We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
Ranked #29 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Central”
Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Pretty darned convenient to everything without the huge pricetag. Although little things added up: rollaway cot, parking (only good until noon, I think) etc. Yes the lobby is striking but the decor doesn"t carry over to the rooms. There is a kitchenette but I could have used less space there and more in the bathroom which was miniscule (even the walk through closet was larger than the bathroom) . Looked like some of the rooms had balcony furniture, ours did not. Mattress was misery: too soft & when my husband moved, the whole mattress moved. Pillows: bricks. That said, for the price I could see staying here again--but they need to spend some time sprucing (and what is it with the falling apart bricks out front?)

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BookishAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    641
    157
    38
    37
See reviews for
616
326
118
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel is minutes away from Foggy Bottom Metro and total time to Federal Triangle or Smithsonian stop for sight seeing for us was never more than 20 minutes door to door. The rooms are spacious and the full kitchen (full size fridge, four burner stove and oven, micro wave etc) was great. We grabbed some things at Trader Joe's and WholeFoods. The coffee beans and grinder were a nice touch. There was a balcony but no furniture out yet.
The room was clean and the staff friendly.
The only down side was the siren noise from the ambulance entrance to GW Hospital and a nearby police station. We were on the 8th floor and fronted the hospital, I think the back rooms would be better. We also couldn't get good WIFI so if that is important to you check on it.

Room Tip: Upper floor in the back away from the GW Hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our experience at the One Washington Square hotel (April 9 & 10, 2012) was consistent with the reviews that were posted before we made our decision. The staff was especially friendly and helpful, and great with our 3-year-old. The room/suite was fine, although some aspects of the hotel were a little "tired". The kitchen was old, the carpets are old, the beds were not entirely comfortable, but all in all we enjoyed ourselves. Having a Trader Joe's two blocks away was a saving grace. We prepared our breakfasts and one dinner in our room, and it was fine. At first the gas stove wouldn't turn on and the fridge door handle broke off, but they sent a friendly engineer right away to fix it. If anything, the "tired" condition of this hotel might save you a little money on ratings, but the more important aspects of a hotel stay are quite reliable here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This Hotel is just fabulous! It is convenient to everything and the rooms are spotless and so nice. I never heard any noise from othe guests, so I'm not sure what some of your reviewers are talking about. I have been to this hotel 6 times in the last 6 months and I have never been disturbed by anyone dring the night. They better never stay at a Marriott since those walls are tissue paper. You must eat at the Circle Bistro Restaurant during your stay. The food is delicious as is the presentation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen042884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello Kathleen042884,

We are always excited to hear that our frequent and loyal guests continue to be wowed by our hotel and appreciate the feedback very much.

As I am sure you are aware, travel sites like tripadvisor.com allow for great communication to other potential guests regarding our hotel. Certainly, it is rewarding to read positive reviews on these site; the benefits is two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Staff was helpful and friendly when we were sent here after our original hotel was overbooked. Good location in Foggy Bottom near GWU and IMF, with Metro access. I agree with the comment that the interior walls are on the thin side as we had a young family next to us. One important note for light sleepers: while exterior walls were heavier and noise from the outside was not too bad, this hotel is just across Washington Circle from GW Hospital's Emergency room entrance, and we did periodically hear sirens. Beds were just OK, and the carpets need replacing, or we would have given an additional star. Lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YankeeTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello YankeeTraveller08 ,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor night's sleep you experienced during your most recent stay at One Washington Circle Hotel.

I want to take the opportunity to let you know, as well as other future guests, about our plans for future upgrades to the property. We are currently in a design phase to enhance our hotel. Within the scope of this project is new bedding and some furniture improvements.

I am hopeful you will give us another try as the property will only get better over the course of the coming months. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location and has a certain charm but needs an update and you can hear everything in the room next door. It was especially bad since we had a group of kids partying till 3:30 in the morning. A complaint to the front desk fell on deaf ears! I would not stay here again much better choices in the same area.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello Michael C,

Thank you for taking the time to post out a review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconvenience that was caused during your stay. I have addressed your concerns with my front office staff.

This is not the service standard I want you to leave our establishment remembering. In the future we will put forth the greatest effort to ensure you and future guests experience at One Washington Circle Hotel is an enjoyable one.

Our plans for upgrading the property will be new bedding and some furniture improvements.
I am hopeful you will give us another try as the property will only get better over the course of the coming months. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights over Spring Break with our teenage son. Main concern is how thin the room Walls are... Heard most of went on in adjacent rooms , every night, meaning a bad nights sleep and extremely inappropriate if you have children with you. You can hear every word. Bathroom is the smallest I've ever seen, it's difficult to turn around in it, and there is no storage area at all, apart from the floor. The bath was not cleaned for the duration of our stay. The pool was not in operation during our stay, but we had hoped to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine... Unfortunately the area was not cleaned and a duck had made the pool home.
Overall the hotel is tired, a little grubby, and very very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbobOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Hello JohnbobOregon,


The fact that you were looking forward to your stay with us and we were not able to meet your expectations is a major disappointment to me and my team. Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor night's sleep you experienced during your most recent stay at One Washington Circle Hotel. I regret the inconvenience and frustration you stated about the bathroom and pool area, I assure you that your experience is not the standard to which we aspire, this is not the impression we want our guests to leave with.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back and personally ensure that you have a great night's sleep without any noise disruption.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,587 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,450 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
492 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
1,161 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Property: One Washington Circle Hotel
Address: 1 Washington Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing