We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtesy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The front desk staff were friendly and inviting on a cold, rainy evening in DC. Without being prompted, they provided suggestions for dinner, directions, printed my boarding pass and made me feel incredibly special even though I was in town for just one night.

The rooms were spacious and clean, although regulating the room temperature was a challenge.

I've stayed in other Kimpton properties and would certainly put this one near the top.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Phil R.

Thank you for the great review of your stay at the Topaz. I am really happy that the staff took such great care of you and you had such a nice time.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,285)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Topaz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's on the smaller side, but the hotel was nicely decorated and the room was comfortable.
Convenient location nearby attractions, restaurants, and convenient stores.
Staffs were nice and helpful. Valet parking fee of 40 for overnight was too much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear janice282,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review of your recent stay at the Topaz. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff took such good care of you and the location worked out so well for you.

Regarding the parking, we do our best to keep our pricing on par with the other local hotels and garages as parking space in this area of the city are at a premium.

We hope that you will come back and see us again soon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I always enjoy the Topaz. The staff s very accommodating and friendly and the rooms are comfortable. The one thing to note, for many people is that here are stairs in the lobby to get to the elevator. Be sure to join Kimpton in touch. It's free and if you join, (a) you get free Internet, (b) you get a $10 for the minibar (and they have good juice and stuff) and (c) you sometimes get great offers in the email.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room here
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofiastayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Sofiastayshome,

Thank you for the outstanding review of your stay at the Topaz. We are all so happy that you had such a great time during your stay.

Thank you also for letting other travelers know about the 4 stairs from the lobby up to the elevator bank, we do have a lift for those that need assistance getting up and down these stairs and we also always have someone in the lobby to assist with luggage and strollers and things that may require some lifting assistance.

I am so excited that you joined Kimpton in Touch, it really is a no brainer, free wireless, free snacks and the deals that you get at Kimpton Hotels all over the country just for signing up.

We can't wait to have you come back and stay with us again.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Now that I've stayed at the Topaz, I think I've stayed at almost all of the Kimpton properties in Washington DC proper. I would put this one near the top, especially considering the deal I got.

Check-in was efficient, although the valet parking prices are getting a little ridiculous, $41 per night (the Tabard hotel next door was advertising $25 per night). When I checked in, the staff gave me a heads up that there was a marathon the next morning, and provided me with a map of how to avoid the route.

Like the room I had at the Rouge, it was absolutely huge (I'm not sure who even needs such large rooms to be honest). It was clean and stylish, a little understated for a Kimpton room, but that's not a terrible thing as it still felt quite modern. I still think it's lame that DC area Kimptons have pumps of soap instead of the typical disposable shampoos, etc... but it's green I guess.

The bar wasn't great at this property, it's on the small side and when I went down there no bartender was to be seen. Also the mini-bar was turned off or not working, so I had warm beverages (make sure you signup for Kimpton's reward program so you get $10 free from the mini bar).

The location is great for someone like me who pretty much walks every where in the city. I had a meeting in Chinatown and the walk was quite nice. That said, it's not super close to a metro station, so if you have a ton of bags from the airport you may want to hail a cab.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ry0ohki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear ry0ohki,

Thank you both for your great review of your stay at the Topaz, but also your amazing loyalty to the DC Kimpton properties.

I am glad that you had a good experience with us but I do want to apologize for the minor issues that you experienced with the mini bar and the lack of service in the bar. As I am sure you can appreciate based on your other experiences, these are not normal occurences and I am very sorry that they happened during your stay.

All in all I am happy that you had such a nice time and we look forward to having you come back with us on your next stay in DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

An absolutely huge room, enormous bed and very centrally located. A 5 min walk to both the Dupont Circle and Farragut North metro stops on the red line makes this location ideal. Kimpton hotels are generally really good, and Topaz is no exception. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Stephen M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such an awesome review of your trip to the Topaz. I am so glad that you enjoyed the guestroom and location so much and were able to make the most of your trip to DC.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently stayed here in February amd really enjoyed it. Usual friendly Kimpton staff and great location in Dupont Circle. Wine hour was very nice and went to a great Sushi restaurant around the corner recommended by the bartender! I am a Kimpton convert, heading to NYC next week to stay at the Muse. The Hotels are always consistent! It certainly takes the guesswork out of where to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise531415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear denise531415,

Thank you for the amazing review of your stay at the Topaz. I am so excited that you had such a great time and enjoyed the team and the hotel so much and were able to enjoy wine hour as well.

I am sure that the Muse delivered a great experience as well. We look forward to having you back with us or at your next adventure to another Kimpton Hotel.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is not new, and we were not impressed by its design or size. But the prices are reasonable, the stuff is friendly, the meal at the restaurante is not bad, and the location is great - just steps from the metro station, a walking distance to the The Phillips Collection (very good!), etc. The street where the hotel is located is very calm and pretty - so don't be afraid of any city noise.
They have a valet service to park your car (not cheap! more than $40 for a night) - be sure to call at the reception about 15 minutes in advance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olga v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear olga v,

Thank you for the great review of your trip to the Topaz. I am really glad that you enjoyed the spacious guest room and the location worked out so well for you. I am glad that you got to enjoy so much of DC, I love the Phillips Collection as well. We agree that being situated on this street is really great as it does not feel like you are in the hustle and bustle of DC.

We hope you will come see us again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
1,859 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
2,121 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
1,678 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $136 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing