We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
Ranked #30 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Location A+, walking distance to Metro, and Georgetown. We actually didn't even
use the Metro for two days since we could "walk" to the White House and beyond
to the Mall!!! We had a suite with kitchen and Trader Joe's and Whole Foods just
down the street! Staff was so friendly and courteous...restaurant bar and food excellent.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens very clean and crisp. House-
keeping was A+. The suite was roomy with a nice balcony. Swimming pool was
available but we didn't use it...too busy! Very, very nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite w/kitchen. Corner with balcony, 8-9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CitySlickers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear CitySlickers2014,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting DC! It's wonderful to hear about our guests experiences and their "tips" to our Trip Advisor community! Thank you for taking the time to share!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

We arrived to such a warm welcome. The front reception staff are a real asset to this organisation. All of the ones that we dealt with came across as genuinely interested in assisting us with any of our questions.
Unfortunately our room was 'no longer available' when we arrived, but they upgraded us to another room. The downside to this 'upgrade' was that there was now only 1 bed for the 4 of us to share - the kids ended up sleeping on the sofa.

The main positives we found at this hotel were the friendliness/helpfulness of staff, the location (next to George Washington University and 15 minute walk to the White House, and it one of the stops on the 'hop-on hop-off bus). Also, there is a Traders Joe nearby for groceries as well as Thai, Indian and Burger restaurants within a few minutes walk.

The downside was the noise (constant sirens as it is across the road from a hospital) and the fact that the pool area was closed for the week whilst it was 33 degrees celcius each day. I would also not recommend the restaurant/bar. Very expensive and unsatisfactory service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyDude72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear familydude72,
We're so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us while visiting DC with your family! However, we apologize that your room type was not available and you were unable to be as comfortable as you'd like! In regards to our pool, it did not open until Memorial Day as per our contract with our pool company---however, as it was unseasonably warm we can certainly understand wanting to use it and we will ensure that we monitor this next year at the same time!
We hope to welcome you and your family back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I am surprised by how many people rated this hotel so highly. I thought the pictures from the website made this hotel look pretty posh. But it's not, the decor is dated and the carpet worn and not very clean. There were even loose tiles in the shower. The shape of the room was odd and made me think this used to be housing for the university. We had a nice balcony but there was no furniture on it so we really didn't use it. And its really noisy, I live in a smallish town but only a few blocks from a fire station so I thought the ambulance noise wouldn't bother me too much. I was wrong. We were on the 9th floor and the sirens went off all day and night. The first night we were there was during Rolling Thunder and between the Harleys and the sirens I was thinking we wouldn't even make it the week. Fortunately things did settle down, but the sirens were a big deal for us.

The staff was always very friendly and helpful, they even let us borrow an umbrella one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1_curly_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear 1_curly_girl,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us. We're sorry that it was not quite the stay you were expecting; while we cannot control outside city noises, we can work hard to ensure our rooms are up to standard. Our Director of Engineering has been made aware of the bathroom tiles and we are constantly working to continue to upkeep and upgrade our hotel. We hope the next time your travels bring you to DC, you will give us another opportunity to provide the experience we strive to provide for our guests.
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is convenient to almost everything D.C. has to offer. It's very comfortable. And, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The food is fantastic. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the room service menu is somewhat limited with options and timing. I plan on staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shasta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Shasta S,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed our hotel and our wonderful team! We have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage Department to ensure our room service menu's are up to our guests expectations in offerings.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in October 2013, and found it very good indeed--helpful friendly staff, big room, and superb location. The price was OK, but DC prices can vary substantially from week to week.

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear RJB1961,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us in October! We're so glad you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

- Everything is right there, from the Metro to dining/nightlife to shopping at Trader Joe's and Whole Foods (very handy when you have a suite with a kitchen, which we did).

- Convenient for walking to the White House and Mall, if that's your thing.

- Housekeeping was amazing; we never saw them, yet our suite and the common areas were spotless 24/7.

- The real rock stars were at the front desk - they were totally accommodating, knowledgeable, and just plain nice. Special props to Lauren. Thanks for everything!

- GREAT bang for the buck.

- Bedding, towels, balcony, pool, bar - all outstanding.

- Immaculately clean and super comfortable, but due for a cosmetic update. It's got the Y2K look nailed.

- Conclusion: We visit DC regularly, and this is the hotel we've been looking for. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a walk-out balcony. It's a great value! Be aware that there's a hospita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdarnbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear jdarnbro,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we LOVE to hear that we're the hotel you've been looking for! Thank you for recognizing our wonderful housekeeping team and our wonderful front desk team and Lauren. We know that without our team we could not be successful so it's great to hear that you also recognized that!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you're in DC with business at GW, American or G'town. This hotel is a smart choice as a comfortable and logistically functional base of operations, especially for an extended stay. The staff was completely customer service oriented. My daughter and I were completely satisfied with this hotel. I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fishfanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear fishfanz,
We're so glad to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us while in DC! We certainly hope that despite being here for business, that you both were able to enjoy our wonderful city as well!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 142 in Washington DC
1,768 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,542 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#31 of 142 in Washington DC
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
519 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
2,188 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $96 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing