We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, perfect location, big room, very pet-friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #83 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, perfect location, big room, very pet-friendly!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed at the Topaz Hotel for three nights this past weekend and am wholeheartedly giving it a 5 star review. I picked the Topaz for a number of reasons: (1) Great location, (2) Reasonable price, including free valet parking for all hybrid vehicles, and (3) It is pet friendly. What I couldn't have expected was how friendly every member of the staff was. I will expand some of these topics.

Location - The hotel is in a very safe neighborhood just a couple blocks away from the many great restaurants, bars, and shops around Dupont circle. It is also two blocks from more fun places along the 17th street corridor. Though we didn't do much sight-seeing, it is very walkable to the White House and the monuments. And it's very close to the Dupont metro stop and many different bus lines. It's basically in the perfect spot. Oh, and if you're here on a weekend, definitely get brunch at the Tabard Inn next door, but make sure to make a reservation in advance!

Staff and Rooms - I cannot express how impressed I was by the staff at the Topaz. Each person we encountered - from the front desk clerks to the baggage/valet guy to the maids to the handyman - took the time to say hi, smile, and greet us. They were all so friendly and nice and helped make this a truly enjoyable experience. Additionally, I was surprised by how large the room was. We had a standard king room and it was so spacious, with a nook for the desk and another nook by the bathroom. Oh, I should also mention that if you have a hybrid (as we do), you get free valet parking during your stay. This is a huge value because parking in DC can be pretty steep.

Pet Friendly - I should qualify this by stating that I am not one of those people who must take their dog on vacation with them and in fact, this is the first hotel I have ever taken him to. However, I know that DC is a very walkable city and intended to bring the pup around the city with me. I had read that the Kimpton Hotel chain is pet-friendly, but I didn't realize exactly how friendly they are. They offered water and food bowls, a dog bed, and extra baggies upon check-in. They also accommodated my request to be at the end of the hall, so I could be as sheltered from other guests as possible. Every time I took the dog out for a walk, the staff came over to pet him and say hi. And on our return, they greeted us with a treat, which he loved. This is not simply a place where dogs are allowed - it's a hotel where (friendly and well-behaved) dogs are actually encouraged to stay. As a pet owner, I really appreciated this. I believe there are also pet-free floors for those who are allergic or who don't want to hear the occasional bark. And just in case you forgot any pet supplies, there are two pet stores within a short walking distance.

Again, I would like to thank the entire staff at the Topaz Hotel for making this a fantastic stay. We will certainly be staying here again when we travel back to DC and will make sure to seek out other Kimpton hotels in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasonk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Jasonk77,

Thanks for the great recommendation! There’s little that we love more than 5 star online reviews. And yours is particularly flattering. Of everything mentioned, the thing that’s most gratifying is to read that you felt well taken care of by our folks throughout the hotel. We go out of our way to try to bring a little sunshine to each of our guests every day. And when our guests are enjoying themselves it makes our jobs that much easier. Thanks again for the stellar feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    418
    121
    47
    24
See reviews for
221
313
110
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The location of this hotel is really good – in a quiet street not too far away from the main attractions. The room was stylish. Unfortunately we did not find the beds very comfortable, as the mattresses were too hard.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton,nj
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the Topaz over New Years weekend. As many have stated in previous reviews the hotel and the staff are wonderful. The hotel is small and very comfortable. Those looking for a large lobby and reception area should look elsewhere. The hotel is clean and well kept. The room (we had a double queen) was nicely appointed,small bathroom but very large vanity area. Bed and bedding were very comfortable. The staff can not be beat! You are made to feel at home from the moment you first walk through the door and everytime you return no matter what time it may be. A big thank you to Kelly S. who always went the extra mile. Also to Stephanie who was a big help after our flight was cancelled on Monday morning. Location can not be beat at tops a 7 minute walk to Dupont Circle and all that it offers as well as the Metro. Also on a quite street. The next time we return to the DC area the Topaz will be our home away from home. Nice job by Kimpton once again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear bpets,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your New Year’s Eve stay with us. We honestly look at New Year’s Eve as our Super Bowl. Our team worked really hard to ensure that everyone had an opportunity to enjoy a great time and comfortable stay. As you can see from previous reviews Kelly definitely a service superstar and it’s great (however not surprising) to hear that Stefani was accommodating during the last minute plan change. We’re happy to be your “home away from home” and look forward to your return.

Thanks Again,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Kimpton Topaz is a small hotel located just a few blocks from the Dupont Circle Red line Metro. The hotel is staffed by friendly and helpful people who not only aspire to make your stay comfortable but also make you feel welcome with frequent greetings and helpful advice. The area is safe with lots of eateries, bars, shops, etc. Also interesting to walk past the various embassies.

We found the rooms quiet and comfortable. The bathroom is a bit cramped but otherwise our stay was very pleasant. Housekeeping was efficient and unobtrusive.

Our rate included breakfast and valet parking which is a real money-saver as hotels in the area can charge upwards of $40/night for parking. The lobby is quite small and the Topaz bar does double-duty as a breakfast area. Again cramped but still functional. We enjoyed the complimentary wine reception in the evening (5:00 - 6:00 pm) and the flavored water dispenser in the lobby. The hotel is advertised as pet-friendly which was a concern for us since we are not dog-people, but the small pets were few and harmless to have around.

Overall - highly recommended for a D.C. stay.

Room Tip: Let the staff know if you have allergies or are traveling with pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear weinstk,

Thank you for the great review! We feature fun packaged deals that offer great value for guests who may be planning to utilize many of the services that are available at the hotel. The lobby and lounge are very cozy spaces and I think that’s a part of our charm. The hotel is small enough that we can wrap our arms around guests who are into that. And we’re big enough that the guests that aren’t into that can enjoy a hassle-free visit, as well. Thanks again for the recommendation.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, NJ
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We decided to visit DC during winter break and had a wonderful time staying at the Topaz. As others have said the service could not have been better and Kimpton seems to be constantly looking for ways to plus the experience at little or no cost to the customer. We LOVED the free valet parking for our hybrid car. The hotel's location is very good for DC right where you want to be for evening meals and shopping but very close to the daytime tourist locations. We will certainly want to visit this hotel again in the future

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are VERY quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Weismant,

Thanks for the review! The hybrid parking incentive is one of the many ways we try to support sustainable travel and we’re all about adding value and fun to the experience. We definitely hope you stop by the hotel again in the future.

Thanks Again,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I traveled to DC with our two pups over the Christmas holiday and we are so thrilled we found the Topaz!! It was our first time in DC and first experience with the Kipton chain and it really was a great hotel experience. We booked a king room and it was huge!! This hotel is so convenient to everything, staff is so warm and welcoming, hotel is beautiful, great coffee, hot chocolate, and wine hour (all complimentary for hotel guests) I really could go on and on!!! If we ever make it back, we are definitely staying here again! DC was an amazing city...too much to do and see..wish we had more time there. Thanks Topaz and DC for such an awesome vacay!! ~The Kremer's

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moralilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear moralilac,

It was great having you with us. We really appreciate the great feedback about Topaz, Kimpton, and our Nation’s Capital. We like to think our rooms are reasonably huge and for a cozy city hotel. We love Wine Hour as much as our guests do. At a hotel like Topaz, it’s really more like having people over to our home than a “hotel wine reception.” We’ll light a few candles, put a couple of different wine options out, play some Washington, DC trivia. Who knows? We might even break out the hula hoops! Come back and see us again soon and bring the pups. We’re cool with that.

Thanks Again,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloeil, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

What a great place! We stayed there for three nights, and we had the best time. The hotel is Very cozy, the staff was very friendly, and the room was very comfortable.
The location is withing walking distance to the white house and all the restaurants. Also within walking distance to the dupont circle. If you like a stylish hotel this place has it.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epicurean50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear epicurean50,

Thanks for taking a moment to post this recommendation. We appreciate the love and I’m definitely going to share your feedback with our team. We hope you come back again soon!
Thanks Again,

Donte Johnson
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing