We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #75 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Staff =Fantastic..ALL of them. Rooms = Modern, unique, clean, comfortable. Minibar = wow awesome selection of everything you might want, Breakfast = not too pricey although the M&Ms were a bit wierd. Must be an American thing. I am now across the road in a more expensive hotel for a conference and it does not even begin to compare. All the extras, hair straightening iron (thank you!), free mini bar for joining their club.. yoga DVDs. They have thought about every little thing a person might want and have it sorted. Total comfort. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: If you want a comfy bed and a hotel room that looks and feels as new as it should for the price you...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hi Paula,

Thanks for the glowing recommendation! There's nothing that brightens our day more than reading reviews like this one. We view the M&Ms as more of a to-go trail mix item than a breakfast treat (although some attribute menu item to my insatiable sweet tooth). Either way, we're glad you stayed with us and can't wait to have you back.

Thanks again,

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Topaz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Topaz hotel is placed at N street ( horiz ) between 17 and 18th streets ( vert ) just aside of Dupont circle(10min). This gives you an nice opportunity to visit both Washngton DC goverment buildings, but also to shop at exclusive shops and eat in both fast food ( 5min) and exclusive restaurants(20 min). Subway ( expensive in DC) is nearby (15min walk). Walk to White House takes about 40minuttes.
Rooms are huge and luxury. We had an office, room, hall and bath.much mor than we needed. WiFi included, thorough Kimpton. Lobby was small, but stuff was very friendly. There is a brekfast / bar on the side of lobby, american style, so if you want continental brekfast you have to pay additional sum or search to eat on other place.
Minus is price, this as all other places in DC is expensive.
But if you want stay at DC , I can freely recommend it:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aligator1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hi aligator1975,

Thanks for the recommendation! I couldn't agree more about our location. It's pretty convenient for almost anything there is to do in DC. Drop by on your next visit to our Nation's Capital.

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I originally booked the hotel because it is pet friendly. and found out the service was great. Kelly at the front desk was very accomodating. The bartender, Rick, was very good. Conversational, service oriented, great hospitality overall. restaurant food was different from most hotels and very good. Morrocan donuts were great. Room was spacious, bed and pillows very comfy. definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hello Thomas,

Thanks for the great review. We love Kelly and Rick! They take great care of ours guests and are two of my favorite people to chat it up with. Thanks again for the review. We appreciate it.

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for a friend's bachelorette party and everything was amazing! The rooms are super clean and swanky and the staff was extremely helpful. They even helped our group catch cabs outside the hotel, which is not easy with 15+ girls! Location was perfect for our out of town guests - lots to walk to and so easily accessible. On top of everything, found that the price was one of the most affordable in the city - an amazing value. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting DC!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mqbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hi mqbw,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! Taxis for 15 ladies headed out celebrate some upcoming nuptials? No problem. We've got you covered. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you back soon.

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location just a block from Dupont and Conn Ave. Great staff - friendly, helpful and kind. Wine hour was great. Room was large for DC, clean and in great shape. No workout room but YMCA access one block away and Rock Creek Park for a run close by. Tons of great eats and drinnk in walking distance. Once again Kimpton two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Higher floors are always better in the city!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hi Stoweboard,

Thanks for posting this awesome review. I love that YMCA. I workout there a few times every week and it has everything I need and more. Thanks again for the feedback.

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at the Topaz the last night of our vacation. Great location, on a quiet side street, close to DuPont Circle and Embassy Row. Front desk staff were welcoming and Helpful. Building is older, but the facility has been renovated. Room is a very nice size. Decor is modern (what you would expect from a boutique hotel) although they cut some corners on the renovations: i.e. painted rather than replaced door jams and base boards. But that really is a inor detail. My primary complaint was the bed. The box spring was obviously old and worn. The wood frame made a sound like two cats fighting every time I turned over. Made for a long night with less than a restful sleep. Perhaps this was only a problem in our room however it was disappointing and not what I would expect. Otherwise this is a charming boutique hotel in a great neighborhood.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doublem001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hello Doublem001,

Thanks for posting a review of your stay with us. It's great to read that you enjoyed your visit overall. And thanks for the feedback on the beds. We'll get the replacements for the ones that need them.

Hope you make your way back soon.

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I traveled here with my husband for his business trip. We could not get a reservation at the Palomar, so this was our second choice. However, we had a great stay. The staff was attentive and our room was very nice. There is a nice complimentary happy hour every night, which is a nice way to interact with other guests. The location is great, with the subway stop being only a few minutes walk. Lots of lovely restaurants nearby. I definitely would go here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hi Sue,

Thanks for the awesome review! Glad you got to carve out some fun time during your husband's business trip. Hopefully we've now eclipsed our brothers and sisters over at the Palomar as your top choice. A little friendly competition never hurt anyone :)

Thanks again,

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 142 in Washington DC
1,264 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 142 in Washington DC
1,859 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,125 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,681 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 142 in Washington DC
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $136 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing