We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“quaint and old fashioned!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Inn
Ranked #119 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“quaint and old fashioned!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We rather liked the quaintness of this place, the young african/american girl on reception when we checked in was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are old-fashioned but really for the price we couldn't complain - although the breakfast was awful!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    83
    89
    37
    33
See reviews for
31
85
51
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed three nights at the windsor inn. My wife and me have been in several hotels before. Even on the lower end of the price scale we have never experienced such a dirty hotel before. Our room was smelling and dirty. The bed sheet was dirty. The air con was only a fan. It was to hot in the room evrn with the fan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seeraren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here in October 2010 and had many frightening experiences. The hotel was pretty empty and I did not see another customer the entire rime I stayed although I constantly heard walking outside my door on the second (3rd?) floor and saw shadows underneath the door as if someone walked by. I opened the door to check maybe 5 different times to see no one around.. I also had a feeling the whole night like someone was in my room watching me. When I finally had the nerve to turn the tv off and get some sleep, I felt the corner of my bed sink down as if someone had sat on it. I turned the tv back on for another hour or so and I fell asleep with the tv on. About an hour later I had a terrifying nightmare of a woman with sharp teeth laying next to me on my bed and felt her bite the back of my neck. I woke up immediately and literally felt like I had been bitten. I was petrified. I have read other reviews about loud hallways and temperature changes in the rooms. I just wanted to share my experience to see if anyone else had experienced anything similar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 914Ashley1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I think that the review of this hotel boils down to expectations. If you read through the reviews – it seems to be a question of expectations vs reality. Look – this place is old. Paint is peeling off the walls. No elevator. Continental breakfast is weak (I would call it coffee and bread). If it was middle of summer I am not sure the AC unit could keep up. The TV’s in the room are 15” from 1990. One of the guys at the front desk is creepy, one guy is just mean, and the only gal that works there is terrific and I am sorry I can’t remember her name (but she is the only lady). On the other side it’s in a great area. You can walk to many good restaurants on 18th or the metro in Dupont Circle. Room is clean. Water is hot. Towels are plush (better than Marriot or Hilton) and the bed is flat and comfy. Bottom line is if you are looking for the Ritz this isn’t it. If you are looking for a good value room with clean towels and beds this place is very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bmaguire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Peninsula, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We enjoyed our first trip to DC, this Inn's location is 5 star. Don't expect a luxurious b&b, more like discovering a fun, funky, previously cherished find in a consignment shop. The employees we're friendly. I can't understand the angry, negative reviews. The "African guy", Moussa, was only kind, helpful and charming with us. (But, we didn't arrive with attitude) Dosn't everyone print out travel things?
Breakfast choices, Cheerios, toast, pastry, bagel, cream cheese, butter and jam, tea, tasty OJ and decent coffee. A breakfast room bonus, on a couple mornings we had opportunity to chat with other guests from all around the world. Whole Foods is nearby, so pick up some fruit to supplement all that yummy bread. We walked most everywhere, the area is full of young professional people, also walking. We never felt unsafe.
Would stay here again.
Can't speak to the basement room. Sounds dreary...

Room Tip: For people with pet allergies, kitty cat is on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel and staff in this place is horrible. I booked my room with two beds with Hotels.com and have never had a problem anywhere but here. When I arrived, the front desk guy, an African guy, looked shady right form the start. He said that I had no reservations made under my name and he made me wait until they called them from Hotels.com after I called them to find out what was going on. After clearing that up, he said rudely how lucky I was and this and that. He then gave me the key to the room and it only had one bed. I went back up to demand a room with the two beds like I had reserved and he wanted me to pay him $20 for THE FAVOR. This time I got angry and demanded the room right away. I finally got it after hearing so much nonsense from this guy. When I checked out, I checked my checking balance and saw that this same African guy had charged an extra night. I called him several times and when he recognized me, he just dodged the whole thing and said that he was busy and hung up.
If you go to this place, be careful if you run into a middle aged African man with a French accent. The guy is a scam and should be fired for making the hotel look so bad and trying to rip off customers.

Room Tip: Avoid the African front desk guy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafa56255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.c.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel was shabby b&b, bed was awful, furniture worn, sink in bedroom, shower& wc separate, security to room just a key.
I was given room off lobby. Left for a few hours and decided it didn't feel safe. Checked out after 2 hours.
Desk clerk offered other room but I declined.

I checked in but left the room and booked a room in another hotel for less money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#108 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#124 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#118 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#113 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Inn

Property: Windsor Inn
Address: 1842 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3316
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Inn is a charming forty-eight room European-style hotel conveniently located on 16th Street several blocks from either the DuPont Circle Metro station or the Memorial/Cardoza Metro station. Business travelers as well as tourists seek out the Windsor Inn for its rooms that offer comfort, location, and value. The Windsor Inn's art deco lobby has original moldings and floor tiles from the 1920s renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Washington Dc
Windsor Inn Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing