We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-worldly charm on a budget”
Review of The Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Embassy Inn
Ranked #130 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old-worldly charm on a budget”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Embassy Inn, even having come from a conference at the Willard. All the staff were lovely, and facilities were adequate for our needs. Best of all, the hotel is in an old row house with a rose garden in front. The interior is from the 20's, making for a cozy stay. Just a block away are an array of popular restaurants; and transportation is nearby. The breakfast is barely adequate, but we stopped at Safeway, one block away, for fruit and supplies. If you're coming to DC on a budget, I would recommend this meticulously clean and comfy inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvanscha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    60
    78
    38
    48
See reviews for
38
59
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. They were very nice to me. I extended my stay and they gave me a good rate. I had a quiet room. The bathroom was clean and up to date.
It is in a good location. You can walk to a lot of restaurants and shops in Dupont Circle.

Room Tip: We were in 401, a good size room and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The receptionist on duty when we arrived was most unhelpful and disgusting. He Made us watt for 30 minutes when the Room was ready when we arrived just because check in was half an hour later. But this was not all. Today we discovered he had charged us $ 164 on our credit card as if the room hadn't been payed beforehand. We phoned The hotel and they told us they would refund The money charged, which was charged by The red haired receptionist who checked us in. The most AWFUL person I've come across in my life

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terecurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in early September. We got the Vamoose bus to Bethesda, and used the metro to get into DC so having the Dupont Circle subway station near to this hotel was definitely useful.

A lady called Dolores checked us in and she was brilliant. Really friendly and welcoming, answered any questions we had and provided us with maps of the area and nearby restaurants/takeaways.

The rooms were an okay size, not loads of room to have your bags out and walk around, but big enough. The bathroom was really nice, with toiletries provided and the room, bedding and all towels were really clean. We had a room away from the elevator so we had no issues with noise.

The white house is down one road, about a half an hour walk but easy to get to. There is a safeway two minutes away which is really convenient as you have full use of a communal microwave.

The only negatives are that the doorbell is quite loud, and annoying. Doesn't really seem to be in use for any specific reason. And it would have been nice to have a fridge, as it was so hot when we visited.

All in all, I would stay there again. Good price, good location and really nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The name suggests something distinguished. Indeed, so does the exterior. But the room (sorry, I mean damp basement) I stayed in was distinguished only by its awfulness. Maybe I could have put up with the smell of mildew if the room weren't scattered with dead insects too. Breakfast is served in a tiny (basement) room, so that guests have to spill out onto a few tables and chairs in the narrow corridor. Not a nice experience, even on a budget.

Room Tip: Maybe the ground floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shepleygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The rack rates for this property are steep: breakfast room is tiny and guests are asked not to use the ice machines provided! Hotel is clean and within a quiet, safe residential area. Straight walk to the White House, which we did several times, as long as you don't mind a 15-20 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Reservations were made for two double bed rooms. When we arrived we were told this was not what was confirmed and it was our error. I could get another room at cost to me, if it is available in the morning.I decided no on that option, why should I pay it was not my error. To and insult to injury, I was put in a room next to the laundry room and a constant sound of a motor, compressor running 24hrs.. The help are in the laundry room talking, early in the am, as if no one else is on the floor.I woke up to washers and dryers going at 7am. The room should not be occupied. I was not able to sleep at the head of the bed due to a 600 watt light shining through the window. I drove 12hrs, had reservations for 5 days. I will never book at either of this companies locations. No cable in the room.

Room Tip: Do not occupy room 106. Check your condition of the rooms before you book them. If you care!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank powerone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#128 of 141 in Washington DC
324 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#129 of 141 in Washington DC
383 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#118 of 141 in Washington DC
1,772 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#116 of 141 in Washington DC
295 reviews
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarter...
#107 of 141 in Washington DC
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Embassy Inn

Property: The Embassy Inn
Address: 1627 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3063
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Embassy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn is a charming thirty eight-room European style hotel conveniently located on 16th Street several blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station. Business travelers as well as tourists seek out the Embassy Inn for its comfort, location, and value. The Embassy Inn originated in 1910 as an eight-unit apartment house. In 1919, it was converted into a thirty-room tourist hotel and was re-opened in 1987 as a thirty-eight hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Embassy Hotel Washington Dc
The Embassy Inn Washington Dc
Embassy Inn Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing