We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; great neighborhood; PET FRIENDLY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #85 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great location; great neighborhood; PET FRIENDLY!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

With DuPont Circle just two blocks away, this hotel is in a great embassy neighborhood with perfect proximity to eateries, bars and the Metro, without being adjacent to the loud traffic or late-night carousing. The hotel is pet friendly, and separates visitors onto pet- and non-pet floors, so you may run into a Pekingese in the lobby or elevator, but if you're not a pet person, your floor will be yelp-free.

Though we did not dine at the hotel, the bar had a pretty delicious looking menu with veggie options.

The front desk staff is delightful. Parking is pricey, but few of the neighborhood garages allow overnight stays. One block over, at the Cathedral, there is an underground lot that allows overnights for $20 per night, and it is a quick walk back through the alley (not sure if that would be safe at night or not, though we did walk the pups around the neighborhood around 10 and felt perfectly safe). Overall, just great. We are always delighted with the decor and accommodations at Kimpton Hotels. Just because they are pet friendly does NOT mean they are Travelodge-like. In fact, very much the opposite. Posh. Just plain posh.

Room Tip: We like corner rooms. but the view from our spot at the back of the hotel wasn't so pretty; from...
See more room tips
Green Features: The chain is super enviro-friendly. You'll be pleased.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megawattage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear megawattage,

I am so happy to hear what a nice time you had with us here at the Topaz. I am really glad to hear that you and your pups enjoyed your time with us so much and everything worked out so well for you.

I couldn't help but notice you are from Stroudsburg, PA. I was born and raised in Stroudsburg, right off Chipperfield Drive and graduated from SHS. Small world! However, I digress, most importantly, I am super excited that you had such a great time at Topaz and we do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to DC.

Thank you again and Go Mounties!
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    424
    123
    48
    25
See reviews for
229
316
110
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The location is great if you are willing to walk a bit. We walked everywhere. Rooms were spacious. There was a little room outside of the bathroom that you could use to put your makeup on with a great full length mirror. We had the breakfast that is set up in the bar. It wasn't very impressive. There are so many hotels doing free breakfast and this one just seemed a little sad and thrown together. There are close by coffee shops and restaurant's so we made the best of it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Mgirrl,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and our guest rooms and that the parlor area near the bathroom worked out so well for you. I do apologize about the breakfast setup, we do our best to put out a continental spread and have some hot options as well. We are working to make sure that our guests are enjoying it and thank you for your feedback.

We hope to see you again on your next trip.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
265 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Topaz and we enjoyed it. The location is good. The room was spacious, the bed very good, the bathroom small but with everything we need.The service good also. The internet was good and free. The breakfast at the bar reasonable and agreable. Anyway we payed almost USD 1,000,00 for three nights with breakfast and I think this is too much for a such small hotel without lobby, restaurants etc. If I will come back? Perhaps...but it is a three star hotel not the paradise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear elica49,

Thank you for posting such a nice review about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you generally enjoyed your visit with us including the wireless internet and the lounge area.

We hope that you will come see us again, please note that with your Kimpton In Touch membership you have access to the best rates we have and we send out deals from time to time, which would make your next visit potentially a better value.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great stay at Topaz. The rooms are spacious, clean, well-appointed. The staff went above and beyond in terms of providing helpful, useful area information. Perfect location-- 5mins (if that) walk to Dupont Circle (plenty of bars, restaurants, shops, and the metro). If you don't mind a stretch of the legs, it's an easy walk to the White House and National Mall (approximately 1.5miles down 17th). Similar story for Georgetown (just go down 18th til it hits M).

[those looking for pet-friendly, great choice-- no deposit/restrictions].

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear TrippyAG,

Thank you so much for the amazing review of your recent stay at the Topaz. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and staff so much. Looks like you got your exercise in as well with all that walking!

We hope you come see us again on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The airline lost my luggage. Front desk staff were very helpful replacing essentials and willingly signed for my bag which arrived at 2 AM and held it for me tuntil the next morning. Happy hours are very pleasant. All staff were consistently courteous and friendly. Room was a good value. Good location on quiet street off Connecticut Ave with good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: High floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhughe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear jmhughe,

Thank you for the really great review of your stay at the Topaz. I am so sorry to hear the airline lost your luggage, but I am happy we were able to make you comfortable while you were waiting for it.

I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed the staff and the guest room. We hope to see you again on your next trip, hopefully with less stressful travel complications.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My partner and I spent a weekend in Washington DC recently and stayed at The Topaz. From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed and special. The location, near DuPont Circle was convenient -- right in the middle of everything. We enjoyed cocktails and dessert in the Topaz Bar and had a great time. Our room was easily one of, if not the largest we have ever had. We got an Energy King and enjoyed its amenities. But the best asset of the Hotel is the staff. To a person they were helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The hotel does not have fitness facilities (although they do offer free guest passes to a nearby &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ChrisandCarlos,

I am so happy to hear what a wonderful time you guys had with us at the Topaz. Looks like you really enjoyed yourselves and thank you so much for the kind words. Those Energy rooms really are nice and spacious and we are super lucky to have such a great team. Although its easy when you have great guests!

Thank you again so much for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Thanks,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at the Topaz this past weekend and once a few years ago. The hotel itself is in a very quaint location, located next door to the historic Tabard Inn, and not at all far from the White House and other famous Monuments on the Mall. The rooms at the Topaz are spacious and clean, and the robes are a funky zebra stripe! The mini bar has plentiful snacks and seem to be more reasonably priced than at larger chain hotels. Good, friendly, helpful customer service. I definitely plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalisa0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear lisalisa0626,

Thank you so much for the outstanding review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Topaz so much and you enjoyed so many of our amenities including the robes and mini-bar.

I am happy to hear how well the staff took care of you also. We look forward to the chance to do it again. Hope to see you on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,233 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
1,815 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,611 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing