We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighborhood. Bus stop a few steps from the door, metro stop 10 min walking distance”
Review of The Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Embassy Inn
Ranked #129 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood. Bus stop a few steps from the door, metro stop 10 min walking distance”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Rooms have thin walls and you can hear your neighbor snoring or coughing or even talking.. Not accessible for handicapped, there are stairs before and after the door to the hotel. The guy I think is the boss is a bit rude, everything he does for you seems to cost him a lot. The other members of the personnel are nice, instead. Not much to eat or drink for breakfast. Big, big, big fault: you have to ring the bell every time you want to get in the hotel, the door is always locked - noght and day - and the bell rings so loud you can hear it from every room on the first floor (I was in the furthermost room of the floor, and could hear it loud and clear). Not so sure it's worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Helpful?
Thank guidocorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    60
    77
    38
    48
See reviews for
38
59
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
voorschoten
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

You can notice that Washington DC is an easy place to make money for a hotel. The location is perfect, so your hotel does not need to be. The good things: clean room, good bed and bathroom. I liked the early check in after an overnight flight, so that exceeded expectation.
What I did not like: the loud doorbell that rings all the time and you hear everything in this hotel. Why not improved on small things if you can?
The receptionist was calling and negotiating discounts on the phone so please do that instead booking on internet. He/she quoted a price which was USD 20 lower than my internet price which had a so called lowest price guarantee. The breakfast was average, bagels in a big plastic bag, muffincs, danish, cream cheese and jelly that's it. Nothing special. If you like the location and a smaller hotel go for it, but next time I would prefer to take the metro and get a bit more value for money. All in all: not bad but average.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a charming hotel located on 16th St NW with an infamous house located at the end of the street! Location-wise, I found this hotel to be perfect. The White House is approximately a half hour walk away and takes in some nice buildings and side-streets along the way.

Accommodation-wise, the hotel is very presentable inside (although they were undertaking some groundworks to the front at my time of visiting). The rooms are tastefully decorated and offer c comfortable bed and all amenties you would expect. However, I found the room and en-suite to be slightly too small and although well-furnished, offered little space to conveniently place cases and bags to one side.

However, the rooms and hotel in general were very clean, the breakfasts are good and the staff were helpful and friendly. I would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask to view the rooms beforehand, otherwise you may end up with a room slightly too small for comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wycombe-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked this hotel as it offered the best value for money. It didn't disappoint. It's in a great location you can walk to the White House and the Metro is just round the corner. Our room was clean and the staff were friendly. We had a room on the 5th floor. It was quiet which was great after a long day exploring. I would a stay at this hotel again. It's not The Ritz's but if you want value accommodation in the capital city this is the place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powellsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

In a nutshell...

Pros:
-it's a beautiful building
-location, location, location
-didn't break the bank

Cons:
-staff isn't overly friendly, but accommodating nonetheless
-walls are paper thin and you hear all movements and noise from surrounding rooms
-street noise late at night

At the end of the day, it was a clean, conveniently located place to rest our heads for one night after a long day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyM356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel as the whole is not bad. Rooms are quite big and clean. There are amenities in a bathroom (including: soap, shampoo, body lotion, etc.). Unfortunately our room has a window overlooking the road, and windows did not suppress noise at all. I felt like I was on the road.
Exept this, hotel is worth that money. Breakfast are just ok, coffee, tea, juice and some croissants.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room not overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I decided at the last minute to drive my teenaged college daughter and myself to Washington DC to attend the inauguration. After spending all day Saturday searching for a place to stay via phone and tripadvisor, I was able to book this Inn for our two nights stay. .whatever we could find at an affordable price and walking distance to the Mall, White House etc. We did not have high expectation of this place based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. It wasnt too bad!
The hotel is quaint, small, no frills atall but it fit the purpose.

Pros- clean, nice location, small continental breakfast area, quiet area and quiet hotel. Felt safe. Bus stop right in front of hotel.

Cons- Verysmall bathroom. No sink counter space for girls' stuff. Shower hot water didnt last very long. No closet but have chest and armoire.
very plain white bed comforter which didnt go with the skirting.we had a corner room with a very akward shape. No hotel parking lot. We used a public parking lot located blocks away from hotel. Staff not very friendly except for one female desk attendant.
Overall the stay was okay. Not the worst, not the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blessedcharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#127 of 141 in Washington DC
320 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#128 of 141 in Washington DC
376 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
1,735 reviews
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarter...
#108 of 141 in Washington DC
1,298 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#113 of 141 in Washington DC
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Embassy Inn

Property: The Embassy Inn
Address: 1627 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3063
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Embassy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn is a charming thirty eight-room European style hotel conveniently located on 16th Street several blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station. Business travelers as well as tourists seek out the Embassy Inn for its comfort, location, and value. The Embassy Inn originated in 1910 as an eight-unit apartment house. In 1919, it was converted into a thirty-room tourist hotel and was re-opened in 1987 as a thirty-eight hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Embassy Hotel Washington Dc
The Embassy Inn Washington Dc
Embassy Inn Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing