We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, good service and decent amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, good service and decent amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice location, near Dupont Circle and away from the more touristy areas. The staff is superb. Decent wi-fi. Breakfast is just ok -- only real downside is the bathrooms, they are very small and could use an update and some more water pressure. Overall though, I would recommend and it is priced right for what you get.

Room Tip: We overlooked N street and we were happy with that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottandscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear scottandscott,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Topaz. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and the location worked so well for you. Thank you also for your notes on the bathroom, where we can't do much from a design standpoint we can certainly make sure the water pressure is where it needs to be.

We hope you will come stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    397
    111
    43
    21
See reviews for
202
305
108
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Topaz many times during business trips to DC and I am never disappointed. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood just off of Dupont Circle. It is a short walk to the Metro and the area around the hotel has a good selection of restaurants and bars (including the Tabard Inn which is a funky restaurant/bar just a few doors down). The hotel has been renovated and has a much brighter and warmer feel to it. The rooms are spacious and updated with plenty of room to work as well as a separate dressing area outside the bathroom (the bathrooms are a bit on the small side though and could use a bit more updating). The staff are always pleasant and helpful. The hotel offers a complimentary wine happy hour every day and Kimpton rewards members receive a $10 certificate towards the mini-bar. The only downside is that the hotel does not have workout facilities on site; however, guests are able to use the YMCA about a block away which has everything a person could need. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear dbk2,

Thank you for your outstanding review of your most recent stay at the Topaz and for choosing us when you come to DC as your preferred hotel.

I am glad that you enjoy the new room product and the location works out so well for you and the YMCA is convenient for your workout needs. I am also glad that you have joined our loyalty program so you get to take advantage of the free wifi and minibar snacks.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I just stayed two nights at this Kimpton property. The staff were amazingly friendly, which is not particularly common in Washington, DC. From the time I arrived to the time I left, they helped with my bags, greeted me by name, and asked about my day, always with a smile. What a treat on a dreary DC day!

Also, for a downtown hotel, the room was incredibly spacious and laid out thoughtfully. The desk was in a separate space from the bed, there was a couch and several chairs for sitting, and, while the bathroom itself was not large, there was a separate dressing room with vanity table and mirror just outside the bathroom. Kimpton included some nice extras such as a robe and umbrella in the room. They also gave me $10 in "bar bucks" to use in the mini-bar (which had a nice variety of soda and snacks, in addition to the usual alcohol).

I ordered room service while there. Service was quick and food was delicious. I ordered soup and a grilled chicken sandwich. I'd happily go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank looking_4_good_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello looking_4_good_food,

First off, that's a great name! Thank you for posting this fantastic review of Topaz here on Tripadvisor. We put a lot of effort into creating an enjoyable experience for all of our customers. So it's always great to read that we've succeeded at doing so. Your recommendation is the highest compliment we can receive. So please know that it's greatly appreciated.

Thanks again,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Va
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my first Kimpton Hotel but I will certainly try others and I will definitely return to the Topaz. Room was fairly large and included an alcove with a desk that kept my computer and business out of the way. The bed and pillows were good. The room was quiet. The bathroom was a little tight but that was about the only thing that "dated" the room at all. Located on "embassy row" the neighborhood was nice; close to the Metro and duPont Circle. The "restaurant" was also the bar but the food was good and the staff attentive. In the evening there was free wine - no tickets, no limits - your glass never got empty unless you wanted to stop. Great little pub next door. Parking was a personal best - $41 a night for valet and there was no self parking. The staff was superb. Friendly and efficient. Learned your name quickly and recognized you coming in and out. The only problem was that it has a few steps up to the level with the elevator and the entrance to the bar. There was a lift for wheelchairs but if you had a little trouble with steps and didn't want the hoopla of the lift, it caused some effort. I would come again without question.

Room Tip: I was across from the elevator and had no problem with noise. I was also on the street and it was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HokieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello John,

Thanks for this awesome review! It's great to read that we took great care of you and you loved the hotel. I couldn't agree with you more about the neighborhood and about the Tabard next door. It's one of my favorite places nearby. Stop in for a visit the next time you're in the area.

Thanks again,

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We'd never stayed at a Kimpton hotel before, but they've looked nice, so we tried this one out in Washington, DC. Its about a $20 cab ride from Reagan airport and close enough to the Metro that we used it for the return trip to the airport.

We checked in around 6:45pm and were told we had a few minutes to get a free class of wine in the bar. This happened every night between 5-7, which was a nice amenity. The bar was quite busy on Saturday night although empty on Sunday night.

The lobby is very small and you have to walk up several steps to get to the elevators or bar area. We liked that the hotel was advertised as pet-friendly - although we didn't bring a pet.

The Topaz looks as if it was built in the 60s or 70s and has been remodeled in part to be high style and boutiquey. The room itself was very large with big windows overlooking N street. It was decorated in a very eclectic way with a comfortable large bed, a sofa, many unique unmatching lamps, a room outside the bathroom, a safe and a desk located in a side nook. The decor struck as a little unusual since nothing really matched, but it was kind of fun and ultimately it all worked together.

Thes are the things we really liked about the Topaz Hotel:
- The location: its a short few blocks to Dupont Circle with lots of restaurants and shops. We ate all of our meals in the area.
- The animal print bathrobes - they were warm and made us smile
- A fridge (minibar) that had room for us to keep our juice cold
- The size of the room - it was huge
- The staff: very friendly, willing to give us a late check-out until 1:30pm and printed our boarding passes
- Real glasses in the bathroom (not plastic) and wine glasses in the room

These were the things that could have been better:
- The bathroom: it attempted to be modern with a sink mounted on top of the cabinet, but the rest of the bathroom was small and either not updated or not remodeled well. The bathtub seemed to have an overlay placed on an original tub. We only noticed it because it was squishy (not solid) to stand on for a shower. The shampoo and soap were mounted in the shower. It was difficult to get in and out of the shower because the toilet was right next to it. In addition, the door to the bathroom appeared to be original and was pretty scuffed up.
- The hallway to the room: it was all in beige with some type of elaborate moldings on each door from some other era. It looked nothing like the rooms.
- Breakfast: We chose to eat in the bar for breakfast on our last day. We ordered eggs instead of the continental breakfast. It was less expensive, but took a long time and wasn't prepared as we had asked. Continental would have been a better choice.

Although the bathroom was a negative, the room and location were winners. We'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyfirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi baileyfirestone,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor. It's great to hear that your experience was an enjoyable one. Many of your observations are spot on! The building was originally an apartment building in the 50s. It's, of course, been completely redone multiple times since. But, we've retained a few of the charming elements of the past. The crown molding is the most noticeable. I'm sorry about the egg snafu and the tub liner. We'll find and address it immediately.

Hope to have you back soon!

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood park, Alberta
Level Contributor
292 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a nice, contemporary hotel with good sized rooms (for DC), quiet surroundings (yet very close to Connecticut Ave shops and restaurants), about one block from the Dupont Circle metro stop which makes getting around quite convenient. We had a room facing the street, and did not have much of a problem with noise as the road quiets down in the early evening,

The staff here are extremely friendly, and go out of their way to assist you. My wife had reserved a cab to go off to an important appointment. It was a cold and slightly snowy morning, so someone scooped her cab. They not only sent someone out right away to get another one, but had them stand guard (in his shirtsleeves despite the bitter cold winds) to make sure that nobody else got the second cab. My wife made her appoinment on time.

What more could you ask for....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi howho,

Thanks for the great review! It's great to read that our service what sets us apart. Our team works really hard at it. It's that much better when it all works out. We're glad your wife made it to her appointment on time. Feedback like this goes a long way.

Thanks again,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've stayed at 3 Kimpton hotels in D.C., and this one had by far the friendliest, most efficient staff. They were so nice to our dogs, and welcoming to us. Room Service food was fabulous. We got a great package and an extremely reasonable price. Bed really comfortable. There were indeed fewer amenities at this hotel, but it is a smaller hotel for Kimpton, and the quality is no less. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Susan,

Thanks for the awesome review! It's always special to hear that we've outdone our brothers and sisters at the other Kimpton Hotels in DC. I'm not saying it's a competition and I'm not saying that it isn't (it is). But, if this review gets copied and pasted into an email and then sent to the GMs of our other hotels I wouldn't have a problem with that (I'm probably going to do that).

Thanks again for the review,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,556 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing