We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phoenix Park Hotel
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Good location across from Union Station and the Metro and near several different bus routes. Within walking distance of the Capital Building and the National Mall. Check in and check out took only minutes and the desk staff were efficient and very friendly. Even though the room, on the fifth floor, overlooked two outdoor restaurants which were open late into the night and were busy, it was always very quiet. The King deluxe room had a sofa and club chair and large ottoman / coffee table. The king bed was very comfortable with nice linens and pillows. The compact bathroom had great water pressure in the shower and a wonderful showerhead. The towels were thick and soft.

Room Tip: Room 513 was a corner unit with windows on two sides. It was bright all through the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    441
    129
    46
    47
See reviews for
288
380
134
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Went to D.C. to attend a religious event sponsored by the Dominicans from the Dominican House of Studies in D.C. at the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception. Stayed two nights at the Phoenix and enjoyed our stay there.

Our room was a bit small but it had two double beds that were very comfortable and the usual amenities. It lacked a refrigerator and microwave.
Parking was very accessible and free. Valet parking was $50 a day which we did not take advantage of since self parking was free and so close to the hotel.

The hotel was within walking distance (several blocks) to the Capitol which was in view from the entrance to the hotel.

The "Dubliner Pub" was attached to the hotel and it had great food and service; a bit pricey but not for this area of D.C.

Room Tip: Suits are more expensive but well worth it from what I was told. They have a dining room, a work are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arizonasaguaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and found our location perfect for your needs and our staff looked after you so well. While I understand that you did not utilize our valet parking during your visit, I want to clarify for readers that you must have parked your car on the street and avoided the parking meters. The hotel does not offer any free self parking option. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I will continue to stay here when I visit Washington DC every year. Superb location and staff. Comfortable and clean. High end bath towels and bedding. The only downside (which happens every time that I stay here) is the WiFi is down. This trip it was down for 3 of my 5 days.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
I thank you for your many visit and sharing your comments. Regarding our Internet, I am happy to report that we completed the installation of a new wireless Internet service in the hotel on August 15, 2014 with expanded wireless coverage and new 50mp pipeline. We expect you will not find Internet to be an issue on future visits.

David Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Phoenix Park Hotel because it was very close to Union Station and were pleased to discover it was a great choice. Comfortable & clean rooms, close to a good variety of dining options & sights, and very considerate & polite staff. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and your visit. We hope to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

While the hotel is older and not a glamorous destination, the beds are comfortable, the location is excellent, and the staff is courteous. Our king room was clean and comfortable, if a bit worn, but we heard no road noise on our 6th floor location overlooking the postal museum. Walked a couple of blocks to the U.S. Capitol, and from there all the way down the mall to Washington monument and White House. Directly across from union station for those who want to take metro, but also easy access to the rental bicycle stations. Next time we would rent the bikes rather than walking as much as we did, but still easy location if you go by foot to all the main sites on the Mall, plus Fords Theatre is walkable too.
Would recommend this hotel if you can get a great rate as we did through a third party site, which also gave half off valet parking fees.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
I am so glad you found our location perfect - as we think it is!! with all the attractions and METRO so close at hand. And found our staff so friendly and helpful and enjoyed our charm and design. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was close to Union Station and the Capitol building. Our tour departed from Union Station and this hotel was almost right across the street. With food being expensive in DC, we found that Union Station with its food court and restaurants was also a great place to eat. Our room was very small, but that may have been because we did not book directly with the hotel. It was less expensive than other hotels in the area. It is an older historic hotel and very nice inside. The staff were very nice. We did not do the valet parking for $50 per night, but parked about 1 block away for $21 per night - a very short walk - to save the money. Would recommend this hotel for those who want to stay downtown. Not all rooms were as small as ours.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djhouk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are so pleaesd you found our Capitol Hill location ideal and appreciated our classic decor. We thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel met every expectation we had for a trip to our nation's capital. It was within walking distance to all of the major attractions and walking distance to Union Station to travel anywhere else. I can't say enough about the hotel and staff; worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamdeb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We thank you for your very nice comments and are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
The Kimpton George Hotel
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,994 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#96 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington Convention ...
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Hotel

Property: Phoenix Park Hotel
Address: 520 N Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1596
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Phoenix Park, a premier option for downtown Washington DC hotels and just steps from Union Station, the offices of the U.S. Congress, and close to the city's most notable attractions, is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Phoenix Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park Washington Dc
Hotel Phoenix Park
Pheonix Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing