We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capitol Hill Hotel
Ranked #9 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I wanted to have maximum time to do research at the Library of Congress and so staying across the street helped me do that. I planned my trip to be able to attend the 50th MLK Commemoration of the March on Washington. I got all I wanted to do accomplished but so much more. I love that city.

Room Tip: I don't know what all the room views in the hotel are. I was on first floor facing an alley and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reelmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello reelmind,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your experience with us! We love hearing that it was a great one. If you were able to squeeze in work at the Library of Congress and the 50th anniversary of The March on Washington it was a very productive visit. Well done! Thanks again for the review. We hope you come back soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently broke up our trip up from SC to NJ by staying at the Capitol Hill Hotel. I searched high and low (using mainly bringfido.com) to find a suitable property near the attractions that allowed pets. This was the winner, and we couldn't have been happier. No pet fee, and excellent location with many restaurants nearby as well as the major sights. The hotel is tastefully decorated. The AC worked great. There were some nice touches like a treasure chest in the lobby for the children. All staff were exceedingly helpful. There was even a small kitchenette/dining area which was a bonus. Beds very comfortable.

The breakfast was above par for a continental breakfast, but the room was far too small/crowded to accommodate all the guests that attempted to dine at the same time as us.

The only other negative is that our bathtub was in need of repairs as some of the finish had been removed and it was stained. This made the whole bathroom feel dirty even though it probably wasn't.

Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carebear2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello Carebear2000,

Let me start by saying "Carebear2000" is a pretty cool name. Thank you for this fantastic review here on Tripadvisor. It's great to read that you found us on Bringfido. It's also nice to see the number of hotels in Washington that are pet friendly. Hopefully more guests will start to post reviews there, as well. You had a ton of choices and it's great to be a part of the team that you picked. We appreciate you sharing your experience with fellow travelers. Please know that we've discovered the wear in some of the tubs and we're pulling together the repairs scheduled for later this year. Thanks again for the review. We hope you come back soon!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I never write reviews, but just had to step up and say how wonderful this hotel is. It's the pefect location for sightseeing, everything is in walking distance (or the metro is one block away), there are trendy restaurants nearby, the hotel is clean, staff is beyond friendly...I really can't say enough. Also, from reading other reviews I expected the breakfast room to be a small, cramped area. It's not! It's just very popular due to the fact that it's a comfortable place to eat a FREE breakfast, with fresh food and drinks, before you head out for the day. In short, this will be our go-to place whenever visiting DC. We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello Heather M,

We're honored to be the inspiration behind your first Tripadvisor review! I agree that our location is pretty awesome and it's always great to read that our guests are being treated well by our team. I especially love your comment about our continental breakfast service. At hotels across this fine city there are guests paying upwards of $20 for a comparable hotel continental breakfast experience. We'd much rather see you spend that $20 on a t shirt with a picture of the Washington Monument on it or, even better, thoughtfully stopping at the airport gift shop to pick up a couple key chains for your favorite colleagues. Honestly, I'm not here to tell you how to spend your money. I'm just saying there are better things to do with $20 in our nation's capital than spend it on continental breakfast.

Glad to be your new go-to hotel,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent a week in this hotel while my husband was working in the Library of Congress (which is just crossing the street). It was a perfect stay for us. The room was very spacious, clean and new. Staff was very nice and always trying to go the extra mile. We used the guest laundry and the business center and both worked great. We loved to have fresh water, coffee and tea in the lobby. In the room there´s a sitting area, a working desk and a small kitchen with fridge and a microwave.
My only negatives points were not important in our stay: breakfast room was crowded at certain time during the weekend, I missed to be able to open the window, and the bathroom is a little small in comparison with the room.
The area is full of restaurants and cafes, so it was very easy to find a place to eat. A metro station is just one block from the hotel, but you can also walk to many places if you´re a good walker.
Great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dania15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hello Dania15,

Thank you for posting this review! It's great to read that you and your husband had a "perfect stay" with us. I'm glad you were able to truly experience Capitol Hill. We have a great partnership with The Library of Congress. But, our team works extremely hard to provide great memories for each of our guests every day. I look forward to sharing your feedback with them. Thanks again for the review. Come back soon!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend while in town for an engagement party. It was very convenient, location wise. Walking distance to my sister-in-law's place, and walking distance to lots of restaurants and the big DC attractions. The hotel was clean and the room was very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised that the room had a refrigerator and a microwave. The breakfast area, as noted in other reviews, is kind of small, but when we found it too busy we just took our food back upstairs and had a quiet breakfast in our room. As we have family in the area we will definitely be staying here again.


Side note: When we first walked in, I was reminded of the SLS Beverly Hills and the Hudson Hotel in NYC. This hotel looks just as nice, but is nowhere near as pretentious. So if you are looking for an upscale experience without the "attitude", I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemonster128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hello katemonster128,

Thank you for posing this great review of your stay with us. It's great to know that you've found your home away from home here at Capitol Hill Hotel. I love the note about the hotel having all of the style without the pretentious attitude. That is exactly the way we see ourselves. It's great to read that this vision has resonated with you. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

For our large group it was a nice place to stay. The closets where huge and we used as a dressing room! But the bathroom is small. But very clean. We walked to everything from this location. There was a Metra a block away if we would have wanted to use it. The breakfast is standard, but free so no complaining here! The reastraunt in the area where great for our family, pizza and burgers. We would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5WIRams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hello Helen C,

Thank you for posting this review! It's great to read that you and your family had a great visit and enjoyed your stay on The Hill. I particularly love reading that our team went out of their way to ensure that you were well taken care of. We truly appreciate the feedback and hope you return soon.

Thanks again,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here as a family, the hotel is in a great location. We felt safe waking around with our children in the neighbourhood. The staff go out of their way to help, especially Candandice and Coric. The rooms are large and comfortable, breakfast is good. Definitely worth booking a room, if you want to be in the middle of the sights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hello Helen C,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your stay with us! We appreciate the great feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our complimentary continental breakfast service is wildly popular and Candiance and Corric do a fantastic job of taking care of our guests! I can't wait to share your compliments with them. Thanks again for the review and we hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
519 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#17 of 142 in Washington DC
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 142 in Washington DC
695 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,542 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Hotel

Address: 200 C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $123 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish Hotel on the Hill: This boutique property is located in the heart of DC’s Historic Capitol Hill district. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol building and the only hotel “on the Hill.” Our hotel is one block to the metro, within walking distance to Union Station and provides a convenient location from which to tour the monuments and museums. As a member of the Independent Collection, our hotel embraces the vibrant and culturally rich neighborhood it inhabits. All guestrooms are suites, which are 50% larger versus typical hotel rooms and are equipped with spacious closets and kitchenettes (or fully-equipped kitchens.) Valet parking is available and pets are allowed with a one-time $75.00 cleaning fee. Complimentary breakfast is served daily from 6am to 10am Monday-Friday, and from 7am until 11am on weekends. WiFi is also complimentary. Enjoy our fitness center & complimentary bike rentals, and unwind with our daily wine-hour from 5-6pm Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing