We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute little boutique hotel but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #80 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Cute little boutique hotel but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Pros:

- Small (if you are looking for a more personal, less "corporate" experience)
- About an 8-10 minute walk to Dupont Circle
- There is a restaurant in the hotel (though small) and also several choices (e.g. Luna) are a very short walk -- even closer than Dupont Circle
- Free WiFi if you are a member of Kimpton
- Plug-in station next to bed; I wish all hotels would have this, as lack of convenient electrical outlets can be an issue
- Various drink specials and happy hour promotions at the little bar/restaurant
- Staff friendly and helpful

Cons:

- Location and "hip factor" not as good at this hotel as some of the other nearby Kimptons
- The inside of the hotel more or less has the look and feel of an old apartment building; when you look closely, it's rather worn and not all that clean (for example, hallways, inside the elevators, etc.)
- Two very old, slow elevators - a problem if the hotel is near capacity
- Lobby area is tiny - really not a lobby per se; bar/restaurant is also very small and limited in seating
- Television had grainy, poor reception...was not clear even though they are using newer, flat screen TVs
- Shampoo and shower gel are in permanent pump bottles affixed to shower wall. Cheap approach and hard to pump a sufficient quantity for use.

Overall, the hotel is adequate and may be a good choice if you get a very discounted rate, but it is definitely not as good as the "higher level" Kimptons in the vicinity. I would stay here again in a pinch, but if given options, it would definitely not be my first choice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ATLDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello ATLDawg,

Thanks for posting a review of your experience with us. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we're certainly going to review the critical elements of this review to identify where we can improve moving forward. I hope you make your way back. We'll be better if you do.

Thanks again for sharing,

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    417
    117
    47
    24
See reviews for
219
312
110
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I really like this hotel and have stayed here a few times this year on a stay-cations. The staff is very nice and the rooms I have had all are always nice and clean. I am elite with Kimpton so I do get upgraded to larger rooms. The ones I have gotten are large king rooms with a couch and small separate bed/couch thing built into one cubby of a wall. They also have in-room elliptical in the rooms I get, so I love that! There is a small bar/lounge in the lobby area serving decent food. The hotel is tucked away on N St NW, so it feels removed from the hustle of Downtown or Dupont Circle, but you are right there. This is probably my second favorite Kimpton Hotel in D.C., or first, I'm torn with the Donovan House. But this one usually has good rates and the location is tops.

If you stay here and want to have a nice brunch, I suggest the brunch at the Beacon Bar & Grill around the corner at the Beacon Hotel. Very good food (buffet on Sundays) and bottomless mimosas or bloodys! Can't beat that for not a huge price. Or there are a ton of other restaurants in the area. (For my gays or gay-friendly, just walk a couple blocks north up 17th St for a number of other restaurants and brunch locales.) You are also a close enough walk to Downtown places and all the museums and monuments.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottinDC1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello Scott,

Thanks for the review! We're happy to be your staycation hotel of choice. We'll have to see what we can do to sway you in the direction of Topaz vs our friend's over at the Donovan House.

Hope to see you soon!

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived for a quiet anniversary stay with our pet. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When the front desk person asked why we chose them, I said we had stayed at Kimptons before and enjoyed them and we were celebrating a quick anniversary get away. The hotel is very nice as are all the Kimptons we have stayed at are. The evening wine hour was a step above what we were used to as there were fancy hors doeuvres served. The evening was even more pleasant as the bartender came by and refilled our glasses without us having to get up from the comfortable seats. Much to our surprise as we returned to our room we found a complimentary bottle of champagne and a sweet heart shaped pastry waiting. The staff was top notch, the welcome to us and the pet great and the free parking for a hybrid car made the experience top notch. The chain continues to expand and we look forward to new locations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWSLMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi RWSLMD,

Thanks for the review! We're I'm glad you decided to celebrate with us and that we were able to help make your anniversary a memorable one. We hope to see you again next year and many more!

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spacious room, clean and up to date decor, helpful staff and great location. Easy 3 minute walk to the metro. Only minor inconvenience is the arrival chime on the elevator. If you're a light sleeper, you might want to be located at the end of the hall.

Room Tip: Ask to be located towards the end of the hall away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi David,

Thanks for the review! Sorry about the disturbance. It won't happen again. Let us know when you come back. We'll put you waaaaaaay down the hall. Thanks again for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location near Dupont Circle, lots of restaurants & shops close by. The service at the Topaz is unbelivable, the staff are caring & they go out of there way to make your stay memorable. We were upgraded to a beautiful yoga room for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. I would definitely stay at the Topaz when visiting DC in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle110660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello Michelle,

Happy 30th Anniversary! We've been having more and more folks celebrating birthdays and anniversaries with us lately. Thanks for the awesome review and we'd love to have you back next year.

Sincerely,

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I travel to Washington DC for a few days every couple of months, and the Topaz Hotel is reliably excellent. Great location in Dupont Circle (close to restaturants, transportation, Starbucks, but on a quiet street). The staff are top-notch - super-friendly, and always eager to go the extra mile to arrange transportation, help with directions, make recommendations or respond to other special requests. Great place, great people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello Ruth,

Thanks for the great review! We're always happy to help and truly love chatting with our guests and helping them navigate through all that DC has to offer. We're looking forward to seeing you in a couple of months.

Sincerely,

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Feel like you are being welcomed back home and stay in a well maintained and clean hotel in a perfect location! Topaz is yet another Kimpton Hotel that understands the value of hospitality. Walking distance to the monuments, restaurants, and the metro - the location is truly ideal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliefromLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello Julie,

It's great to read this review! We appreciate your feedback and love to hear that we're living up to the Kimpton name! Come back and visit soon. By the way, I love Lancaster. I haven't made it back there in a while though.

Thanks,

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing