We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$107
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$188
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of $347/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
$119
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$119
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$170
Dupont Circle
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$121
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,390)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveler rating
692
466
143
57
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
692
466
143
57
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circlequiet streetwine hourdressing roomyoga matdressing areamini barcomplimentary winewhite housefront desk staffconnecticut avecontinental breakfastroom was largesmall hotellocation is greatfew blockssitting area
Filter
Updating list...
709 - 714 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I always stay at the Topaz when I'm in DC. The staff is ridiculously welcoming, polite, and helpful, and the location is great.

The bar/restaurant is small, but serves a great buffet breakfast and is a nice place to meet friends for an after dinner drink.

Room Tip: Because there's no onsite gym - you can use the YMCA, a block away, for free - ask for a room with exercise equipment in it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear John V,

Thank you so much for your awesome review and your amazing loyalty to the Topaz. We are all really pleased that you choose us as your preferred hotel when you stay here in DC and we will do everything we can to keep you happy and make sure you keep on coming back.

See you next time!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you like the Kimpton shtick, you'll love Topaz. Great location on a quiet (as quiet as it gets, anyway) side street steps from Dupont Circle. A very good restaurant, the Tabard Inn, is next door.

We dropped in for a quick weekend getaway, and the service was perfect. Friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. The room was huge, and included daybed set off in a nook that would be perfect for a couple with a small child or two.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, ask for a king room with daybed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redclayprodigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear virginiacreeper2K,

Thank you for that amazing review of your stay at the Topaz. I love that you called it "Kimpton shtick"! I am so glad that you enjoyed the room and the staff so much and the location worked out for you as well.

We look forward to having you come stay with us again!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice location, near Dupont Circle and away from the more touristy areas. The staff is superb. Decent wi-fi. Breakfast is just ok -- only real downside is the bathrooms, they are very small and could use an update and some more water pressure. Overall though, I would recommend and it is priced right for what you get.

Room Tip: We overlooked N street and we were happy with that view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiva0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear scottandscott,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Topaz. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and the location worked so well for you. Thank you also for your notes on the bathroom, where we can't do much from a design standpoint we can certainly make sure the water pressure is where it needs to be.

We hope you will come stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Topaz many times during business trips to DC and I am never disappointed. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood just off of Dupont Circle. It is a short walk to the Metro and the area around the hotel has a good selection of restaurants and bars (including the Tabard Inn which is a funky restaurant/bar just a few doors down). The hotel has been renovated and has a much brighter and warmer feel to it. The rooms are spacious and updated with plenty of room to work as well as a separate dressing area outside the bathroom (the bathrooms are a bit on the small side though and could use a bit more updating). The staff are always pleasant and helpful. The hotel offers a complimentary wine happy hour every day and Kimpton rewards members receive a $10 certificate towards the mini-bar. The only downside is that the hotel does not have workout facilities on site; however, guests are able to use the YMCA about a block away which has everything a person could need. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear dbk2,

Thank you for your outstanding review of your most recent stay at the Topaz and for choosing us when you come to DC as your preferred hotel.

I am glad that you enjoy the new room product and the location works out so well for you and the YMCA is convenient for your workout needs. I am also glad that you have joined our loyalty program so you get to take advantage of the free wifi and minibar snacks.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I just stayed two nights at this Kimpton property. The staff were amazingly friendly, which is not particularly common in Washington, DC. From the time I arrived to the time I left, they helped with my bags, greeted me by name, and asked about my day, always with a smile. What a treat on a dreary DC day!

Also, for a downtown hotel, the room was incredibly spacious and laid out thoughtfully. The desk was in a separate space from the bed, there was a couch and several chairs for sitting, and, while the bathroom itself was not large, there was a separate dressing room with vanity table and mirror just outside the bathroom. Kimpton included some nice extras such as a robe and umbrella in the room. They also gave me $10 in "bar bucks" to use in the mini-bar (which had a nice variety of soda and snacks, in addition to the usual alcohol).

I ordered room service while there. Service was quick and food was delicious. I ordered soup and a grilled chicken sandwich. I'd happily go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looking_4_good_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hello looking_4_good_food,

First off, that's a great name! Thank you for posting this fantastic review of Topaz here on Tripadvisor. We put a lot of effort into creating an enjoyable experience for all of our customers. So it's always great to read that we've succeeded at doing so. Your recommendation is the highest compliment we can receive. So please know that it's greatly appreciated.

Thanks again,

Donte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews