We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Capitol Hill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$323
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$404
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$463
$389
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$365
$332
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,835)
Filter reviews
1,835 results
Traveler rating
1,132
532
105
41
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,132
532
105
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary of congresscapitol hillsupreme courteastern marketsecond buildinggreat locationmain buildingcatholic churchcontinental breakfastwithin walking distancenational mallsmall kitchenettemetro stopquiet neighborhoodyogurtpennsylvania avenuejunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,358 - 1,363 of 1,835 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently had a one night stay in this hotel as a stop gap between New York and Virginia. We were looked after from the second we pulled up outside the hotel until we left. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was continental but plenty of it, our 3 boys all found something they liked to eat. We were able to keep our bags and car at the hotel until we came back to collect them on the afternoon we checked out which helped us a great deal.

The only downside, we wished we'd had time for an extra night at the hotel and to see the sights of DC. Would recommend the hotel and DC to anyone who would want to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hello Elaine R!

Thank you for staying with us and for posting this fantastic review! It's great to read that you enjoyed your evening with us and that your sons enjoyed our continental breakfast service. I hope you and the family had a great road trip! The great thing about leaving with a feeling that you wish you could stay is that you can always come back. We'd love to have you.

Thanks again for the review.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Not too bad until we discovered car damage clearly caused by the valet parking, which the hotel denied and even created clearly false "evidence" not signed even by their staff. Had we seen their valet "parking lot" we would never have let them have the car, it's that obviously bad. Needless to say, we'll never stay here again, and I'd certainly advise YOU not to stay here if you have a vechicle with you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Hello William E,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us and fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor. This was a tough situation for us. We always aspire to put a smile on the face of each guest at the hotel and we will take responsibility wherever we fall short. In this case, we were unable to accept responsibility for the damage mentioned in your review because it was noted that this damage was present on the ticket completed upon arrival. To be completely honest, if we found that we damaged the vehicle of one of our guests, I'd much rather write a check get it fixed for them immediately than write a response on Tripadvisor explaining why we aren't able to do so. In the end, we want every guest to walk away happy and come back eagerly. When that's not the case, regardless of the reason, we take a detailed look at what went wrong and make adjustments moving forward. Thank you again for posting this review. I'm available at any time if I can be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just read a review from France saying receptionists were unfriendly!! I was going to start with very personable service, the staff remembered where you were going and what you were doing that day, loved the hotel, my only slight complaint would be that the bathroom was on the small side but the living area was a good size, pleny of storage space and in room safe which was the 1st on this trip. The breakfast area was very nice and a good choice of continental breakfast. We weren't told about the wone hour from 5-6 on check in but managed to enjoy it on the 2nd day. A great hotlel, have taken details of other venues for future trips, would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillS98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hello GillS98,

Thank you for taking a moment to post this great review! I'm glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and wine reception. It's even more gratifying to read that you were well taken care of by our team. We aspire to create a memorable experience for each of our guests-an experience that taps into the best that our neighborhood and our nation's capital has to offer. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Capitol Hill Hotel is newly renovated and very nice. The rooms are all suites, and they seem to have every amenity you could want--large tv, comfortable chairs, excellent firm bed, coffee maker, big bathroom. There is an afternoon wine reception in a very attractive room off the main lobby. The wines weren't show-stoppers, but they were very drinkable. Similarly, breakfast, included with the room, was better than many hotels. The hotel is often (in our experience) quite pricey, but we got a room for well under $200. It's all very seasonal in DC. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to be on Capitol Hill--just about one block from the Capitol South Metro stop, one block from the Pennsylvania Ave business district, and a short walk to the delights of Eastern Market.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoBeRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hello SoBeRetired,

Thank you for this outstanding review! It's great to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and that we were able to offer everything you needed throughout your visit. The piece of advice about our rates is a great one. Capitol Hill is typically an area that is in high demand. But, there are often great special offers available on our website and it sounds like you were able to capital-ize (cheap pun) on of them. Either way, we're always the best value on The Hill and we're coming with fun new value adds and service touches all the time. Thanks again for the review. Come back soon!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with family. Hotel is a 10 minute cab ride away from Logan airport very near to the Capitol. It's located in a quiet, historic residential neighborhood and there are several dining options a short walk away. The nearest Metro station is Capitol South around a 5-min walk away. This is 3 stops away from the Smithsonian station at the National Mall.

The hotel seems to have been recently renovated and offers free gym use and free use of the business center. There's also laundry machines on the hotel premises. The breakfast offers a decent variety of food options as well. There is also complimentary fruit-infused water (tasted great!!!) and coffee available at the ground floor. Rooms are huge and come with a kitchenette and small dining table. The staff were excellent too. The only negative comment would be the elevator. It was old and slow.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. It has a great location from where it is easy to explore the many sights along the nearby National Mall plus you have several decent options for dinner nearby.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Daniel_MNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello Daniel_MNL,

Thank you for the outstanding review! I couldn't have said it better myself (except the part about the elevators, I would have left that out). The great news is that we're planning an upgrade to them later this year. They'll match the rest of the newly renovated hotel. I'd be happy to send you some photos when they're done or even better you can come back and enjoy them first hand. I'm glad you enjoyed the fruit-infused water. We're going to add some more "cool" touches to the lobby this summer to help folks beat the heat. Thanks again for the fantastic review. I can't wait to share it with the team.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews