa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hello Michelle S,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review of your visit. It's great to read that the hotel is perfectly situated for your needs here in Washington. I'm terribly sorry about the lighting in the room you stayed in most recently. We'll figure out which room it was and get this all sorted out. I appreciate you letting us know about this. Thanks again for the review. We look forward to your next review.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a wonderful night in this beautiful hotel. It is clean, convenient, spacious, and the staff is very friendly, helpful, and competent. The location is perfect for sightseeing or business. We felt safe and secure. The ONLY drawback is the $44 parking fee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hello Joyce M,

Thank you for posting this great review! I'm really glad your stay was an enjoyable one. Parking rates in Washington have gotten to be pretty high in recent years. As noted, our current rate is $44 (tax inclusive), which is the best valet parking rate at any Capitol Hill area hotel. We pride ourselves on continuing to offer great value despite our outstanding location, service, and overall product. Thanks again for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here as part of a wedding block and were impressed by the location and value. One block from the metro and close to the Capitol, Eastern Market, National Mall and other great places to explore, this hotel is a great deal for the price. An older building, with updated furnishings and all the amenities you expect, each room has a slightly different layout and lots of character. We had a superior suite and it was huge, the size of a small apartment, including a kitchen, walk in closet, and gorgeous bathroom. It was perfect for our family of four.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippysloomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hello Trippyslooomis,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. It's great to hear that your family of four was comfortable at the hotel. I also love reading that our guests are getting out into our neighborhood and exploring the charm and uniqueness of Capitol Hill. It really can't be beat. Bring the family back for a little DC vacation sometime. We'd like that. Thanks again for the review.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed in the one bedroom suite and had tons of space. Loved the fact I had a fridge and microwave, which was very handy because the hotel doesn't serve any lunch or dinner. There is a coffee machine in the room with complimentary coffee and tea, you can also get cold water and coffee or tea for free in the lobby. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The location is perfect for a visit to all major attractions and memorials in DC. Only a few minutes walk away from the metro station, a 5 minute walk away from the Capitol and a 20 minute walk away from Union Station. Also this hotel doesn't charge for wireless unlike many other hotels. Breakfast is included and can be very busy but you can just stack up a plate and eat in your room or suite. Also has a free wine hour. I found all the staff really friendly and helpful and I definitively recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the hotel rooms but the suite has heating or AC, a microwave, a fridge, ironing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hello Marion G,

Thank you for posting this fantastic review! I'm glad you had a great experience with us. It sounds like the location, service, and amenities of the hotel were a great fit for your needs. We could not be more appreciative of your recommendation and your feedback. We'd love to have you back with us soon. Thanks again for the review!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
519 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 142 in Washington DC
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 142 in Washington DC
694 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,542 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Hotel

Address: 200 C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $117 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish Hotel on the Hill: This boutique property is located in the heart of DC’s Historic Capitol Hill district. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol building and the only hotel “on the Hill.” Our hotel is one block to the metro, within walking distance to Union Station and provides a convenient location from which to tour the monuments and museums. As a member of the Independent Collection, our hotel embraces the vibrant and culturally rich neighborhood it inhabits. All guestrooms are suites, which are 50% larger versus typical hotel rooms and are equipped with spacious closets and kitchenettes (or fully-equipped kitchens.) Valet parking is available and pets are allowed with a one-time $75.00 cleaning fee. Complimentary breakfast is served daily from 6am to 10am Monday-Friday, and from 7am until 11am on weekends. WiFi is also complimentary. Enjoy our fitness center & complimentary bike rentals, and unwind with our daily wine-hour from 5-6pm Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splitty, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing