We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant January stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant January stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The airline lost my luggage. Front desk staff were very helpful replacing essentials and willingly signed for my bag which arrived at 2 AM and held it for me tuntil the next morning. Happy hours are very pleasant. All staff were consistently courteous and friendly. Room was a good value. Good location on quiet street off Connecticut Ave with good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: High floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhughe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear jmhughe,

Thank you for the really great review of your stay at the Topaz. I am so sorry to hear the airline lost your luggage, but I am happy we were able to make you comfortable while you were waiting for it.

I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed the staff and the guest room. We hope to see you again on your next trip, hopefully with less stressful travel complications.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    396
    111
    43
    20
See reviews for
201
304
107
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My partner and I spent a weekend in Washington DC recently and stayed at The Topaz. From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed and special. The location, near DuPont Circle was convenient -- right in the middle of everything. We enjoyed cocktails and dessert in the Topaz Bar and had a great time. Our room was easily one of, if not the largest we have ever had. We got an Energy King and enjoyed its amenities. But the best asset of the Hotel is the staff. To a person they were helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The hotel does not have fitness facilities (although they do offer free guest passes to a nearby &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ChrisandCarlos,

I am so happy to hear what a wonderful time you guys had with us at the Topaz. Looks like you really enjoyed yourselves and thank you so much for the kind words. Those Energy rooms really are nice and spacious and we are super lucky to have such a great team. Although its easy when you have great guests!

Thank you again so much for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Thanks,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at the Topaz this past weekend and once a few years ago. The hotel itself is in a very quaint location, located next door to the historic Tabard Inn, and not at all far from the White House and other famous Monuments on the Mall. The rooms at the Topaz are spacious and clean, and the robes are a funky zebra stripe! The mini bar has plentiful snacks and seem to be more reasonably priced than at larger chain hotels. Good, friendly, helpful customer service. I definitely plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalisa0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear lisalisa0626,

Thank you so much for the outstanding review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Topaz so much and you enjoyed so many of our amenities including the robes and mini-bar.

I am happy to hear how well the staff took care of you also. We look forward to the chance to do it again. Hope to see you on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Topaz in the middle of April and really enjoyed the experience. From the warm and friendly greeting by the doorman to the check in staff, and Rick the Barman during cocktail and canapes hour, we felt welcomed and very much at home. We like the low key, down to earth, but always friendly and helpful manner of all the staff. Any time we left or returned to or from the hotel, we always received a warm greeting. A very good team.

Room Tip: We chose a corner room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinGToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ColinGToronto_Canada,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such an outstanding review of your stay at the Topaz. I am really delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your experience and how well the desk team and Rick took care of you.

We can't wait to see you again so we can do it all over.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Topaz for a couple of nights while visiting DC. The hotel is a couple of blocks from DuPont Circle so it is in a very nice and trendy part of DC.

Our room was very nice and overlooked N Street. The views of the brownstones was nice. The windows were big and across the entire room which allowed plenty of light into the room and really made it feel open and airy. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was nice. There isn't much room for toiletries by the sink since the countertop is small due to the modern sink.

The staff at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming. Definitely liked the Happy Hour they offer from 5 - 6pm in the Bar area which includes complimentary red and white wine and beer. They also have a some basic apps included. All in all a very nice touch. We purchased some additional apps and the food was very good. We also ate breakfast there (Continental) during our stay as we had free breakfast included with our stay. The choices were more than sufficient (bagels, pastries, breads, yogurts, granola, cereal, etc). A very nice way to start the day off. They even had complimentary bags to make your own trailmix to take out with you as a snack.

Another nice perk is that you can use their bikes to bike ride through the city. It is complimentary (loaned) and is great especially compared to how expensive it is to rent bikes through the bikeshare program or the inconvenience of having to bring your own bikes. Definitely worth taking advantage of this nice little perk.

They offer valet parking ($50/night) which is rather expensive. There is a much more affordable parking garage operated by PMI on M street between 17th and 18th that is only $22/night. It's a very short walk and will save you $28/night that you can put to better use, like food and booze!

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Topaz and would stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePhillyCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear ThePhillyCritic,

Thank you for the outstanding review of your stay here at the Topaz. Looks like you really engrossed yourself in the Kimpton experience while you were with us. You are able to enjoy our breakfast, wine hour and bike program! That is awesome to see that you not only used them, but enjoyed them as well.

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the size of the and bed. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Service is terrible. Was expecting a retro kinda hotel but not so outdated... They need to seriously do an upgrade. Felt unsafe, only one fire exit in every floor. Was told that there's wifi, but you have to sign up and pay for it.Bottom line very poor customer service, not worth of the price we pay. The only upside that I could think of is the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sorcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sorcor,

I am very sorry for the poor stay that you had with us. I am honestly somewhat surprised that you had such a poor experience and I was hoping to get some more information from you. The team here really prides itself on delivering top quality service to all of our guests and I am sorry that we did not deliver for you.

Just some minor clarificaitons on some of the items that you mentioned, the property underwent a full rooms and public area renovation only 2 years ago, so the product is still fairly new. Also, we do in fact have 2 fire exits on each floor, one on either side of the elevator. Wireless internet is in fact complementary if you sign up for our Kimpton In Touch loyalty program, which also entitles you to $10 off of your mini bar charges among other perks.

That all being said, I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience and I would like to get some more details if you are willing, please send them directly to me at ryan.cimei@topazhotel.com.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
210 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We got a great deal through Snique away and we took the queen/queen room. The location is excellent, the staff is outstanding!!! The service and the smiles are amazing, they really go out of the way to help you.
The hotel is charming and quirky, clean and quiet.
Great breakfast, great happy hour.
We will be back! Thank you guys!

Room Tip: The queen queen is nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Globetrotter25,

Thank you so much for the amazing review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so excited to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and how well the staff the staff took care of you. We are lucky to have a great crew here.

I am excited to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast as well, we just rolled out that menu and I am happy to hear that its being well received.

We can't wait to have you back with us again next time.

Thanks again,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,697 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Upper Northwest
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing