We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - chic yet inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #80 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect - chic yet inviting”
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Was there for two nights on business 12/8-10. I am a fan of the Kimpton experience and have made a point of staying at their hotels in the Bay Area, Vancouver, and D.C.. This was my first time at the Topaz and was wary because it's a 3-star, not a 4-star propertly. However, i can safely say that it is now my favorite Kimpton property, and well-suited (for diferrenet reasons) for both business travelers and couples seeking romance.

Tripadvisor reviews indicate that the rooms are large, but i was still surprised by the size of the rooms. Also, the pictures concerned me because i thought the room might be gaudy or worse, shabby, but is was gorgeous and inviting.

Leopard print bathrobe certainly a nice touch, though it stayed on the hangar

A great touch is the alcove with the desk, allowing you to get work done without staring at or even seeing your bed.

Hotel staff were always courteous, welcoming you back but not being too overbearing about it. Neighborhood was great. Lovely tree-lined residential street just off of Dupont Cicle. All the conveniences were nearby.

One possible snafu was finessed by the management from a negative to a positive: the restaurant and bar were closed for a private party (a dreaded office xmas party with a chessy bar band, no less) on my first night. Upon check-in i was provided with drink tickets for the bar at their neighboring hotel, the Rouge, just a few blocks away. I appreciated this gesture and certainly enjoyed the free drinks!

In any case, I look forward to returning for non-business reasons, and perhaps then the leopard print robe will see some action.......

  • Liked — enourmous, luscious rooms
  • Disliked — not much -- elevators could be faster, but so what
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nyc_digitaldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    426
    124
    49
    25
See reviews for
233
318
110
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Stayed 5 nights during Thanksgiving week. A wonderful hotel, located on a lovely tree-lined street near Dupont Circle (and the metro). Great room with one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. Wonderful amenities, including free herbal teas and a kettle for boiling water. Friendly, helpful staff and a groovy bar, too. We met up with Diesel, one of the four legged guests allowed in the hotel. Also has one of the most amazing wet bars and goodies we've ever seen, including Altoids and new age-y cds. You can schedule a massage through the front desk. I recommend this highly, as I had a great rubdown right in our room. This is our first stay in a Kimpton hotel but it won't be our last.

  • Liked — The huge, soft, comfy bed
  • Disliked — I liked everything about this hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metsfan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel... Fantastic!!
The entrance hall is not very attractive at the first sight but you get charmed immediately: professional staff and quick check-in.
The room was massive, clean, charming, full of lovely decorative items (60's syle furniture and decoration).
Very quiet and cozy.
We highly recommend this place to honeymooners, business or whoever...
The location is quite good, in spite of a lack of places to eat nearby.

A & I - Spain.

  • Liked — The room, definetely massive and well decorated.
  • Disliked — Not easy to find good places to eat nearby.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ismaelyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

I got this hotel for less than $80 a night on priceline, but it was August so probably a quiet time for DC hotels. I arrived late on a Friday evening and the bar was lively & noisy (I wasn't in the bar but could hear the noise at reception & there were people milling around in the entrance coming out to smoke outside or get some air). But the room I was given was fine & I couldn't hear any noise once was I was in it. The hotel is really handy for Dupont Circle & various places I visited like the Phillips Collection. the staff were friendly & helpful, especially when I managed to leave my room key in the room when I went to get ice. The free wi-fi worked well. And the room was spacious & nicely decorated. There was no coffee maker, but there's a Starbucks nearby. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Spacious, comfy room
  • Disliked — No coffee maker
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scousepeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

I do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Upon arrival the room was not clean, there were dirty items the previous guest had left behind. The room was not cleaned in a timely way eg until late in the afternoon on the weekend when I was coming back to change. The heating and air control never worked. Room 206 is right next to a service door the hotel staff uses all night long. If you do stay here do not stay in room 206. With so many choices in DC there is no need to choose this hotel.

  • Liked — Wireless internet
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsalot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

This property is very conveniently located in a clean and tranquil street, away from any traffic. The charming Dupont Circle area is within a short walking distance.

I have always favored the Kimpton family hotels because of the unbeatable value for money they tend to deliver (see my review on the Monaco Hotel in San Francisco). The hotel is a classic Kimpton establishment, decorated in darker shades of earthy colors, with standard size guest rooms and bathrooms. As most Kimpton properties, they tend to keep their rooms rather poorly lit, creating a very soothing and relaxing atmosphere, as compared to most supermodern hotels with wall to wall windows and office-like rooms.

My bed was wonderful, the linens were great and the overall quality of sleep was exceptional due to the lack of any noise at all.

Several additional remarks. Valet parking is free for low emission vehicles. They allow dogs (extra fee). Most taxi drivers do not know this hotel implying that this jewel is REALLY well hidden.

Overall, I strongly recommend this hotel. The value it delivers for the money is exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

I have stayed at the Topaz a few times for business and it never dissapoints. I stayed there recently and it was another great stay, at an incredible rate of $116! The rooms are big and quiet for a city hotel and the beds are comfortable. Enjoy the pebbles!

  • Liked — Rooms, very relaxing
  • Disliked — Dinning/Restaraunt
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mkferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,240 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 141 in Washington DC
1,822 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,057 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,624 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing