We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent service and a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We arrived to such a warm welcome. The front reception staff are a real asset to this organisation. All of the ones that we dealt with came across as genuinely interested in assisting us with any of our questions.
Unfortunately our room was 'no longer available' when we arrived, but they upgraded us to another room. The downside to this 'upgrade' was that there was now only 1 bed for the 4 of us to share - the kids ended up sleeping on the sofa.

The main positives we found at this hotel were the friendliness/helpfulness of staff, the location (next to George Washington University and 15 minute walk to the White House, and it one of the stops on the 'hop-on hop-off bus). Also, there is a Traders Joe nearby for groceries as well as Thai, Indian and Burger restaurants within a few minutes walk.

The downside was the noise (constant sirens as it is across the road from a hospital) and the fact that the pool area was closed for the week whilst it was 33 degrees celcius each day. I would also not recommend the restaurant/bar. Very expensive and unsatisfactory service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyDude72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear familydude72,
We're so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us while visiting DC with your family! However, we apologize that your room type was not available and you were unable to be as comfortable as you'd like! In regards to our pool, it did not open until Memorial Day as per our contract with our pool company---however, as it was unseasonably warm we can certainly understand wanting to use it and we will ensure that we monitor this next year at the same time!
We hope to welcome you and your family back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    624
    152
    37
    37
See reviews for
597
313
114
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I am surprised by how many people rated this hotel so highly. I thought the pictures from the website made this hotel look pretty posh. But it's not, the decor is dated and the carpet worn and not very clean. There were even loose tiles in the shower. The shape of the room was odd and made me think this used to be housing for the university. We had a nice balcony but there was no furniture on it so we really didn't use it. And its really noisy, I live in a smallish town but only a few blocks from a fire station so I thought the ambulance noise wouldn't bother me too much. I was wrong. We were on the 9th floor and the sirens went off all day and night. The first night we were there was during Rolling Thunder and between the Harleys and the sirens I was thinking we wouldn't even make it the week. Fortunately things did settle down, but the sirens were a big deal for us.

The staff was always very friendly and helpful, they even let us borrow an umbrella one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_curly_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear 1_curly_girl,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us. We're sorry that it was not quite the stay you were expecting; while we cannot control outside city noises, we can work hard to ensure our rooms are up to standard. Our Director of Engineering has been made aware of the bathroom tiles and we are constantly working to continue to upkeep and upgrade our hotel. We hope the next time your travels bring you to DC, you will give us another opportunity to provide the experience we strive to provide for our guests.
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is convenient to almost everything D.C. has to offer. It's very comfortable. And, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The food is fantastic. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the room service menu is somewhat limited with options and timing. I plan on staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shasta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Shasta S,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed our hotel and our wonderful team! We have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage Department to ensure our room service menu's are up to our guests expectations in offerings.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in October 2013, and found it very good indeed--helpful friendly staff, big room, and superb location. The price was OK, but DC prices can vary substantially from week to week.

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear RJB1961,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us in October! We're so glad you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

- Everything is right there, from the Metro to dining/nightlife to shopping at Trader Joe's and Whole Foods (very handy when you have a suite with a kitchen, which we did).

- Convenient for walking to the White House and Mall, if that's your thing.

- Housekeeping was amazing; we never saw them, yet our suite and the common areas were spotless 24/7.

- The real rock stars were at the front desk - they were totally accommodating, knowledgeable, and just plain nice. Special props to Lauren. Thanks for everything!

- GREAT bang for the buck.

- Bedding, towels, balcony, pool, bar - all outstanding.

- Immaculately clean and super comfortable, but due for a cosmetic update. It's got the Y2K look nailed.

- Conclusion: We visit DC regularly, and this is the hotel we've been looking for. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a walk-out balcony. It's a great value! Be aware that there's a hospita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdarnbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear jdarnbro,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we LOVE to hear that we're the hotel you've been looking for! Thank you for recognizing our wonderful housekeeping team and our wonderful front desk team and Lauren. We know that without our team we could not be successful so it's great to hear that you also recognized that!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you're in DC with business at GW, American or G'town. This hotel is a smart choice as a comfortable and logistically functional base of operations, especially for an extended stay. The staff was completely customer service oriented. My daughter and I were completely satisfied with this hotel. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishfanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear fishfanz,
We're so glad to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us while in DC! We certainly hope that despite being here for business, that you both were able to enjoy our wonderful city as well!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Brought my wife and child on this trip and we really liked the area. Great location walked to Georgetown and had a blast. Hotel was nice the room we were seemed to be an old apartment renovated into a hotel. Very nice! Great bang for your buck here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear adam h,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us! We're so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us! You're right, the hotel is a converted apartment which is why our room sizes are above average and why most of our rooms have full kitchens in the them!
we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#13 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#36 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Property: One Washington Circle Hotel
Address: 1 Washington Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing