We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A good choice if a full kitchen is important to you ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Click Here For Best Rate!
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A good choice if a full kitchen is important to you ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I think this hotel would be a very good choice for families or business travelers who are in DC for more than a few nights because the room I had was more like a mini-apartment. I had a full kitchen, a small separate bedroom with a door, and a sitting area with a desk. I do not know if this is the case for all rooms in the hotel -- this room was selected for me by my hosts in DC. The pool is small but was most welcome in the summer heat.

I have just a few minor quibbles: the bathroom was not as clean as I would have liked, not gross, just not spotless; the carpets in the common areas are definitely showing their age; and I did not get the free Washington Post advertised on the website. Also, I am not sure if the hotel's wireless was down.

I personally do not love the Foggy Bottom area because it is boring at night and not convenient to the more interesting parts of the City (i.e. U Street), but the hotel is walking distance to the K Street area and the White House, so it really depends why you are in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcusandgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at One Washington Circle Hotel. We do feature full kitchens in most of our rooms which is very convenient for families and long term guests. While not really central to the area you were visiting we are just a short metro ride to most of the D.C. attractions. We appreciate having had the opportunity to serve you.

Brandi Barbee-Bailey
One Washington Circle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    508
    129
    33
    36
See reviews for
479
227
96
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Got this hotel's name from an on-line travel service originally. Would stay there again. Food was excellent. Good chef! Convenient to the Metro and the staff were very accommodating to our needs. A few sirens at night, as I understand typical of DC. The one comment I have negatively was the price. Quoted one price per night which said tax included and was competitive with the rest but on check out another $28+ per night was added to the room. Otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingtheworld67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful review! We hope to see you on your next visit to Washington D. C. and hopefully the weather won't be as hot the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed here in June 2010 for five days. We arrived in the middle of a heat wave so the outdoor pool was a great asset. The hotel is located a short distance from the a Metro station. The Metro is very easy to use, with colour codes for easy use, wide platforms and helpful staff. The room we were allocated was like a small apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool. The only down side was the unusual opening hours of the bistro/bar, but there is a lovely coffee shop around the corner and an Irish Bar close by.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you for your very kind review. We truely are centrally located for most visitors to the Washington D.C. area. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on future visits to the area.

Brandi Barbee-Bailey
One Washington Circle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stay was wonderful. Staff was fantastic. Room was spacious and very clean. Fantastic location. Just couldn't have asked for a better place to spend time with family. Every person on staff, from front desk to cleaning staff to the lifegaurd at the pool were so friendly and profesional.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay at One Washington Circle Hotel. We appreciate that there are many hotels in the Washington D. C. area and are pleased that you chose ours. We hope to see you on your next visit.

Brandi Barbee-Bailey
One Washington Circle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed here for one night with my new freshman who is starting at George Washington University in August. Our room was enormous, with a full bathroom and a half bathroom, large king size bed and room, dining area, living area with office desk and internet hookup, large kitchen with everything you could need in it. The balcony is a real plus, even though the weather was hot and humid. Yes it's was a little noisy with the sirens, but I expect a lot of noise when staying in the center of a city. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were awful, too full and high. I did mention this to management. Before you get into bed check out if there are other pillows in the closets! There's a 711 just across the circle and it's so easy to get anywhere from this hotel. Didn't use the fitness center, pool or restaurant, but they all looked okay. With parking and AARP discount rate, the room was $188 (but then the tax is added on top) and I think that's a great price for a hotel in that area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at One Washington Circle Hotel. Due to our proxmity to GWU we have developed long standing relationships with many of the parents of students attending the University. We hope to see you and your family on many more visits to Washington D.C. and don't forget to book early for parents weekend!

Brandi Barbee-Bailey
One Washington Circle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

One Washington Circle Hotel was incredibly inexpensive and provided an excellent downtown location. The room service was superb and the rooms were huge and convenient. In sum, it is perfect for families and those who wish to stay long term.

The hotel location is prime. It is one block from George Washington University and the Foggy Bottom GWU Metro station. A few more blocks south is the Lincoln Memorial. A few blocks down Pennsylvania Ave is the White House. The circle park/rotunda is surrounded by restaurants and shops if you ever need food or water. Though the park itself is full of sleepy vagrants, they don't bother you.

The service was friendly and simple. The valet parking was speedy and our car was well taken care of. Housekeeping was immaculate and our last night of stay we were given chocolates! The rooms themselves are enormous: A long hallway to the bedroom/studio, a full kitchen with full-sized fridge, microwave, oven, stove and utensils. Even though our room was by the elevator, we had little noise at night. Hecklers who complain about traffic noise must have mouse ears because we heard no noise at night and little during rush hour mornings.

The hotel is NOT for the spoiled and those who seek luxury. Furniture, carpeting and doors are a little outdated (EXCEPT for the big flat screen TV!). The bathroom was a little cramped and the closet a little tight. Living here was like staying overnight at a good friend's clean apartment. But, for the price of the hotel compared to large chain-operated ones, this one tops them in value. You get a kitchen, safe, huge TV and fast internet access; what more can I ask for? If you like being a nitpicky brat, go spend your well-earned money elsewhere that's far overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solidworking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful response to your stay at One Washington Circle Hotel. Your comments regarding the noise delighted me. You are exactly right, there is a very high end hotel chain next door to us and you would pay triple our rates and get the exact same noise. We do recommend our light sleepers request a higher floor but we find that most folks are just not as bothered by the traffic as they thought they would be. We hope to see you on your next visit.

Brandi Barbee-Bailey
One Washington Circle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
488 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The hotel is only barely accessible, with steps up to reception (you have to wait for someone to help you use the added elevator as there is no ramp.) The rooms are spacious, including a kitchen and big closet. The bath is tiny and hard for two people to enter at the same time. The bed is adequate but the pillows and bedding are about the worst I've encountered in some time. There is no way to watch TV in bed, as the TV faces the desk, not the bed!
But the worst is that you will not get any sleep between the constant sirens to the nearby hospital and the honking horns at the traffic circle right below your window.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay at One Washington Circle Hotel. We truely value you comments regarding the challenges you had in regards to our accessable accommodations and will use them when planning our capital renovations in that type of room. Again thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property.

Brandi Barbee-Bailey
One Washington Circle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,797 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Property: One Washington Circle Hotel
Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing