We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm stay at Topaz during rainy weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #77 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
Wenatchee, WA
422
Reviewed October 12, 2005

Great stay at the Topaz. Great location, quaint and quiet neighborhood, easy access to Metro (having a car in DC is an inconvenience), abundent dining choices nearby). I arrived early ahead of my wife, expecting to just be able drop off my luggage. I was able to check in, efficiently, quickly and friendly. I refused offer of help for luggage. Front door (just 15 feet from street curb) is electric and was often activated by desk staff for convenient ingress/egress. Always warmly greeted by all staff when we encountered them.

Ecletic room was comfortable, spacious. Loved the terry robes, sitting area and the tea service set in the room. Very comfortable bed. Wife appreciated the vanity outside of the bathroom. Clean room, prompt maid service, fun lounge. Didn't eat there; too many other choices nearby (Luna Diner, Etrusco, etc.).

Only regret: sightseeing agenda kept us from spending more time in our room. Next trip, we're staying again and this time making reservations in advance for dining at Bertolli's on Jefferson.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,302 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore
235
Reviewed October 6, 2005

I stayed at the Topaz last Saturday night with two friends of mine.

Having read the many positive reviews, articles and Topaz website, we expected a more impressive and lavish hotel. Instead, the lobby is small, the elevator old, and bathroom tiny with plain fixtures. The hotel had the appearance of, say, an old Holiday Inn with a funky paint and interior design job.

Having said that, we found the staff curteous and very helpful. Also, the rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable. The location is ideal - quiet, yet just steps away from of all the action in Dupont Circle.

We expected something grander given the pictures we saw online and the price, and for that reason were disappointed. Fortunately, we got a good deal through expedia. Next time, I would stay at the Tabard Inn next door. I have stayed there before and, although very different in style, think it has a better ambience and value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Westfield, NJ
214
Reviewed September 27, 2005

After making reservations a while ago, we arrived in Washington at the Topaz Hotel for a "what we thought" would be a wonderful weekend in a upscale boutique hotel. What a surprise to find out the staff was hardly there for you, there was no one to help with the luggage, the front desk staff were indifferent and aloof, and we got a room with a queen bed when we booked a king without even a nod from the desk clerk. We got to our room and found it was a handicapped room (much like another reviewer found upon arrival). When we complained, the staff at the front desk was rude. We were told, too bad that is all we have. The next day we called again, and the staff was much nicer. We were changed to an upgraded room after (almost begging). When we returned from our day, the room wasn't ready. It was prepared by 5 pm. When we got to the room, the toilet didn't work. I guess that is a luxury they determined we didn't need... ANyway, they fixed it by the time we returned from dinner. The weekend was ruined. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2005

Drove to Washington with friends for a weekend get-away. When we arrived at the Topaz we were not greeted curbside and had to carry our bags to check-in and then were told there was no one to bring them up to our rooms and we could either bring them ourselves or leave them at the front desk and they would be brought up "some time later". The staff was inefficient and totally not professional. For $339 a night we expected so much more! The rooms were clean but very shabby - stains on the carpet and on the furniture as well. The rooms are tea drinker friendly with a tea kettle and tea bags - no coffe nor coffee pot to be had and when you go downstairs for a cup of coffee in the am they charge way too much. Shame on them! The restaurant next door at the Tabard Inn has a wonderful breakfast (the Topaz only offers a continental buffet at a considerable price). The Topaz was such a disappointment . . I would suggest to anyone that if they are looking for a hotel where great service is the norm not the exception they bypass the Topaz!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattikwestfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2005

Beautiful room, perfectly quiet, good room service.... felt like an escape to somewhere much more exotic than downtown DC.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbtwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2005

We just returned from DC and were very disappointment in this hotel. Although the rooms were certainly spacious, large and clean with excellent ammenities, the staffing of the hotel was very thin. We left our room at 10am and although we called to have our room cleaned early when we returned at 1:30 housekeeping was no where in sight. When I called the front desk, I was assured that the room would be ready no later than 4:30. When we returned to change and get ready for dinner at 5:30, housekeeping was just starting on the room and the room was not ready until almost 6:30pm. This in addition to not having anyone available to take your car (paying $24/day for vallet parking) were the drawbacks to the hotel. The rooms however were inviting and very nice (once they were cleaned)!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EgtTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kensington
14
Reviewed August 23, 2005

We are from the DC area but wanted time away from home and chose the Topaz Hotel as our mini getaway (it also coincided with an anniversary so that helped). In making reservations, I mentioned the anniversary. When we arrived, the room had been turned down and there was a nice display of chocolate covered almonds and a chilled ice bucket with glasses and beverage waiting for us to toast the event. Really like the Aveda amenities. The bed - VERY comfortable. The front desk - EXTREMELY helpful. I just wish we could have stayed longer.

I didn't really have high expectations because we took advantage of the special rates at the hotel's website (which, fyi: should you decide to use these, it seems you have to call the 800 number to reserve because the special rates listed online never popped up when I tried to reserve by the web -- not a big deal, in fact, it worked in our favor). The room exceeded expectations and for the price ($129/night) -- that was pretty decent.

The online downside -- the food. The mini hamburgers were great but that's the only thing I remember being rather good (and trust me, we ordered practically everything -- the menu isn't that big). The drinks though, are touch and go depending on the bartender (aka, not consistent). Nevertheless, we didn't really go there for the drinks and food but did enjoy hanging out in the bar area -- there is something special in the Topaz bar's atmosphere. It was very easy to relax and feel as though we had to put on any airs (in spite of the "hipness" of the "scene").

That's our $0.02. Hope someone finds it helpful! If you don't like where you are placed at the hotel, just let the concierge know. They seem more than willing to make sure your stay is very comfy (oh, yes, the elevators are small, but that's also the charm of the hotel)

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,281 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#84 of 142 in Washington DC
1,881 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
2,174 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,728 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#48 of 142 in Washington DC
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $111 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing