We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
Ranked #30 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

It is my 4th time here and after trying other hotels like Capital Hilton and the River Inn, I liked here even more. The convenience of location (next to Georgetown), studio type rooms, cleanliness, everything makes me feel like at home. But this time, I have realized that the mattresses, blankets got old and the pillows should be changed. I hope the hotel management is aware that you can not use these types of things forever, they get old and as I come to this hotel frequently on my business trips, it would be great to have them changed. Another point is in the rooms that are located in the edge, there is no wireless coverage, if you need an internet, go for the rooms in the middle around the elevator. Last but not least, it is very close to 'Wholefoods', CVS and Walgreens. And I love the hotel staff here, they are very welcoming and positive!!Will definitely come back again and again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozlemitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Ozlimetu,
We're so glad to hear that you've continuously chosen to stay with us over the past few years! Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay as well! The wireless connection is certainly an area of improvement that we are working to find out the best solution for, in the meantime, we apologize that it hasn't been as reliable as it should.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,
The One Washington Circle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here in early Aug. 2013, but my review didn't post until now. Don't know why.

This is the MOST family-friendly hotel I've ever stayed in. I emailed them a few days before our arrival and let them know our trip was a birthday present for my young daughter. Upon arrival, there was a BAG of toys, treats and some desserts in our room, with a Happy Birthday note for my kid.

Throughout our stay, the staff (front desk, valet, manager, even the lifeguard at the pool) were exceptionally helpful and friendly. When I told friend about our time at One Washington Circle, they all promised to book it next time in DC.

Get the Big Bus Tours pass. It's worth it. But as far as hospitality goes, this hotel is BEYOND expectation for the price you're paying. Sangria, punch, cucumber water and snacks await you when you return tired from the museums. The rooms were meticulously clean. The friendliness of the staff was superlative. I will only stay here on future trips to DC.

Can't say enough awesome things about this hotel. Great in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Tracy B,
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review! It was such a pleasure to be apart of your daughter's birthday memories and our team greatly enjoyed seeing what a wonderful time she was having! Thank you for not only posting this great review but for sharing your experiences with your friends!
We certainly hope to welcome all of you back very soon!
Best wishes,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The rooms here are really spacious and private (we did not hear any noise from outside or other people in the rooms next to us). We were in a couple different rooms and both layouts were good. One had a bathroom where the shower and toilet were in one small room and the sink was right outside with a large closet. This was on the 2nd floor (the only reason we asked to be moved was because the dumpsters were right below us and we like to sit outside on the balcony at night). The other layout on the 8th floor was really nice in that it was a long room so the bathroom and huge walk-in-closet were as soon as you walked in. Then there was a kitchen with full refrigerator and then a room with 2 beds, desk, chair and ottoman. I really liked that the bathroom was really far away from the sleeping area so you didn't wake the other people in the room by taking a shower in the morning. At first I wasn't sure I liked the location but after my vacation I couldn't really think of another location I would rather be in. A few more restaurants would be nice in the area but we walked to a wonderful restaurant on Pennsylvania Ave for brunch one day (Founding Fathers) and a Brueggers, and Bread and Chocolate were right around the corner for breakfast as well (and a really great coffee chop next to Brueggers). I wouldn't recommend eating breakfast at the restaurant at the hotel. The metro was right there as was a Whole Foods and Trader Joes. We walked to Dupont Circle and The While House and even walked back to the hotel from Georgetown one night.

The only complaints I have about the room is that the shower pressure on the 8th floor was pretty bad and there are no chairs on the balcony. One of the reasons I booked this room is because it had a balcony. We had to take the chair and ottoman outside every night to sit. Also, the biggest complaint was that the curtains did not close so every morning I was up very early due to the sun. I must have been facing East. But minor complaints for a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the 8th floor was nicer than the one on the 2nd floor as far as better view from the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a-consumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear A-Consumer,
Thank you for your very informative and wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We're very glad that you were able to enjoy our room layouts and great location and it seems you were very busy during your visit to DC!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful tips on some of the great restaurants that surround us.
We certainly understand your comment regarding increased seating on our balcony and it is something we are diligently working to provide!
We hope that the next time your travels bring you to DC you will stay with us again!
Best wishes,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We loved it here, the staff was so helpful and attentive. The rooms are very spacious, updated decor, The balcony is awesome! Beautiful views.The whole place is beautiful.
We were treated fantastic by everyone, Andrew, Elliot and Gillian were so wonderful, we were upgraded to an incredible suite, at no extra cost, and looked out over the city, and Washington Circle Park. I will and already have, recommended this hotel to anyone coming to DC. Close to everything. I can't say a thing that wasn't great about it here. Thanks so much for making our first trip to DC fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LInda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Linda U,
Wow! What a fantastic and heartfelt review! Thank you so much for your kind words, as a management team, hearing that members of our team provided you with such a memorable experience is fantastic.
We're all so glad you enjoyed your first visit to DC and our hotel!
We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best wishes,
The One Washington Circle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was expecting a slightly worn hotel based on the rating (3 stars, not 4) and a friend's report. But my family and I had an excellent experience and can't complain about anything. The location -- on Washington Circle, near GWU and Dupont Circle -- was perfect for us. I knew to ask for a room slightly off the circle and got one. The fact that there was a large tree outside the balcony (no furniture on the balcony, which was too bad) made it even better. Room 219 and probably 319 and 419, too, was large, with a full kitchen. The staff was friendly. Complimentary water bottles each day in the room and pitchers of ice water (with cucumbers, strawberries, and lemons-limes) in the lobby were nice touches. The outdoor pool (closed after Labor Day) is small, but large-pillow chairs and tables with umbrellas create a pleasant place to sit or do work. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on New Hampshire Avenue and worked out really well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacoastslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Seacoastsip,
Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and our wonderfully spacious rooms! You are right, getting a room that doesn't face the circle can help cut down on some street noise!
We certainly hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Reading the reviews about grotty stained carpet I was worried. This hotel is so much more than its carpet! The staff are amazing, warm and friendly we felt welcomed. The location with a Trader Joes 2 streets away and metro 5 min stroll was the best we could have chosen. The foyer has 4 jugs of flavoured water all day plus apples to take away. The rooms are HUGE and there is fridge and microwave, coffee maker and sofa and table. There is a guest laundry that costs $4 for a wash and dry. We cannot fault this hotel considering the price we paid ( under $200 per night ) don't be put off by the carpet comments yeh maybe it's time for them to be replaced but it didn't bother us at all. Also if you are a foodie and going to make the trek to Bens chili bowl it's a beautiful and historic walk up New Hampshire ave and no one should come to Washington and miss Bens!!!!

Room Tip: Washington is the city of sirens just get used to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chilifan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Chilifanm,
We're so glad that you gave our hotel a chance and even happier to hear that you truly loved your experience! Thank you for sharing your stay and 'insider' tips with us and with other Trip Advisor readers!
We certainly hope to welcome you back to One Washington Circle Hotel on your next visit to DC!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here for a week in August with my family. We like suites hotels because the kids can stay in one room and the adults in another. We wanted to be in the city, not in a suburb of DC and selected this based on price and walking distance to the Metro. The location was great - two blocks to the Foggy Bottom stop and near a handful of restaurants and a Whole Foods grocery. The area isn't as popular as adjacent Dupont Circle (which is within walking distance). The hotel appears to be a 1970's apartment building, converted into a hotel. Space was great (large living room + desk area, small full kitchen, moderate sized bedroom), but all of the finishes were pretty tired. The lobby was pretty sleek and had been updated recently. Service was excellent. We were placed on the first floor, and despite its challenges (loud trash pickup in the a.m. and smelly balcony), the location worked out pretty well for this family (walk to pool, no elevator). The swimming pool (outdoor, unheated) was a good way to end the day, but it was downright chilly, even for kids. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (pricey). Parking was about $20 per day, which seemed to be the going rate for the city. At the end of the day, the price, space, and the location drove us to this place.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Greg O,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us at One Washington Circle Hotel. We're so glad to hear that, for the most part, you really enjoyed your experience with us. You are right, our hotel is a converted apartment building which is why we have the luxury of such spacious rooms. In the coming months we are eagerly anticipating renovations to our hotels rooms and public areas and certainly hope that on your next stay you and your family can enjoy some of our upgrades (as well as a higher floor!).
We hope to see you again very soon,
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,785 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,561 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
543 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
2,216 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $93 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing