We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service on a hectic weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service on a hectic weekend!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here with our daughter, who is interested in attending GWU. We got there Saturday afternoon 7/19. The scene was pretty hectic, as not all the rooms were ready as people were checking in. I know that can happen sometimes, and the staff worked hard to try to keep people happy while they waited. They even brought out champagne.

The young lady at the front desk (I'm sorry I can't remember her name) was particularly helpful in trying to get us into a room. Even though she was unable to immediately get us a room, she did a great job, patiently and professionally dealing with the guests (some of whom were much more rude to her than she deserved!) We got into our room after about 30 minutes.

The room - a queen suite - was perfect. Plenty big enough and with a separate kitchen it gave us all the space we needed. Yes, it's near GW Med Center and there are sirens but if you walk around sightseeing the way most people do in DC, you should be tires enough that it doesn't matter :)

We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Barry P,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your experiences with us! While it's not ideal nor our norm, we do run into times where rooms aren't ready on time and greatly appreciated your understanding and patience! That all being said, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and your room so much!
We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
Christine and the One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    649
    163
    38
    38
See reviews for
634
333
119
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We visited DC recently for a week and stayed at One Washington Circle with two elementary aged kids.
- Room was spacious and the kitchenette was nice to have.
- Staff was extremely courteous, friendly, and professional.
- The hotel was fairly quiet at night. There were occasional sirens but we did not end up needing earplugs and slept well.
- Pool was great for the kids to unwind a bit and have some fun after long days of sightseeing.
- Location was perfect. It was close to the metro, buses, and we could walk to the White House. Plenty of restaurants nearby for families.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear K A L,
it was such a pleasure to host you and your children as you visited DC! We're glad you were able to enjoy our hotel as well as all the sites you saw!
We hope to welcome you and your family back next year!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at One Washington Circle. We have stayed there before. This stay occurred on our Sabbath when we needed the bellboys to unlock our door. The bellboys and front desk staff were very courteous and attentive about helping us with this and we felt overall that they just could not do enough for us. The suite was clean and comfortable. The locations is excellent an near the Metro. We will stay there in the future and we will recommend this hotel to our friends. There are many nice attributes of this hotel but first and foremost is the outstanding performance of the staff. Thank you for making our stay so warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GKap4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear GKap4th,
We were thrilled to host you as you celebrated the Sabbath and got to spend some time with your family! Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel didn't get as high a rating on some reviews as I think it deserves. For a quick business trip into DC, I chose this location as part of a flight deal.

Having stayed in other DC hotels, I had an idea of what I should get for the price, and what I should expect from the location.

Location -- fantastic. A couple of blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop -- and across the street from GW Hospital. It's located about halfway on K street from the White House to the east, and Georgetown to the west. If you like to walk, a very convenient location.

When I checked in -- and it was very early, before noon, my room was ready. The front end staff was excellent and friendly. There were actually two rooms available, but the staff directed me to the choicer of the two.

My room was ENORMOUS. Having spent the past months traveling to Europe and New York City, this was a supreme pleasure. King sized bed, full kitchen, separate bath, balcony. And absolutely soundproof. Well done.

I didn't stay long, so I couldn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but my brief experience was excellent. If you are a business traveler in need of a quick, tidy, and oversized room, this is a perfect spot.,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rml01752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear rml01752,
Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We're so glad to hear how much you got to enjoy the hotel's location, room size, restaurant and team despite your short stay with us!
It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back to DC very soon!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Have stayed at some fine hotels with attentive staff who are well trained and clearly monitored constantly to provide customer service commensurate with room cost. Sometimes it feels like they are doing it in order to keep their jobs. For some reason, the outstanding service delivered by the staff here feels really genuine, not forced by management. One gentleman in particular (Emmanuel?) exemplified this attitude. This is clearly not a stuffy, venerable, expensive hotel. It just delivers a quality experience in a great central location with comfortable accommodations and amazing staff. I was surprised there were no ice machines on the floors, but within five minutes a staff member arrived with a huge bucket of ice that lasted our whole 3-day stay in the large refrigerator. Room service was quick and delicious. Obviously, the nondescript building was formerly apartments, and sure the carpets could use come updating, and the bathrooms are a little small, but this hotel delivers a quality product for much less money than most of the fancier "name" properties in the area. It appears there is a real commitment on the part of ownership to make the hotel a place where customers will make return visits. And by the way, I am a light sleeper and the nightly sirens did not wake me up once.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlessUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear BlessUSA,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a wonderful review! It was a true pleasure to read and see our team (especially Emmanual) recognized by you!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

My first impression was that the hotel staff were afraid of my dog (70 lb boxer mix). We got into our room and it was extremely hot, maintenance staff had to replace the unit. Opened the refrigerator door and found food leftover from the last person. Patio furniture was completely black and dirty, had to clean them off before we could sit down, shower head was broken, toilets hard to flush (had to hold the handle down until it flushed), and lastly we didn't take treats because the website said they give you a welcome bag with treats and poop bags but when I went to the front desk to ask about it, they tried to give me huge trash bags!!! Apparently no doggy welcome bags available. Don't stay here if you are a light sleeper because the hospital is right across the street, also people stand outside and scream in the middle of the night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Shauna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Shauna R,
I'm so sorry to hear that your expectations were not met---we have followed up on the feedback you provided to insure we are providing the expereince both our guests and our furry friends expect when staying at our hotel.
I hope the next time you are in DC you will give us another chance to provide you with the stay we strive to provide to all of our guests!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Honestly the most comfortable bed, pillows and linens that you could ever hope for! The hotel staff is super friendly, the restaurant food is awesome, and the pool was an added bonus for my son. Great location, convenient to so many attractions! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cupcakesmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Hurricane74,
We're so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! And it's so wonderful to hear you enjoyed our brand new mattresses and linens! We're very proud of them and it's always so great to hear a guest truly enjoyed them as well! And we're so happy that your son got to enjoy our pool!
We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,685 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,486 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
385 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
537 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Property: One Washington Circle Hotel
Address: 1 Washington Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing