We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it had a gym”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #78 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel, ideal for business. Comfortable bed and spacious room, bathroom nice too. Front desk was efficient. I didn't try room service but there are a lot of great restaurants one block West. Only thing getting in the way of 4 stars is the lack of a workout room. They have an arrangement with the Y a block away but it is not open late. Hard to make it after a long meeting.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room near the elevator/ice machine, it got noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erins_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hello Erins_Travels,

Thanks for posting a review of your experience at Topaz here on Tripadvisor. I applaud your commitment to fitness. I know how hard it can be to muster up the energy to get a solid workout in after a long day of work. It's tough not having a fitness center in the hotel. We do have a couple of alternatives that are available to our guests. As you mentioned, there's the Y a block away. It's a 6 story facility with everything one could imagine. I play basketball, lift weights, run, and take all sorts of classes here. But, it does close at 10p. So, if late night exercise is what you're looking for we have Energy Rooms at the hotel. These upgraded rooms have fitness equipment right there inside. They're ideal for squeezing the workout in at any time throughout the day.

Thanks again for the review.

Donte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for the inauguration and it was great! The day/evening staff very nice! Candice , Kelly , and Richard are just a few of the staff that made the stay very comfortable and enjoyable! We stayed right across from the elevator which we loved ! Had a great view and great location! Only thing was the parking which is understandable in dc! Would recommend and def would stay again and I didn't particularly find the late night staff friendly and as helpful! This was the staff around 12 am...not very tentative with our valet situation and even brought the wrong car! But they did apologize for the wait! Other than that i give the hotel 2 thumbs up! Even got a ten dollar mini bar credit!!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Awilliams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Awilliams10,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a great review of your stay at the Topaz. I am happy to hear that the team took such good care of you.

I do apologize for the valet mix up. I assure you that is not a common occurence here with our team.

We hope to see you again!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This review is a bit overdue . Took my 9 yr old niece to DC back in August to experience the WH, museums, etc. This hotel was fantastic, as expected with Kimpton properties. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was spacious...there was a very cute alcove/ sitting area that my niece loved...that's where she wanted to sleep. Bed very comfy. Location close to Dupont Circle. Kimpton InTouch membership provided free wi-fi, $1 continental breakfast, raid the mini-bar etc. Cool animal- print bathrobes-- they even provided a child- size version for my niece. And they can provide a goldfish to keep you company if you want. I never had too much luck with goldfish in the past, so we declined. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bucchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear bucchick,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, even if it was delayed. We always love hearing how much fun our guests had with us.

I am really excited that you and your neice had such a great time at the Topaz. Next time you have to ask for a goldfish, we promise you will have good luck with it this time.

We hope to see you guys again!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Topaz staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and modern. The hotel is centrally located between the red and blue lines, close to Dupont Circle. I stayed here for work, but I could also see it as a good place to stay during a short vacation in DC. Food choices at the hotel are limited at the hotel, but there are plenty of restaurants within short, walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Ali S,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Topaz. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the location worked out so well for you.

We hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at this hotel for the inauguration and had the best stay we have had in a long time. We are avid travelers and Kimpton Hotel members. We have never stayed at the Topaz, but will put this hotel and especially this location at the top of our list!! The hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable, the rooms was a good size and accomodating (except the bathroom-no space for toiletries). But most of all, the staff were service friendly!!!! They made you feel at home!!! I called ahead and they ensured me that I would have a comfortable nice size room (the Kimpton hotels in NYC are small with oversized furniture). Anthony Herring at the front desk was so friendly and accomodating!!! We were rushing and he contacted Julian to get us to the airport quickly!!! My boyfriend enjoyed the bar and the special drinks that Rick the bartender prepared for him. We will definitely be back to the Topaz when we return to DC!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear jnherring,

Thank you for posting such an outstanding review of your stay at the Topaz from Inauguration. I am so delighted to hear that you had such a great time and the team took such good care of you and the room worked out so well.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Topaz is located within four blocks or so of two metro stations on different lines, so more attractions are accessible without having to transfer. A longer walk takes you to the White House and beyond it, to the National Mall.

The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful, e.g., printing boarding passes. The Topaz takes pets--when we called the front desk to report a barking dog in an adjoining room, the attendant immediately notified the owners who arrived to quiet the animal.

The cleaning staff was accommodating, and rooms were clean and comfortable. Our room was larger than expected--it had two queen beds, and office alcove, and a small dressing room.

Continental breakfast in the bar area is convenient, reasonably priced, and can be supplemented with orders for a few items at extra cost. The restaurant menu is limited, but the food is good.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The double queen room we stayed in had a small dressing room and an office alcove with desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear TravelerAl,

Thank you for the outstanding review about your trip to the Topaz. I am so happy to hear that the team took such great care of you and you enjoyed your trip so much.

We look forward to having you come and see us again.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We love Kimptons and stay there when we can, Los Angeles (Palomar), Salt Lake (Monaco), DC (Monaco, George, Palomar) and Baltimore (Monaco). You get the idea. So we stood on the tree-lined street in DC, gawking at the Topaz. Didn't look like a Kimpton to us. It looked like a little inn tucked into a residential neighborhood. Which is sort of what it is. Not a grand old building repurposed to Kimpton standards. Topaz is something smaller, quieter, and surprisingly, more charming. Most Kimotons, to us, are about the edgy decor. Topaz is all about the most wonderful staff we have met in recent years. The reception staff was uniformly helpful, friendly, thoughtful and paid attention to the smallest details, from connecting with long lost friends to parking (and un-parking) our car. Breakfast was ho-hum but the attendant was lovely. When we wanted more of a dinner than Topaz offered, Rick Lewis in Topaz' bar directed us to the Tabbard Inn next door. OMG, what a great meal. We left half a bottle of wine on the table and called Topaz reception. When they offered to retrieve it for us, we were floored. Kenny, who delivered it to our door (room 1011 - great view), told us that he met the waitress from the restaurant - she was bringing the wine to our hotel. You get the idea. It is like you have friends there. Great location, comfortable room, some small details could use tinkering with, but you don't really care. We just returned from the Four Seasons in LA last week. The best five star hotel in Los Angeles. The Topaz can hold it's head high in terms of customer satisfaction.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank mastdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear mastdis,

Thank you for the outstanding review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so glad that you enjoyed your "Kimpton change of pace" with us an the smaller, more quaint atmosphere was so much to your liking.

I am also so glad to hear that Rick and Kenny and the team took such outstanding care of you.

We hope you will stay with us on your next trip to DC and be your Kimpton of choice.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,273 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
1,872 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,151 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,701 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#45 of 142 in Washington DC
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $128 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing