We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for exploring”
Review of Windsor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Inn
Ranked #129 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We found this accommodation through a budget/backpacker website - and we were impressed with the hotel given the price. Nice furnishings, good customer service and a safe, comfortable and warm place to stay in a good, central neighbourhood.

It is an old building and you will need to wrangle your own bags to your room, but this wasn't really an issue for us.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_girl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 331 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

Positive points v clean, nice area not far to dupont circle, restaurants nearby on 17th st, no probe with wifi.
Negative points decor in room a bit tatty and could do with an update/refurb, thin Walls and doors which had gaps at the bottom, sink
in room.
Some may find shower room on the snug size as it literally looks like it was built in a cupboard and shares with the wc.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

The room was inexpensive and clean, but old, dated and in the basement. The door didn't close completely (although it could be locked). Breakfast of Tang-like yellow liquid,cereal, poor coffee and pastries edible but not great.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

As others have said, the Windsor has gotten mixed reviews and we weren't sure what we were getting into. For me that's the fun of a lot of trips. We were greeted at the front desk by Justin. He does his job extremely well and printed us walking maps of local places etc. He was very, very helpful to us DC newcomers. Pointing out places to go and where to buy walking shoes. He helped us out a ton and we owe him one.

I was looking for something a little off beat in visiting DC. I didn't want the standard Holiday Inn room. We were looking for a getaway, not an already been done in Everywhere USA. The Windsor exceeded our expectations.

I read about no hot water in the showers. My shower was blistering hot. Small rooms. Our room was ample for two people. Wet towels. Our towels were dry. Some people can just not be pleased. And there were Get Around books in the room. And Shakespeare. Nice touch.

People just like to complain. If you want a nice place to stay in DC and you aren't concerened that everything is perfect, this is the place. If a corner of wallpaper is unattached and it will give you problems all night, try someplace else.

All around the hospitality is second to none and I would recommend the Windsor to anyone visiting DC. We were going to a show at the 930 Club and this was the most reasonable hotel in the area. I would certainly recommend this to other middle class, low hangup travelers. And PS...Justin deserves a raise.

We were in room 412 and if available, we would take that room again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasonRamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

After reading reviews from tripadvisors, my friends and I were a bit skeptical of Windsor Inn before we arrived. We chose Windsor Inn primarily because of the reasonable rates and also because most of the hotels in Washington D.C. were fully booked because of the Cherry Blossom Festival.

But the moment we stepped into the hotel lobby, we were pleasantly surprise. The receptionist was very warm, friendly and helpful. The room is clean, the bed is comfortable though the carpet just outside the bathroom was wet. I also enjoy the simple continental breakfast consisting cereal, bread, muffins.. The neighbourhood is nice and pleasant and seem safe. At least we did not hear police sirens throughout the whole night ! :-)

Overall, we were very happy and enjoyed our 2 nights stay in the hotel.

A pleasant and quaint hotel. Highly recommended for budget traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrs_phoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed there from 1 Apr to 3 Apr. Reasonably priced, location is not bad, short walk to Dupont Circle metro station, near eatery (Korean, Thai etc). To get to the National Mall where the key attractions are is a bit far, about 13 blocks.

Loved their free breakfast and wifi. Tough breakfast is simple, but they have toasts, muffins, croissants, coffee, tea and juices, it's more than sufficient for me.

Wifi is good, for your iPhones, laptops etc. I got connected hassle-free.

We met a receptionist Jamie who is very friendly, extremely helpful.

Recommended if you are looking for no-frill accommodation. Note that it doesn't have escalator, so if you have big and heavy luggages, it's a bit tricky.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

It is a decent hotel in a nice neighborhood. I would consider it a boutique hotel. There is a small convenience store very close by so it worked well. It is a little strange that this hotel doesn't have key cards instead they use actual keys that they have you turn in your key when you leave the hotel. They always remembered who I was when I came back and didn't have to provide any information to get the key. There are several good places to eat nearby and a Subway about two blocks away if you don't want to spend much on food. Beautiful safe neighborhood. The beds were comfortable and it was quiet. Very small room but it served its purpose. The free internet was rather spotty but I could get it work after several tries. I was there for 4 days and during that time I saw two people trying to check in at the front desk but there was a problem with their reservation. Not sure what happened but one guy was so mad he said he was going to contact the better business bureau.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momtryingtoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#131 of 142 in Washington DC
258 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#128 of 142 in Washington DC
393 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 142 in Washington DC
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#119 of 142 in Washington DC
1,857 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#86 of 142 in Washington DC
690 reviews
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarter...
#110 of 142 in Washington DC
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Inn

Address: 1842 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3316
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $91 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Inn is a charming forty-eight room European-style hotel conveniently located on 16th Street several blocks from either the DuPont Circle Metro station or the Memorial/Cardoza Metro station. Business travelers as well as tourists seek out the Windsor Inn for its rooms that offer comfort, location, and value. The Windsor Inn's art deco lobby has original moldings and floor tiles from the 1920s renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Washington Dc
Windsor Inn Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing