We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #78 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 16, 2006

We stayed at Topaz with our two small kids, and it worked ok. The fact that they don't have complimentary breakfast wasn't so bad because Cosi, Starbucks and other restaurants are just a block or two away.
The wireless internet didn't work on our room, and you can pass their power whatever drink in the morning (which is just served Mon-Fri).
Overall a best alternative to big chain hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazy_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2006

We just got back from a great weekend in DC. Kimpton's "Hot Dates, Great Rates" promotion is fantastic. Almost every room at their hotels in town was discounted to $125 per night. We picked The Topaz because of the location, just two blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station and near loads of shops and restaurants.

Check in was smooth and our room on the 8th floor was huge (bigger than the room given to friends of ours on the 2nd floor). I'll agree that the carpet is in need of a change, but it wasn't terrible in our room.

We had a welcome note, apple and water waiting for us, along with horoscopes and some other nouveau items. Very cute.

The only drawback I can think of is that the room was long, but not terribly wide.

The bar at this hotel is awesome. I couldn't get enough of their white cosmos and my boyfriend loved a mango drink that came with coconut soaked mango slices. The bartenders were friendly and other customers were fun, too.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnceMoreIBeatSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2006

The room was fine, the location not bad. Just don't plan on paying the rate you were actually quoted without a long struggle at the front desk. Just when I thought he got it right, I went home to find my credit card charged TWICE, for the original incorrect amount. To his credit, he was very busy also being the bellman and the valet. The manager on duty that Sunday morning just stood by and watched, not attempting to help either of us. Magic rocks on my pillow don't make me relax if all I want to do is hurl them at people.

The night time staff were actually very helpful despite not understanding the Kimpton loyalty program.

When we came back to our room at 9 pm, there were still room service trays left from breakfast in our hallway.

Stay at the Tabard next door or the Beacon down the street. It's cheaper, and the staff know what they're doing.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mjp3md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

We loved our room at the Topaz! It was exceptionally spacious, stylish decor and had friendly service. It wasn't located in the most convenient area, but a metro station was nearby. The hotel itself is smallish but it has a cool bar scene downstairs. We appreciated the free wireless internet and the CD player in the room. We would definitely return to the Topaz!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jclucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2005

What a dissapointment! This hotel was not by choice, we only stayed here because Hotel Madera where we originally booked gave our room away and said this was the best they could do by shoving us to their sister hotel. Unless you are looking for 'funky' and not accustomed to any sort of luxury hotels this should suit you fine, horrible carpeting. Especially if you like dogs, they had a couple playing around in the bar Saturday evening before we departed. I'll never book another stay with a Kimpton Hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
422
Reviewed November 22, 2005

Comfortable, solid furniture. Lots of space and light, well stocked with provisions, including animal print robes!! Our room was a medium-sized room according to the floor plan (the ones at the back seem to be the biggest). food was pricey, but we took advantage of Dupont Circle cafes and restaurants a short walk away. The "business center" is a tiny room with one computer terminal, but they will do printing and copying for you at a reasonable charge. Free wireless internet in your own room! The decor is very whacky -- deliberately garish with polkadots, stripes and checks altogether (see the photos someone has posted), but it is clean and very comfortable, and lots of fun this way. The staff were perfectly friendly, very laid back and non-intrusive.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2005

i hosted a NYE party there last year and everyone loved the hotel. the rooms are great, the staff was beyond helpful, it is close to everything but still quiet. i would stay there in a heartbeat. i have stayed at several kimpton properties and they are all great.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mando74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,274 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
1,872 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,151 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,701 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#45 of 142 in Washington DC
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $128 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing