We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location! Excellent Staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capitol Hill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Excellent location! Excellent Staff!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I feel like I uncovered one of DC's best kept secrets! I'm a former local and not a huge fan of boutique hotels so I wasn't sure what to expect. The location is absolutely perfect- one block from the Metro and waking distance from a bunch of restaurants and bars. I was also pleasantly surprised by the many amenities. As a consultant, its all about the bottom line with me. The complimentary breakfast (daily) and wine hour during the week were great. The free WI-fI was super cool and rare these days. The room was also clean with a lovely kitchenette and sitting area. Great decor!

A final word about the staff- wonderful! Friendly and informative. I will definitely stay again! - Tyson

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TysonAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello TysonAB,

Thank you for posting this fantastic review of your experience with us! It's great to read that you loved the location and that you were well taken care of by our team. I agree that the complimentary continental breakfast is a great added bonus. Thanks again for recommending us to fellow travelers and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    443
    81
    32
    23
See reviews for
430
401
63
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle england
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrived after a very long journey with a long transfer and delay at Newark. Check in was was very quick and efficient.
However, on entering the small lift we didn't think it looked too clean. The corridor to our room was dark and dingy and the doors we passed had dirty scuff marks on them - definitely looked as if they could benefit from a "lick" of paint! We were beginning to wonder if we had made a very good choice.
After a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed we saw the hotel in a very different light. Our one bedroom suite was large, comfortable and very clean - some of the furniture looked as if it was brand new. We had a LOT of luggage and really appreciated the huge wardrobes to hide our things away!
The staff were always very pleasant and helpful and had infinite patience when we were having problems accessing the Internet.
Loved the lounge area adjoining reception with its comfortable seating and hot and cold drinks always available.
Breakfast was in the building next door - not a problem, just a step away. Whilst it could get very busy and the choice not enormous it was perfectly adequate. Having breakfast included in the room rate was a big bonus.
The location could not have been better - very quiet and attractive. All major sightseeing attractions were in walking distance, and a good selection of restraunts nearby. We booked a visit of the Capitol Building before we went and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Our onward flight was an early morning one from Dulles so we had an airport hotel booked for the night. We knew this would be impossible by local transport so spoke to reception. Not a problem for them - they organised a car for us. What a car it was! Lovely comfortable limo with a real gentleman for a driver. We agreed a fixed fare which I am quite sure was less than we would have paid for a taxi especially as the hotel was a fair way past the airport. Fantastic service!
Overall we had a VERY enjoyable stay at the Capitol Hill and if we should ever return to this very impressive city would look no further for a hotel.
What a shame Trip Advisor does not allow for a four and a half star review. However I could not give five stars because of the lift and corridor issues. It is only these areas that need a little "sprucing up" to make it very nearly perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneNewcastleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello anneNewcastleEngland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Captol Hill Hotel with fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the great things you said about us and we're glad to read that you'll be returning on your next trip to Washington, DC. While you're away, we'll have a look at those corridors. They'll be immaculate when you return.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family of 5 stayed here for spring vacation.
Great hotel, very comfortable.
Location was A+
1 block to the Metro
Across the street from the Capitol
great breakfast every morning
lots of restaurants in walking distance
pizza place the best!!
bike share station 1 block away

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Holly!

Thank you for this great review. We love that you took a moment to share your experience with us and fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor. We think our hotel and our neighborhood are gems that amazingly a lot of people still have yet to discover. Although The Capitol is pretty amazing, there's way more than Congress on Capitol Hill. I hope you make it back this summer. We'll be doing some pretty cool things.

Thanks again for the review.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family and I spent 5 nights at this hotel in April. The hotel is superbly located just a couple blocks from the Capitol and Library of Congress in a quiet residential neighborhood. Despite being in a residential neighborhood there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Also, a metro stop is just a block away and the Eastern Market farmers market is a short walking distance away. Since we had a kitchen in our room, to take a break from eating out we were able to prepare fresh food bought at the market. We had a junior suite with a double bed and sofa bed which was comfortable for our family of 4. Wifi is included in the daily rate and the signal was strong - no problems. The hotel is clean and well taken care of. Overall we liked the hotel very much and would stay there again. My only complant, and the reason for not giving a 5 star rating, is that the front desk staff were unfriendly - professional, but cold. The rest of the staff we met were fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TitoDulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello TitoDulce!

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us and with fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor. I commend you for carving out time between enjoying The Hill and the rest of Washington to take in the charm of Eastern Market. Few areas in the city can boast such a unique blend of classic Washington ambience and easy access to the heart of the city. On top of that we're in a tree-lined neighborhood just steps from The National Mall. I was disappointed to read that we were cold in our service delivery. I'd love to find out more about that. If you have a moment, please reach out to me at any time. Thanks again for the review and we hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
202.448.2080
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed there this last weekened. We really enjoyed the hotel and the location. We were close to the Capitol, Union Station, Monuments, and the Nationals. It was ideal for what all we planned to do. Our trip included a Nationals game, pub tour, Capitol tour, and just some other sightseeing. This hotel provided the perfect location to do all of that. We were able to easily get to and from all these locations and stop back by the hotel easily. The hotel was overall very nice and the staff was friendly. We didn't really do much there except sleep, so I can't comment on much outside of the room being nice and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello Douglas W,

Thank you for posting this awesome review. We appreciate you sharing your experience with fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor. It sounds like you got a lot done on your trip. Trust me there's plenty more to see. We hope you make it back this summer and get a chance to really experience everything that we have to offer.

Thanks again for the review.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This quiet property is perfectly situated for tourists looking for a quiet room and calm, efficient staff. Our Junior Suite was roomy, with a comfortable bed and plenty of "lux" extra touches (terry robes, mini-fridge, CD player/clock radio, etc.). It was great to be so close to a Metro subway stop and within easy walking distance to the Capitol, plus we snagged a killer room rate through Kayak. This one is definitely worth considering, folks!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra time on the Internet - the room rate definitely varies based on whichever trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello Rick S,

Thank you for the splendid review and encouraging other people to give us a try! I'm glad you were able to find a great deal. Come back to visit us again soon. There will be some really exciting deals on our website in the next few months.

Thanks again,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you're headed to D.C. for sightseeing on the Mall, I can't imagine a better hotel. It's a block from the eastern end of the Mall, and about that far from a Metro stop. It's easy getting here on the Metro from Reagan National Airport. Plus, you can walk to the National Gallery in about 20 minutes, or to the Library of Congress in about 5 minutes. Despite being so close to the mall, the hotel is very close to quite a few restaurants. The hotel offers a huge "continental" breakfast that includes yogurts, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels and cream cheese, etc. Staff are friendly, and storing luggage either before you check in or after you check out is no problem. Rooms aren't huge, but they're comfortable, and we found our room to be very quiet, even though we were there on a weekend. (Rates tends to be much, much higher during the week than on weekends.) This was our second time staying in the hotel, about five years after the first time, and we'll stay here the next time we go to D.C.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello JMAChicago,

Thank you for posting this fantastic review! I'm glad you loved our location. It really is great to be so close to so much. I've just recently joined the team here and, even as a native Washingtonian, I love to explore the neighborhood every chance I get. I hope to have you with us again soon!

Thanks again for the review.

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
201 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
2,404 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
6,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#31 of 140 in Washington DC
727 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Hotel

Property: Capitol Hill Hotel
Address: 200 C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish Hotel on the HillThis boutique lifestyle property is located in the heart of DC’s Historic Capitol Hill district. Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. has just completed a renovation, marked by a more upscale, federalist chic design. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol building and the only hotel “on the Hill.” Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. is one block to the metro, within walking distance to Union Station and provides a convenient location from which to tour the monuments and museums. As a member of the Independent Collection, Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. embraces the vibrant and culturally rich neighborhood it inhabits. Great restaurants, shops and sights abound! Large Guest rooms, spacious closets and kitchensAll guestrooms are suites, which are 50% larger versus typical hotel rooms and are equipped with spacious closets and kitchenettes (or fully-equipped kitchens.) Valet parking is available and pets are allowed with a one-time $75.00 cleaning fee. Complimentary breakfast and WifiComplimentary breakfast is served daily from 7 am and 9 am Monday to Friday, and from 7 am until 10 am on weekends. Wireless Internet is also complimentary in guestrooms and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing