We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Capitol Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Capitol Skyline Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton George Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,811)
Filter reviews
1,811 results
Traveler rating
1,116
527
102
41
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,116
527
102
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary of congresscapitol hillsupreme courteastern marketsecond buildinggreat locationmain buildingcatholic churchcontinental breakfastwithin walking distancenational mallsmall kitchenettemetro stopquiet neighborhoodyogurtpennsylvania avenuejunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,352 - 1,357 of 1,811 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed there this last weekened. We really enjoyed the hotel and the location. We were close to the Capitol, Union Station, Monuments, and the Nationals. It was ideal for what all we planned to do. Our trip included a Nationals game, pub tour, Capitol tour, and just some other sightseeing. This hotel provided the perfect location to do all of that. We were able to easily get to and from all these locations and stop back by the hotel easily. The hotel was overall very nice and the staff was friendly. We didn't really do much there except sleep, so I can't comment on much outside of the room being nice and convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hello Douglas W,

Thank you for posting this awesome review. We appreciate you sharing your experience with fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor. It sounds like you got a lot done on your trip. Trust me there's plenty more to see. We hope you make it back this summer and get a chance to really experience everything that we have to offer.

Thanks again for the review.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This quiet property is perfectly situated for tourists looking for a quiet room and calm, efficient staff. Our Junior Suite was roomy, with a comfortable bed and plenty of "lux" extra touches (terry robes, mini-fridge, CD player/clock radio, etc.). It was great to be so close to a Metro subway stop and within easy walking distance to the Capitol, plus we snagged a killer room rate through Kayak. This one is definitely worth considering, folks!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra time on the Internet - the room rate definitely varies based on whichever travel site you choose.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hello Rick S,

Thank you for the splendid review and encouraging other people to give us a try! I'm glad you were able to find a great deal. Come back to visit us again soon. There will be some really exciting deals on our website in the next few months.

Thanks again,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you're headed to D.C. for sightseeing on the Mall, I can't imagine a better hotel. It's a block from the eastern end of the Mall, and about that far from a Metro stop. It's easy getting here on the Metro from Reagan National Airport. Plus, you can walk to the National Gallery in about 20 minutes, or to the Library of Congress in about 5 minutes. Despite being so close to the mall, the hotel is very close to quite a few restaurants. The hotel offers a huge "continental" breakfast that includes yogurts, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels and cream cheese, etc. Staff are friendly, and storing luggage either before you check in or after you check out is no problem. Rooms aren't huge, but they're comfortable, and we found our room to be very quiet, even though we were there on a weekend. (Rates tends to be much, much higher during the week than on weekends.) This was our second time staying in the hotel, about five years after the first time, and we'll stay here the next time we go to D.C.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Hello JMAChicago,

Thank you for posting this fantastic review! I'm glad you loved our location. It really is great to be so close to so much. I've just recently joined the team here and, even as a native Washingtonian, I love to explore the neighborhood every chance I get. I hope to have you with us again soon!

Thanks again for the review.

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed five nights at the Capitol Hill Hotel. The Hotel is 6 blocks from Union Station, a few minutes walk from the National Mall, and a block from cafes, bottle stores, and pubs. We went to Dupont Circle for dinner one night which was a $14 cab fare + tip.

On arrival, reception staff were very nice and helpful. At checkin we were offered the choice of a room with twin queen beds, or a kingsize bed in a suite. We opted for the latter. The hotel is comprised of two buildings. Our room was no. 128, which was located on the first floor of the corner building. We had windows on three sides of the suite, one side overlooked a grassed area, and the other two looked onto lane ways. The ample - sheer, and block out - drapes, provided as much, or as little, privacy as desired. Traffic in the lanes could be heard at times, but it was not unbearable.

The suite was pleasantly decorated in varied patterns which worked well together. The kitchenette had a coffee maker, cutlery, crockery, microwave, sink and a fridge. There was a television in the bedroom and the living area. The bathroom was compact, and very clean. Three sets of white fluffy towels were provided.

The bed was FABULOUS. We both agree that this was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in :) Loved the feather duvet and pillows.

I would describe the lighting as "mood lighting". We were ok with the lighting, however I could see that some might find it frustrating. There were two wardrobes, one of which was in a dark corner, which made it little difficult to see inside. The other robe was large and well lit, and housed an iron and ironing board, bathrobes, and laundry bag.

Breakfast was included in the tariff and this was served in the other building. The variety of items offered for breakfast was very good.

Wi fi was also included in the tariff.

The hotel has a gym, business centre, laundry, and lounge areas where tea and coffee were available. Reception has a small "market" where you can buy laundry powder, cool drinks, biscuits, etc. The hotel were very helpful with change for the washer and dryer.

We liked this hotel because of its proximity to the National Mall, it was in a pleasant neighbourhood, and its boutique size/style. Perfection is hard to find. Overall, we found this accommodation to be very good and we would definitely stay here on another occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeddy-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hello Zeddy-boo!

Thanks so much for posting this fantastic review! I especially appreciate the level of detail and the amount of information you shared with fellow travelers. I love being so close to The National Mall and it's great to read that our team took great care of you during your stay. Come back to visit The Hill again soon!

Thanks again,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

There were some things we liked about this hotel: roomy rooms with a couch, coffee table, kitchenette. 1 1/2 blocks to orange/blue Metro line. Decent breakfast. Beds way too squishy -- no support.

Unfortunately, the room had issues. I wondered why the shower floor looked like it had the mange (peeling surface) and looked dirty. We discovered why the next morning: by the end of the shower, we were standing in 5 inches of water. Also, the outlet in the bathroom did not work. We called to report this then went out sightseeing all day. Next morning: still 5 inches of water in the tub. We called again, end of day still not fixed. So they gave us a new room, smaller than the other one and 2 floors down overlooking the valet parking lot. No problem, we want working plumbing. Well, turns out that the toilet runs and will only flush once evey half hour or so. This lead to lots of jokes in my family about who needs to go to the bathroom the most. Also, lots of trips down a flight to use the public restroom (which was beautiful, and flushed). You'd think if you had a problem they'd make sure to put you in a room as good as the one you were leaving, and with no maintenance issues. We did not complain again -- huge hassle to change rooms a second time with 4 people. Not acceptable considering the significant cost of staying there. The economy hotel we stayed in on the way there was 1/3 of the price and the plumbing worked perfectly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Hello Amy J,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your Capitol Hill Hotel experience here on Tripadvisor. It's great to read that you enjoyed the size of our rooms and the convenience of our location. I'm really sorry about the plumbing issues you experienced with us. We want everyone to use the bathroom as much as they'd like. So, please be fully assured that this issue has been addressed. Also, we're in the process of getting the tub in this room and any others like it resurfaced. I'd love to hear from you if I can assist with anything in the future. We'd certainly love for you to give us another try.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews